We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Palmdale, United States
1 review
“Excellent Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The staff was friendly and the room was impeccable. Our stay was amazing. Would stay here again. Ocean front view room with private balcony on the 2nd floor was perfect for us. It was our 20th Anniversary and the staff even left us a card signed by all the employee's on duty that day. Our room was clean and ready by check in and we had an excellent view of the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Kevin,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary trip with us! Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your special occasion. We hope it was a memorable trip and that you will come back and visit with us again!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    588
    146
    61
    38
See reviews for
560
838
48
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mariposa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Shorecliff in Pismo Beach can not be beat It is the nicest place to stay. It is so relaxing and the grounds are beautiful. You wont find a better view of the ocean. All night you hear the ocean crashing against the rocks. The staff is #1. So kind and friendly. They really go out of there way to make your stay the very best. This place can not be beat for comfort, relaxation, beauty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Linda,
Thank you for the kind words you shared in your review! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that our staff really went out of their way to make your visit enjoyable! We do hope that you will have the opportunity to come back again!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely hotel! We were greated by friendly professional staff upon our arrival and were given a choice of rooms with the best view. The rooms a spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. The heated pool and jacuzzi are excellent and the beach is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Hello Sarah,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your Honeymoon. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our property and we hope to see you again soon.

Congratulations on your new marriage!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I drove from San Diego to San Francisco, and used Pismo Beach as our stop in between. Check-in was quick and the staff was very friendly. The views were absolutely stellar, and could be easily seen from the room balcony. Breakfast was standard continental. To get to the beach from the hotel, it is a little bit of a walk. You have to walk down the street to Pismo Lighthouse Suites and then take ~90 steps (steep) to get down to the beach. Once down the steps, the pier is about two miles away. This was a nice place, especially for a Best Western.

Room Tip: Do not get a room by the cliff~ they have awful smells of the seagulls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudOhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property! We are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful views we have from our grounds and that our check in staff was friendly and helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location of the hotel is just awesome and the views are breathtaking. We had a suite just above the cliffs with wonderful ocean feeling. The rooms are great and more or less clean (we had to wash the chairs on the balcony ourselves).
BUT you can't stand the smell of the birds for longer than 5 minutes before you start getting the feeling of throwing up, it's just too intense! And the birds poo is everywhere; on the balcony, on the pathway, you even have to watch your step in the pool area in order not to step into birds poo. The pool itself would be great and big, but it is dirty and there was a lot of bird feather in the pool and jacuzzi as well.
Would I come back again? No way, maybe with a gas mask?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micha-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that our great views impressed you. We appreciate your comments and are always looking for ways to improve our property. While our location offers amazing views, it also offers quite a bit of wildlife in terms of the birds nesting on the cliffs surrounding our property. It is our intent to provide the clean environment and accommodations our guest deserve. In order to do this we have brought in additional staff to clean our patios and pressure wash our sidewalks and pool area. The birds do come and go seasonally. We typically see them more in spring and summer months. We would love to have you come back in the future and stay with us (perhaps when the birds are headed south for the winter)!

Thank you again for the feedback,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Pleasant stop during drive along coast. Great views from balcony of room. Excellent spot to enjoy glass of wine and watch sunset. Good local dinning and doable walks/short drive to beach access locations from hotel. Excellent desk staff very committed to smooth check-in and information to enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our property. We are pleased to hear this was a convenient stopping point for you and that you got to enjoy the beautiful coastal sunset. Sounds like a perfect end to a day on the road! We hope that next time you are driving through you can stay with us again in the future!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a shame. The location is absolutely amazing. So is the view. Breakfast is your standard fare but not even close to the amount of seating for the amount of people staying at this establishment. The rooms are clean and basic, but only one laundry machine and dryer for the entire hotel! Some rooms are booked with large groups of loud, noisy families, clearly over the limit of patrons per room. Though some requests are able to be carried out by the staff, some are either over-worked or just don't seem to care. My eighteen year old son was ignored for ten minutes by the woman at the front desk while she finished typing emails before she acknowledged his presence. Service to our non-working air-conditioner took so long that we needed to put our other son to bed and went without air-conditioning for the two night stay. Overall, this is a beautiful hotel, but needs to get up to date with both technology and customer service to remain competitive. BTW the $350 price tag for a Saturday night was absurd for little more than a view.(July 13, 2014)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel. We do appreciate your feedback! We are aware that our breakfast room gets quite busy in the mornings, we have added some Adirondack chairs and tables around property so that our guests can enjoy the great views and if they are interested have breakfast out side. Additionally our pool area has great views and plenty of seating areas and is near the breakfast room so that our guests can enjoy dining out there as well or take a tray back to their room! During the summer we do have a lot of families traveling for summer vacation, if you are looking for a more mellow time of year to visit the fall is an outstanding choice! The weather here is great and it makes it a nice time to visit here. We do apologize for the maintenance issue with air conditioning and I will be addressing the customer service issues you mentioned with our staff. We certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you in the future.

Thank you,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing