We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

No room service, only on the weekends. For the suite, there was only one sink! It would have been nice to have a microwave. There was a dog barking right below us was not pleasant, two calls to the front desk to get the problem solved....The large tub, with "air-jets" was great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I am glad you enjoyed the tub for your anniversary, Kevin! Of course it's too late to save the mood but I wish we had taken care of the downstairs neighbors' dog quicker. While we sometimes try to give the owners a chance to come and calm their pets themselves, I know that waiting for that resolution is not ideal for other guests nearby. Hopefully if you come back again soon, we can get you set on a higher floor for a little more peace and quiet!

Sincerely,

Lauren Hock
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Great view from the room. Overall enjoyable experience. Few things were missing from our package deal and was never brought up to the room even after asking about it. The rooms were clean and had a great nights rest. The cleaning staff was super amazing and friendly. Can't say the same about the staff at the front desk.. Think they need to be replaced with more welcoming personnel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

I am so sorry to hear that we missed the dessert for your Signature Sunday stay this visit, Ms. Flores! I just went back to credit you for the part of the package that we did not deliver on. Hopefully if you will be coming back to the area again, we can send you something sweet to make up for the less-welcoming treatment from your stay this week.

Please let me know if you choose to give us another chance!

Lauren Hock

Hotel Manager
The Cliffs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The first time I stayed at your hotel, was great. Now, with a full hotel, no room service, none of the pet items in my room upon arrival, and the maid walked in without knocking! heater didn't work, and the room was very loud in the morning. I asked for bottled waters, and they were delivered in the plastic case, and I got the feeling I was being a pest. I have stayed at your hotel at least 6 times in the past 5 months, and each time it was progressively worse. the only time that my room was pet ready was the first time. Each additional time, I had to ask the bell boy who brought up my luggage for my puppies bed, and bowls and only received her menu on my first stay. If it is a pet friendly room, why isn't it pet friendly? the second morning of my stay, the maid walked in without knocking, and I was getting ready to use the rest room. I have never had that happen to me before, at any hotel I have stayed in. And last, but not least, if the hotel is full, why isn't room service available? Its April, and when I stayed in December and January, it was available, but now that more and more people are coming in, it isn't? Doesn't make sense to me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kristine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

I very much appreciate your honesty in this review, Ms. Kirkorian. I can certainly see how my staff missed the opportunity to anticipate your needs. Especially for a repeat loyal guest such as yourself, we should be ready to provide a seamless visit from check in to amenity deliveries. I will certainly bring this review to their attention so we can all work together to match that first experience you had at The Cliffs, and I hope to see you with us again soon.

Thank you again and I look forward to ensuring a much better return visit,

Lauren Hock

Hotel Manager
The Cliffs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Perfect upscale on a budget home base for exploring Pismo and Avila. Loved the heated pool. Loved the fitness center. The room
Was very clean. Comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet was mediocre with limited and strange choices

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

There isn't a whole lot in Pismo beach, but this hotel was a gem. The staff was friendly, the room was spacious, nicely decorated and the fireplace was such a nice touch. But what most impressed me was the breakfast buffet - truly amazing food, great quality, selection of both healthy and hearty options! Will definitely stay there next time we're in the area!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Lauren R ~ I'm happy to hear you were so impressed with our breakfast buffet! Hannah, our Pastry Chef, puts a lot of effort into making luscious, but also healthful treats to enjoy. Many of our breakfast staff, like Luis at the Omelet Station, have been with us for years and definitely know how to make a mean omelet! We'll be sure to have some freshly baked goodies for your next stay.
Take care, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We returned here for our 35th wedding anniversary after many previous trips. Again, we were not disappointed. All the staff from front desk to valet and bell stand greeted us with a warm smile. Can't beat the location and views. The fact we can bring our ten year old Shitzu just added to the joy because she is welcome with open arms as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel Marin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Daniel Marin O ~ Congratulations on your 35th anniversary! What an honor that you chose to spend it with us. Thank you for your continued loyalty to our hotel, that means a lot to us.
We look forward to your next stay, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Cliffs Resort is located in one of the most beautiful spots I have had the privilege of seeing. The staff will go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. Be sure to walk along the beach during low tide and make to the pier downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Kevin C ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed our location to the fullest, including a walk on our beach! Most importantly though, I'm glad you were well taken care of by our staff, as that is our number one goal.
We hope to see you again soon, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £168 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing