We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value beach hotel”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arroyo Grande, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding value beach hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I loved this hotel! Most any room has an ocean view, there is a delicious breakfast included in the price, there are many wonderful restaurants nearby and you can't beat the value! There is a pelican point right along the ocean where you can view the birds up close and even see babies along the cliff front. And we saw whales breeching from the balcony of our room. Overall, it was an amazing place to stay and I hightly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Gail,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here. It sounds like you really got to see a lot of the natural wildlife that we get to enjoy on this beautiful coastline! Thank you very much for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,102
    629
    157
    69
    39
See reviews for
643
940
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Pismo Beach is a great place to visit! Hotel has great ocean views and other excellent amenities. Have stayed at this hotel four times in the last year and is absolutely excellent! Pismo Beach is a great place to visit! Hotel has great ocean views and other excellent amenities. Have stayed at this hotel four times in the last year and is absolutely excellent! Pismo Beach is a great place to visit! Hotel has great ocean views and other excellent amenities. Have stayed at this hotel four times in the last year and is absolutely excellent!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Damian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Damian,
Thank you for the great review of your stay with us. We appreciate your repeat business and hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon!
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Although the room was clean, the location was nice and the price was good, my stay was completely hampered by "night birds" that screamed all night in the trees that were just outside of our room. I would have said something to the manager, but they were nesting birds and I figured that there would be nothing that anyone could do—especially since the hotel was also full. I only got intermittent sleep for the 4 nights we stayed there. It was very disappointing. The staff needs to pay more attention to the cleanliness of the exterior staircases too. Smokers were leaving cigarette butts everyday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lorie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a restful stay with us due to the Night Herons nesting in the nearby trees. These birds do come back and nest here each year, usually they are here in the early spring through mid summer. We do appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo beach, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First two nights were extremely noisy. We couldn't sleep at all. First night in-room a/c unit made noise like a train is passing through a tunnel and second night the room was shaking badly due to some external device on the property. First morning we woke up with construction going on above our room with worst noise as if they were breaking the room. How can you relax in a place like Pismo with all that noise. Parking was hard to find, I had to park in front of a nearby restaurant. Staff members didn't do much to satisfy the customer who had two sleepless nights. I don't think we should have paid anything for 1st two days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Chander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Chandar,
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We do want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us and we are disappointed to hear when it is not so. I am sorry we have not been able to connect by phone as I have left a message for you. I would very much like to speak with you regarding your stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and I would like to see if I could help resolve this issue for you. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Athens front desk was very friendly and fast at check in. My room was on the third floor overlooking the pool and ocean. The view was beautiful. The beds was not as comfortable for my standards. The room as clean and had a lot of room. It included a fridge and microwave. The breakfast was the normal free hotel breakfast. Make your own pancakes, toast, fruit, cereal and pastries. If ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sossamanbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to check you in quickly and that they were friendly. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fabulous views and a balcony to boot but it is still an old motel by the sea... old fashioned bedding, poor quality amenities and a grisly "continental breakfast" in a dingy room. The cliff top view makes all the difference between a roadside best western and one with absolutely stunning view BUT you will get no improvement over the average best western.... with paper thin walls so sleep quality depends on those around you!

Room Tip: Upgrade to an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annee05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the stunning views that our property boasts. We have recently renovated our breakfast room and have added many healthy new breakfast items such as granola, greek yogurt, cottage cheese and more fresh fruit options to the already expansive list of breakfast items offered. We get our bakery items from a local bakery and we have pancakes daily! We do appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was skeptical as we arrived based on the outside appearance, but the minute we walked in the lobby and walked into our room, I was very pleased with what I saw - modern furnishings, super CLEAN, and a fabulous view. Our room over looked the gazebo/ocean and the view was amazing. We even saw dolphins from our balcony. The room had the very best in ammenities and was updated with modern decor and fixtures. The complimentary breakfast was very nice and in a nice, clean breakfast room with TVs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Pismo Beach area!

Room Tip: Request a second-level ocean view room looking out over the gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polymerchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for the five star review! We are so happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our newly renovated accommodations and breakfast room area have been a big hit with our guests. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,986 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,694 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing