We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was disappointing. I know we were early but stopped by anyways before going to the beach. The desk clerk already said no when he didn't even check. He took my name and number down but never called. Why would you do that if you wasn't going to call.
My daughter got sick and I want to do some laundry at 9pm. It was down. Call the front desk in the morning didn't get her name since she only said front desk. I asked if she know if yhe guest laundry room was up and running. She didn't know it was out of order will call me back. She did and it is out of order.
Love to stay here when we come to pismo.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    629
    157
    69
    39
See reviews for
642
940
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stopped at Pismo as part of our multi centre holiday. We booked for 3 nights but cut our losses and left after 2! The hotel was clean, but it is in reality a motel! Which was very close to a busy road. The room opened directly onto the car park, which resulted in noise. The Staff were not particularly friendly. The outside area smelt from the hundreds of sea gulls and pelicans (which were good to watch for a while).
Pismo town felt very low end and unattractive, it seemed to be aimed at the RV/camping market. I am sure we did not see Pismo at its best as it was covered in fog, whereas 3 miles either side was hot and sunny! That said we had a very good round of golf at the nearby Cypress Ridge golf course & the restaurant next to the hotel was very good.
Out of all the places we visited Pismo was the only one that felt like a mistake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your visit to our property. I am sorry to hear your visit to Pismo Beach did not impress you! We do hope that perhaps next time you visit California you will be able to explore other areas of the stunning Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2-room suite. We loved it! It had a huge living room and dining area. Then a hallway led to 2 separate rooms. It felt like a beach condo. The view from the living room and both bedrooms was splendid view of the ocean and cliff side. We were planning on leaving first thing in the morning, but stayed until check-out because it was so luxurious! For $239 per night, it was pricey. But it was spacious and a nice way to enjoy the ocean view.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property, we appreciate the kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our two bedroom suites. We are glad to hear you took advantage of a little extra time to enjoy the view.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This was a reasonably priced hotel close to Pismo Beach. On a cliff above the water with great views and sunsets! Nice, big room and very clean and quite. Not right in Pismo Beach - but not a bad location.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room...I believe the ground floor rooms don't have much of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Lynne,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that our location suited your needs while in Pismo Beach. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Dont be fooled by the "Plus" in the Best Western name, doesn't mean anything. If you are used to upscale hotels, you will be very disappointed here. Staff is fine, the hotel is just old, out of date, and noisy if you are anywhere near the breakfast and/or weight room area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alessio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Alessio,

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected. I do thank you for your comments, as we do appreciate your feedback. We do try to assist our guests in any way possible and if notified we would be happy to see if another area of the property may have been more comfortable for you. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

It looks great on the brochure, but don't get your heart set on any of the amenities offered -- from the wifi to the complimentary b'fast to the in-room hair dryers, we found the "extras" disappointing. That said, the view was great, the room was clean and comfortable and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hello Kristen,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback and I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We hope that in the future we will have the opportunity to impress you.

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Big rooms with a small kitchen, breakfast was included and parking in front of the door, beautiful view on the Cliff when you enter the reception. A bit of a smell because of so many birds living on the cliff but we got used to it. We were happy with the laundry room in the hotel, as we were traveling up north not having a lot of time. Next door was a very nice restaurant walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AMK_Cur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the view, and got to take advantage of the great restaurant that is right next door! We hope to see you again in the future!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,693 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing