We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Great BW Hotel!”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wow! Great BW Hotel!”
Reviewed 3 October 2008

We wanted a romantic getaway in SLO. The BW Shore Cliff was just stupendous. We would absolutely go back and stay again. The rooms were so-so but the location was amazing. Right on the cliffs with the ocean below.

To those that say the seagulls and pelicans bothered them, phooey. It was great to leave the sliding door open and listen to them. They put us to sleep. It was ambiance.

The pool was fun, the location was great, and the gazebo wonderful. We ate breakfast and nightcaps on our balcony overlooking the water.

If you stay here, request an ocean view room on the second floor. The best!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    600
    150
    61
    39
See reviews for
573
873
51
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

We went to book a room here as it was on my list from Tripadvisor.
First impressions were good we had a look around and it had ok rooms and a fitness room.
The hotel is on a cliff top with stunning views
The big down side were the birds. There were seagulls and pelicans all over the place - I like birds but the mess and the smell was unbearable. The pool was filled with droppings and so were all the external communal areas.
Maybe it was just the time we were there but we left immediately and were lucky enough to get into the Kon Tiki nearer to Pismo beachI.

  • Liked — Views, fitness facilities
  • Disliked — The birds smell and mess
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank LuLuCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex,england
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

This was our second stay at the Shore Cliff as part of a trip round southern California.We booked an ocean view room which was located at the end of the block on the second floor.The rooms are large and extremley clean (i am very fussy!).the bathroom was also very clean and well looked after with plenty of thick,fluffy towels.Yes you do get the whiff of pelican poop as mentioned on other reviews but it isn't enough to put you off the place.The only thing that slightly lets the place down is the swimming pool as its either got birds in it or their poop,i didn't once see anyone in the pool.Apart from that i would stay here again as the hotel is kept clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful.A truly lovely Best Western.

  • Liked — Location and clean rooms
  • Disliked — Pelican poop!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyamerica36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed here for a wedding for two nights. The room we stayed in (#230) was adequate but I expected more for the price ($195 per nt. includ. tax). The lock to the front door was damaged and hard to lock. It looked like it had been kicked in previously. The shower water pressure was a joke. The king bed was too firm and my wife and I both woke up with sore backs.

Warning, stay way from the gazebo. It smelled really bad from all the Peligans bird [--].

The only positive was the great view.

Would we stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cshueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We--my wife, daughter, and I--stayed here on Labor Day weekend, my wife having rejected the room at the Ocean Breeze Inn where we'd reserved a room (she said it had to be the worst, mustiest room in the place, next to a lap length indoor swimming pool). So we paid over $200 (with tax) for a room with two (surprisingly small) queen beds and an ocean view across the pool. It was large, it was clean, it was utterly bland, though you couldn't say it was quiet with all the seagull noise throughout the night (even with the sliding patio door closed). There were an enormous number of pelicans in residence when we stayed, which I thought was the one distinctive feature of the place. It made me think that the site ought to be a state park instead of a motel!

One thing to know is that there is absolutely nothing off-site that you can walk to from this location--the motel is isolated along a sidewalk-free freeway frontage road. My wife really loves Pismo but to me it was a town that provided better for getting pierced than getting coffee. The hotel couldn't bother even to put out any fresh milk with its morning coffee, just awful prepackaged half and half.There is a big beach in Pismo.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Run down, less than average and with look we only spent one night.

As a stop over hotel it just about scrapes over the line, only its very, very tired and in desperate need of renovation..

Try and stay on the 2nd floor, as a sidewalk is within touching distance of your french doors if you are staying on the first floor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mailman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

we stayed here for one night as part of our journey south of our California holiday, it's unmissable from the Pacific coast highway and at first it was just a stop off point between San Francisco and Santa Barbara but from the moment we arrived we wished it had been longer!!

The views from the hotel grounds were amazing and even the fishy/bird smell wasn't enough to put us off. The room was a good size with a large double bed, large bathroom and seperate kitchen area. The pool area was clean and well maintained.

We had lunch in the Pelican point rstaurant where we were served a gorgeous meal and were waited on by the very, very friendly waitress Samantha.

All the staff were extremely helpful and all in all the only fault I could find with the hotel was the Californian unpredictable weather... it was really foggy from when we arrivd till when we left.

  • Liked — amazing views
  • Disliked — californian fog
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bono1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing