We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The check in experience was disorganized at best. They told us we would have ammenities that were not available. The hot tub was disgusting. There was a wedding on the property and they had their PA on full blast until 1am by our time zone. If you pay over $300 for a room, you should be notified that any romantic gestures would be cancelled out by their fumbling to tell you that you will have to listen to cheesy wedding songs like "Brickhouse" blaring int the background. It was a disaster.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Ms. Brooke V,

Thank you for taking the time to share comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate guest feedback as it allows us to better prepare for our future guests. I apologize your stay was disrupted by the wedding, we do host weddings throughout the year, however we do have a strict 10pm cutoff for music (which is also when our quiet hours begin) so our guests still have the capability to get a good night's rest. If you have further information in regards to the amenities we didn't provide and the problems with your check in, I would love to have the opportunity to follow up with my staff! Please feel free to email me personally at elise@cliffsresort.com. Thank you again and I look forward to speaking with you.

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    294
    102
    56
    46
See reviews for
260
404
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location of this hotel is beautiful. But overall, I was dissatisfied with the rest of the experience. It seems as though the hotel was trying to cut a lot of corners. Not a recommended stay if you are looking to be treated really well.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Griffith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Griffith R,

I am so sorry to hear you did not have the experience you were looking for while visiting The Cliffs. I would love the opportunity to talk to you further about your time here so I can better address the problems you encountered. We definitely want to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for our guests, and of course strive to treat our customers with the utmost respect! Please feel free to email me directly so we can talk further about your past stay and the possibility of welcoming you back to our resort!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
elise@cliffsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed at hotel for a wedding event that was catered by the hotel. Everything was top notch and staff was very helpful. there was a mixup with the reservations but front desk handled well and took care of business. Wedding catering was great

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Overall it was good. The air conditioning didn't blow cold air so we opened the bay windows. The food was average, would have expected better. Rooms were wonderful, staff was excellent and attentive.overall I would come back again even with the high prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Amy E,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I'm sorry the air conditioning was not working during your stay, and the food was not exactly what you were looking for. I would love to pass on more information to the restaurant managers about your dining experience, so if you have time would you mind emailing me with further information? We want our customers feedback so we can update and improve menu items to better match our guest's tastes! Thank you again and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Cliffs Resort in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Elise@cliffsresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great Place to have a meeting, good food, great views of pacific ocean...
Staff was good, rooms were clean and spacious.
.......................................................................................

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shantanu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden Hills, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

comfortable, accessable, and relaxing. full breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey.

This is the first review that required more than a few comments, a bit annoying this

twentyfive characters to go




Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Market, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Great location with beautiful views. Clean rooms and hotel area. I stayed there for a week and unfortunately 2 of those days the water in the shower was cold. However, the manager there took care of it. Marisol, the restaurant is excellent. The staff there are so nice and accomodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing