We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Upgrade”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It has been over 5 years since I had stayed at this hotel. I recall the rooms being fair and the outside looking ok, but this recent trip was a pleasant surprise. When I open the door to the room I said "Oh Yea" It looked brand new. The set up was very comfortable and so was the bed. I only spent one night here for a business trip, but it was a nice stay. The price is about right for a hotel room by the beach and the view is wonderful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the pool towards the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 145jaimev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

145jaimev ~ I'm glad we were able to pleasantly surprise you with our room updates and that you found the room comfortable. Be sure to come back when you're not working so you have some time to enjoy the property!
Take care, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our second stay at the Cliffs, and once again we were very pleased. We spent four nights the week of July 4th. Again we brought our little dog, and again we had a patio on the pool area - this is ideal with dogs. Staff all super friendly. Complimentary chocolate covered strawberries and champagne at our Saturday check-in. Saturday Movie night outside at the fire pit included complimentary s'mores fixin's and hot chocholate with a showing of Nemo. Plenty of seating around the pool, nice large hot tub. There is complimentary coffee every morning, and Sunday morning there were delicious muffins as well. Comfy outdoor couches. The location is just perfect - on a bluff with a staircase to a swimmable beach. The bathroom is still small and dated, but everything else is great.

Room Tip: Ocean or pool view. We love ground floor with patio exiting to pool deck.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassietrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Cassietrip ~ Welcome back! I'm so glad you and your pup enjoyed your stay with us over the July 4th weekend. It sounds like you had a chance to take part in our weekend festivities, what's a summer by the fire pit without s'mores afterall!
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Me n my bf both went out there last year or the first time in August and the experience I'm this hotel is the reason why we come back, we got the deal from groupon and we loved it the staff was really nice the lobby is beautiful the location is good patio view is ocean front I loved it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank xCamilax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Camila N ~ I'm so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us and continue to come back. We hope to see you again before next summer!
Take care, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our rooms were pool/ocean view rooms on 3rd floor, very noisy rooms, tons of yelling kids adults, and barking dogs. Must keep patio door closed if you want to block out some of the noise, asked to move rooms to other side with ocean view but nothing available. Not the relaxing peaceful weekend we had hoped for.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Melissa L ~ I'm so sorry that you didn't have the peaceful getaway you were looking for. As a family friendly hotel, our pool does have a lot of activity in the summer. Although the Ocean/Pool view rooms offer a nice view, they do overlook this activity. Please contact me if I can help you with a future, quieter stay now that summer is winding down. We can find the perfect room for you and would love a chance to offer you the relaxing stay you were looking for.
Thank you, Stephanie stephanie@cliffsresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

THis was a stop en route to Carmel . Nice clean and well proportioned rooms . Staff were great especially the valet parking staff .

Nice pool but a bit crowded. We used this location as a stop , probably not stay there again .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ovonarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Ovonarx ~ I'm glad you found us to be a convenient stop on your trip north, and that you were well taken care of by our staff.
Thank you, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

You can never go wrong in wine county especially if you stay at The Cliffs Resort in Pismo Beach. It is centrally located, minutes from the white sands of Pismo State Beach or wine country to the north. The food is five star and the view is incredible. Staff is very helpful and the spa is great. It is really a hidden gem. Discover the tranquility of the ocean view, the access to white sands and short trip to beautiful wine country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

sctrstlrd, A "hidden jem" ~ thank you!
We're honored to be a part of your summer getaway, I am so glad you enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. You are right, we are fortunate to be surrounded by great wine country as well, to the north and south. We have maps of the wineries at the Front Desk if we can help you find some new favorites!
Take care, we hope to see you again soon, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night while traveling south on PCH and the only regret we had was we were not staying here longer.The check in was quick and efficient and the room was average size bright and clean.The only draw back was there was no safe in the room which we found unusual.We ate in the bar/restaurant on the patio area overlooking the sea and the coastline,absolutely beautiful.The food was very nice and the service attentive and professional.The hotel itself is modern and bright and all the staff are very friendly.We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a sea view, the hotel has stunning sea and coastline views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dec2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dec2011 ~ I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could be a part of your California coastal tour. While we do not provide a safe in the room, we have safety deposit boxes accessible through our Front Desk, I'm sorry that wasn't made clear to you. Hopefully you can stay a litle longer on your next trip and soak up the view!
Take care, Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,056 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,240 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £168 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing