We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay, nothing special.”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed here for a wedding for two nights. The room we stayed in (#230) was adequate but I expected more for the price ($195 per nt. includ. tax). The lock to the front door was damaged and hard to lock. It looked like it had been kicked in previously. The shower water pressure was a joke. The king bed was too firm and my wife and I both woke up with sore backs.

Warning, stay way from the gazebo. It smelled really bad from all the Peligans bird [--].

The only positive was the great view.

Would we stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cshueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,904 - 1,910 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2008

We--my wife, daughter, and I--stayed here on Labor Day weekend, my wife having rejected the room at the Ocean Breeze Inn where we'd reserved a room (she said it had to be the worst, mustiest room in the place, next to a lap length indoor swimming pool). So we paid over $200 (with tax) for a room with two (surprisingly small) queen beds and an ocean view across the pool. It was large, it was clean, it was utterly bland, though you couldn't say it was quiet with all the seagull noise throughout the night (even with the sliding patio door closed). There were an enormous number of pelicans in residence when we stayed, which I thought was the one distinctive feature of the place. It made me think that the site ought to be a state park instead of a motel!

One thing to know is that there is absolutely nothing off-site that you can walk to from this location--the motel is isolated along a sidewalk-free freeway frontage road. My wife really loves Pismo but to me it was a town that provided better for getting pierced than getting coffee. The hotel couldn't bother even to put out any fresh milk with its morning coffee, just awful prepackaged half and half.There is a big beach in Pismo.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Run down, less than average and with look we only spent one night.

As a stop over hotel it just about scrapes over the line, only its very, very tired and in desperate need of renovation..

Try and stay on the 2nd floor, as a sidewalk is within touching distance of your french doors if you are staying on the first floor.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mailman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2008

we stayed here for one night as part of our journey south of our California holiday, it's unmissable from the Pacific coast highway and at first it was just a stop off point between San Francisco and Santa Barbara but from the moment we arrived we wished it had been longer!!

The views from the hotel grounds were amazing and even the fishy/bird smell wasn't enough to put us off. The room was a good size with a large double bed, large bathroom and seperate kitchen area. The pool area was clean and well maintained.

We had lunch in the Pelican point rstaurant where we were served a gorgeous meal and were waited on by the very, very friendly waitress Samantha.

All the staff were extremely helpful and all in all the only fault I could find with the hotel was the Californian unpredictable weather... it was really foggy from when we arrivd till when we left.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bono1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

The views from our balcony were outstanding. The crashing surf on the rocks below provided an amazing soundtrack to the setting sun.

We had an upper level ocean view room and it was well worth the additional cost. We listened to the surf all night.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank NC-photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed at Pismo one night enroute to LA. We probably had one of the closest rooms to the cliff (right next to the pool) and we couldnt smell any odours. The pool was nice and warm but a wee bit breezy. The rooms are clean and tidy. We paid $110 for the night and thought this to be quite reasonable. We ate at the local restaurant which was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Mijasab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

We stayed here for 1 night on our way from San Francisco to LA and found it to be great!

The actual hotel is just off the main road (although we didn't hear any traffic at night in the room) so it's very accessible. It was very busy when we stayed as e did struggle to find a parking space but I think there had been a wedding on that day.

This is the sort of place you would stop at as a 1 night stop over and does have a motel feel about it, having said this; we found the rooms to be very clean and really big.

Ours overlooked the pool area and had a kitchenette including a fridge and sink in it as well as a large wardrobe and a very large bathroom. We asked for a king size bed when we checked in and the staff were very accommodating.

Te hotel is a shirt car journey from the centre of Pismo, which had a surfer feel about it. The town is quite small but we found an excellent Italian bistro called Two Blocks from the Ocean, which is on the main road into Pismo and was fab!! The staff were very accommodating and we had to wait at the bar to be seated for around 30 mins but the owner kept checking we were okay. This place had a very homely feel about it and wasn't mega expensive.

The other reviews I’ve read complain about the smell from the pelicans, but we didn't really notice anything.

We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening but we did eat breakfast, which was lovely, the staff were very attentive and it was good value for money.

I would recommend this to anyone travelling down/up the coast as it was good value for money, spacious and had comfy beds, and beautiful views.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brooksy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £106 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop cliffs above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, is a beautiful, newly renovated oceanfront hotel in the heart of Pismo Beach. Each guest room boats a private balcony or patio, offering sweeping views of the Central Coast landscape. During your stay, enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and free parking at our premier Pismo Beach location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing