We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why stay anywhere else?”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else?”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Love this resort! Even when the coastal fog rolls in on the central coast, this place stays sunny. You can't find a better place to stay when visiting the area. Keep an eye out for their special pricing and book in advance. We went to school at Cal Poly and now have a student there. The perfect excuse to visit San Luis Obispo!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if possible but top floor is preferable if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Teresa R ~ thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! With Cal Poly back in session, this is a great time to visit. You may have some coastal fog in the morning, but the afternoons have been beautiful! How fun to share this area with your child too.
We look forward to your next visit, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    298
    104
    56
    47
See reviews for
265
411
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This resort is awesome in every aspect! The room was beautiful, the pool perfect, the service top rate, and the food delicious!! The walk to and on the beach is beautiful and there are great tide pools to explore. We even saw an otter right off the tide pools! There is kayaking and great hiking nearby and wonderful drives. Everyone from the front desk to room service to the girl in the hotel shop could not have been any more friendly or helpful. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! We did not have an "ocean front" room, but our windows opened to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Cindy W ~ Thank you so much for your glowing review! I'm glad you had a chance to explore our property and our town, and that it was such a great experience for you. Very cool that you saw the otter, you never know what wildlife will be cruising by ~ otters, dolphins, and the whales will be back soon! We look forward to seeing you again, Cindy.
Thank you, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonsall, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We headed south from Santa Cruz last night (Veterans Day weekend) and couldn't find a open room anywhere. We called the cliffs and they had one room open. It was in the budget and beautiful. The room had nice paint, pictures, views, and a stunning marble bathroom. The fireplace really topped it off. The location, pool and ocean views make this a must. The service was awesome. It was a dream come true after driving for hours.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
John D ~ sounds like a great spontaneous trip! I'm glad you were able to grab our last room and that you found our hotel and staff so accommodating. Thank you for the complimentary review, I hope you had a great 3 day weekend!
We look forward to seeing you again soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Extremely loud and restaurant was not what you see in pics nor was the selection on the menu anything more than 'bar food'. I stayed at the Stanford Park Hotel for the same price and it was leagues above this experience. The casual 'bar' smelled of old beer, the counters were 'sticky', I would say the valet person was amazing (even though he lost my keys), the way he handled the situation was quite incredible and all was well in the end. I would never return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
sunnlove ~ thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you visited our lounge which does serve bar food. Our restaurant, in the adjoining dining room is a more serene locale with a full menu of locally sourced entrees and desserts. I'm sorry we couldn't have found a more suitable table for you to dine. I'm glad you were well taken care of by our valet, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to California. Thank you, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Easy access right off the freeway, ocean front. Our room was top floor facing ocean with a balcony and wicker chairs. There are large French doors that we left open all night to listen to the waves . Room decor was warm and inviting. Bed was very comfortable. We loved the room and look forward to coming back to spend more time. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, I needed some stomach ache remedies and the manager opened up the gift shop to supply some products. Pool area is lovely, pub and restaurant are on the property. A very peaceful property. Definitely check it out

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
CocoLoco69 ~ thank you for your kind review. I'm sorry you weren't feeling well while you stayed, but so glad our manager was able to help you out. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many aspects of our hotel anyway, and go to sleep to the sound of the ocean.
We look forward to your next stay, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My favorite place to stay on the California coast! Have stayed here many times and always feel so welcomed! The staff are all very helpful and gracious! The rooms are wonderful and the location cannot be beat. Wonderful ocean views, a beautiful beach adjacent to the hotel and the most incredible sunsets! Marisol restaurant has the best food and a great outdoor dining patio for sunset dinners. They often have music on the patio. Great pool, hot tub and fire ring to enjoy the evening. Also, very dog friendly!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your glowing review, Bakecz ~ we love having you back, and appreciate your loyalty! I'm glad to hear that your pup enjoyed her stay too!
See you next time, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ky
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We were on our 25th anniversary trip, making our way up the California coast. A friend recommended The Cliffs. Upon check in, without a reservation, we were given a discount due to construction, which we never even noticed.

The king ocean view room was great and also had a view of the pool.

Dinner was on the bar balcony and Jorge quickly started a propane warmer to knock the chill off our table. After another couple left, we had the balcony to ourselves. We had a nice long casual dinner which was delicious. Jorge took great care of us and made our anniversary even more special. Thanks from Kentucky!!
We'd definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Tim Y ~ we are honored that you chose our hotel for part of your anniversary celebration (thank you to your friends for the recommendation)! It sounds like Jorge took good care of you on the patio and what a great setting for a romantic celebration!
We're looking forward to your next stay (30th Anniversary, maybe?), Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing