We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful ocean experience”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Wonderful ocean experience”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

We live in the desert and love to get away to the ocean. This hotel has breathtaking views. We slept with the balcony door open to fall asleep listening to the ocean waves crashing just below us. They have a continental breakfast at thier restaurant but it was disappointing. We ended up at Pennys in downtown Pismo.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMB727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    629
    155
    69
    39
See reviews for
639
938
57
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

What an incredible place and staff. We couldn't make it back to LA due to the closure of the GrapeVine with heavy snow. We drove HWY 41 across to Paso Robles but the 101 south was clogged with everyone else using it to LA. We drove by the Shore Cliff Hotel and stopped because we couldnt stay awake. The hotel staff could have charged a fortune due to the situation but they didn't. We paid $99 for an ocean view with breakfast. The staff was so understanding about our situation and travel nightmare. The room was beautiful and the location was incredible. The Shore Cliff Hotel and staff made a bad situation an enjoyable one. I hope to return in the spring or summer. Thank you for helping my family get through the night and keeping us off the rain slick roads during the night.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kulei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I have stayed here many times for business. The problem is that the mattresses are super soft and if you have a bad back, your back will ache in the morning. Management needs to upgrade the mattresses and I would give this hotel 4 stars because the location is sweet. If the mattresses were upgraded, I'd give it 5 stars because of the value. You can hear the ocean at night, smell the salt air, and the views are spectacular. There is a great restaurant next door. I can't stay here anymore because the old, soft mattresses just wreck my back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesSushilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stopped here on the way home from a week in Disneyland (it was too late to drive all the way home). What a beautiful place! The room looked brand new! Very spacious and clean. Mini-fridge and microwave. The bathroom was beautiful. But the best thing???? the sound of the ocean waves right outside our room....awesome!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

This hotel had the most amazing views of the Pacific Ocean. It was truly breathtaking. The rooms were new, spacious, and comfortable. We did not try the restaurant, but we we were very pleased with the beautiful room. Ideal for a couple wishing to spend a lot of time in the room. Can't wait to return. We have spent a lot of time in Pismo beach and have never stayed in such a beautiful room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nihenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2010

There are many wonderful things to say about this hotel; it's amazing views, it's very comfy beds, and it's prime location, however I am most thankful for the fact that they got us in early! My boyfriend and I drove down from San Francisco for a wedding early that afternoon. Our room was not ready, as check out time was 12pm and it was only 12:30. The guy at the desk was really helpful in getting us moved and into a room asap. it was very very appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinbrrrr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ynez, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Room and hotel OK overall. We were on a quick overnight get away so we didn't spend much time in the room. Spent a lot of time watching the pelicans and looking at the ocean. Stay up wind if you can, the birds smell when you are close to them. We've stayed here a few times before and know what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcuscgr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,977 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing