We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Suite above the ocean”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dietlikon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Suite above the ocean”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night in a two-room-suite with a great view on the beach and the ocean. we had plenty of space for the five of us. Beach can be accessed through the neighbour hotel or with a short car drive to the next coastal access. Lots of birds around the hotel, but they did not trouble us. Heated pool was very pleasant also late in the evening. I would definitely come to the Shore Cliff Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friedemann2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your time in writing a review regarding your recent stay! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the suite. These rooms do offer two balconies and a phenomenal ocean front view! I am glad you were able to take advantage of our outdoor heated pool, it is the largest in Pismo Beach!

We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    983
    599
    150
    61
    39
See reviews for
573
869
51
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have just recently stayed at several Best Western properties and this one is great because of its location on a cliff and beautiful view of the ocean beyond. The bathroom amenities were also a step above other BW locations, but the breakfast was not as good as some other locations as it was strictly continental, with no hot foods, other than an automated pancake maker. We were assigned a king room overlooking the pool and ocean beyond. The activity and noise from the pool were a little distracting, but ended by 9:00 or 10:00, so don't get one of those unless you want to overlook your children or friends at the pool. The bed was very comfortable, and both bed and bath linens were adequate if not deluxe. Pillows at all the BW's which we've recently visited have been plentiful and all the same - a little dense and too full for my tastes, but could be the next person's perfect choice. This locations offers a 10% discount on food at the adjoining restaurant, just across a parking lot, and the food and drinks there were reasonable and overall, above average. Great view there as well! Loved the overall experience of being "at the beach." The pelicans as some have mentioned, are abundant and kind of smelly at times - but I felt added to the overall charm of the hotel's location on the beachside cliff!

Room Tip: Don't get one overlooking the pool unless you want to keep track of someone in the pool from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy the great "Beach Experience" that the Shore Cliff Lodge offers! We appreciate your visit with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Finally found the best place in Pismo. Great views overlooking the cliffs where you can see dolphins and seals playing in the water. Great staff took care of us during 4th of July weekend. This is the only place we'll stay when we visit the area.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 232 and 306. Both excellent views. Anything on the ocean side on second floor will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing you recent experience with us over the 4th of July holiday! We are thrilled that you have found us and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Fabulous location, fabulous staff, fabulous dog friendly!!! Very accommodating hotel with great amenities and close to walk to uptown or downtown. Would go back in a heartbeat! Can't wait to plan our next trip! Thanks for a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was disappointing. I know we were early but stopped by anyways before going to the beach. The desk clerk already said no when he didn't even check. He took my name and number down but never called. Why would you do that if you wasn't going to call.
My daughter got sick and I want to do some laundry at 9pm. It was down. Call the front desk in the morning didn't get her name since she only said front desk. I asked if she know if yhe guest laundry room was up and running. She didn't know it was out of order will call me back. She did and it is out of order.
Love to stay here when we come to pismo.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kaishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stopped at Pismo as part of our multi centre holiday. We booked for 3 nights but cut our losses and left after 2! The hotel was clean, but it is in reality a motel! Which was very close to a busy road. The room opened directly onto the car park, which resulted in noise. The Staff were not particularly friendly. The outside area smelt from the hundreds of sea gulls and pelicans (which were good to watch for a while).
Pismo town felt very low end and unattractive, it seemed to be aimed at the RV/camping market. I am sure we did not see Pismo at its best as it was covered in fog, whereas 3 miles either side was hot and sunny! That said we had a very good round of golf at the nearby Cypress Ridge golf course & the restaurant next to the hotel was very good.
Out of all the places we visited Pismo was the only one that felt like a mistake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your visit to our property. I am sorry to hear your visit to Pismo Beach did not impress you! We do hope that perhaps next time you visit California you will be able to explore other areas of the stunning Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 2-room suite. We loved it! It had a huge living room and dining area. Then a hallway led to 2 separate rooms. It felt like a beach condo. The view from the living room and both bedrooms was splendid view of the ocean and cliff side. We were planning on leaving first thing in the morning, but stayed until check-out because it was so luxurious! For $239 per night, it was pricey. But it was spacious and a nice way to enjoy the ocean view.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoccerCentralCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property, we appreciate the kind words. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our two bedroom suites. We are glad to hear you took advantage of a little extra time to enjoy the view.

Please come back and see us again soon!

Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing