We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed and more!”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we needed and more!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Cliffs Resort was wonderful. My husband and I had a long weekend away and found everything we needed to relax. The view was first and foremost perfect. We slept every night listening to the waves crash onto the beach below us. The bed was beyond comfortable, which can really ruin a trip if otherwise! We felt very taken care of by the staff. Our car was always ready when needed and our meals were fantastic. The Central Coast is such a magical place and staying at the Cliffs was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
RKWF ~ Thank you for the glowing review, it sounds like you had a wonderful stay! I am so glad we could anticipate and surpass your needs. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves does indeed sound magical.
We look forward to seeing you and your husband for another getaway soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    302
    104
    56
    47
See reviews for
268
416
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level 6 Contributor
490 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here again and always like a room away from pool activity to just chill in the room and enjoy the great ocean views. This was another relaxing stay with a clean and quiet room with large bathroom and tub. The staff is always very friendly and attentive and the rooms have always been consistently good - this is one of our favorite getaway spots.

We usually have a late breakfast downstairs and the buffet breakfast is really good. The wait staff is always attentive and willing to help if you with a special request. The manager of the restaurant is always walking around and checking on people - the same guy has been there quite a while. The food has always been good, tasty and fresh. We love the large buffet choices with omelet bar and waffles. There is also a nice patio to eat your breakfast on or enjoy happy hour and watch the sunset.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Travelin M ~ It sounds like you had a relaxing stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share it! I am so glad you have enjoyed breakfast or a cocktail on the patio, that view can't be beat! David, in the restaurant, loves taking time to chat with our guests and it sounds like he has taken good care of you.
We are honored to be one of your favorite getaways, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Yes, everyone likes this place. Some don't like the active summer season as much because it can be noisy and busy. But, midweek is the time to go to The Cliffs if you can. Or, go to The Cliffs when school is in session. Marisol is a very nice restaurant with a great happy hour. Bar is popular with the beach crowd. Our room was Ocean View this time. Worth the added cost if you can get these twenty or so rooms. Staff was professional and accommodating at both the resort and the restaurant.

Room Tip: Mid-week before Memorial Day and after Labor Day. Ocean View best, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OtisGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
OtisGuy ~ Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed the ocean views! You are absolutely right, fall is a great time to visit, as the weather is beautiful and the hotel is not as busy. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Great views and nice rooms but very busy. Pool not big enough to fit everyone, struggled to find a chair. Restaurant ok, didn't go for dinner as it was really packed however did go for breakfast. Ok nothing special. Nice place for a stop over.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Gooz1974 ~ I'm glad you found your room comfortable and that you had a chance to enjoy the views from our property. I'm sorry that you were challenged for space at our pool, the beginning of August is definitely a busy time for us, as we have a lot of family activities and everyone is here to get their last vacations before school starts. For a quieter getaway, fall is perfect ~ the weather is gorgeous and the property isn't as busy.
Thank you for your review we hope to see you on your next trip through our area, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

With temperatures over 100 degrees inland, The Cliffs is the perfect getaway. Cooler temps, great views, sunsets and a wonderful area to go for a walk. The resort and surrounding areas are very pet friendly too. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. We have always enjoyed our stay at The Cliffs!

Room Tip: We enjoy the pet friendly rooms when we take our dog. The slider opens to the outside for easy acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Kay R ~ I'm glad we could be a cool retreat for you and your pups! I am happy to hear that our staff has taken good care of you and been so accommodating. Thank you for being a loyal guest, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Stay cool, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the cliffs in August 2014 and enjoyed our stay. It was a bit of a flying visit, staying just one night, but the food was amazing, happy hour drinks were reasonable prices and the hotel was clean and modern with good facilities (didn't have a chance to use the pool but it looked good). The views from the clifftop were breathtaking and the sunset vista from the beach, just a few minutes walk down some steps, was stunning. The room was good with no view in our case (but by choice to keep the costs down) . Bed was company, shower was hot and powerful enough and generally nothing bad to say about it. Would return or recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Phil B ~ Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Although it was a short stay, it sounds like you were able to enjoy much of our property, and I'm glad you found it comfortable. We are fortunate to have some amazing sunsets, always a great way to end your day!
Thank you for the recommendation, we hope to see you again ~ Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My cousin was celebrating her 90-th birthday and this was the purpose of my visit in USA. We made 3-day trip to Pismo beach and Santa Barbara and staed two nights in that remarcable place. The staf was very nice and ready to help. The place was full but they changed our room who faced the pool for a very quiet and comfortable. We were surprised by a bottle of wine and a card for the birthday! I wish I could be there again for 100-th birthday of my dear Vera!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smily53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Cliffs_Resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
smily53 ~ What a great birthday celebration for your cousin. I'm sure she was thrilled to have you there to celebrate with her and we are honored to have been a part of it. We look forward to seeing you both for her 100th birthday celebration, if not before.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,939 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing