We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We loved this Oxford Suites. The lobby was charming, as was our room. It was spacious, updated, and quite comfortable. The happy hour was very nice with complimentary house wine, draft beer, and snacks. The pool was was nice and the hot breakfast was wonderful (just a little crowded). We only stayed one night but wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Say-Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,313 - 1,319 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

My daughters, 4 & 7, and I stayed here and it was the perfect match for us. The two room suite had plenty of space. The king bed was divinely comfortable. Even the pull-out sofa bed was a really good sofa bed (no bar in the middle poking our backs.) The pool was warm, the toddler pool was especially nice for my four y.o. The full breakfast food was well done. Plenty to choose from, including some choices we could eat while on gluten-free, dairy-free diets (i.e. scrambled eggs, bacon, hashbrowns one day, some kind of hash with eggs on the side the next, yogurt, applesauce and fresh fruit served both days, etc). While driving distance to the beach, it is not far at all. We got a great deal staying during the middle of the week. Definitely a great deal for the quality and amenities!! We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SATSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I tend to stay away from older hotels. I had stayed at this hotel about 20 years ago so I knew that it wasn't new. I booked anyway due to all of the great reviews. All I can say is follow your heart.
The lobby is very nice and inviting so on arrival I thought that the Oxford was nicer than I remembered. The rooms have been updated...to a point. Nice flooring options as well as granite counters and newer furniture. The bed was comfy for my husband but a little too hard for me. The bathroom was funky with the shortest toilet and tub that I've ever seen. I would recommend replacement of the old fashioned ceiling tiles in the bathroom. Just kind of tacky.
Over all the room was very clean. The pipes were noisy and the doors don't have that little spring thing that keeps them from slamming open or shut. You will hear your neighbors and even though we were in a non-smoking room, there was tell tale smoke smells in the living room area of our room. Another hint would be to remove the ashtrays from in front of the non-smoking rooms. It does no good to have a non-smoking room if smoke blows in every time you open the door.
The breakfast was OK. The evening reception was a nice touch and appetizers were better than most.
The only person at this hotel that seemed to like their job was the bar tender. Sorry I don't remember his name but he was the best in conversation and service. He even left his post to clean up someones spilled drink in the outer lobby. All said and done, this was an OK stay. Nice reasonable hotels are not a commodity in Pismo. This one is clean and affordable but don't expect high end or a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Very cute motel. Rooms, pool and decor were nice. Breakfast was good. We enjoyed happy hour also. Overall, it was wonderful. The kids had fun. My only complaint was that upon check-in, we were told we needed to pay an extra fee for one of our children who was 13. We booked the room thru AAA, and their website asked for children under 17. When the rate was quoted, we thought it included our four children. There was wording in the reservation that stated you could add two additional guests for an additional fee. We assumed that meant in addition to the parties already listed, but the hotel said it was in addition to two adults - and apparently a 13 year old is counted as an adult. It was all a little confusing. We've never had the same problem with any other hotels we have booked thru AAA. Ultimately, the hotel honored the rate, but suggested we book directly through them next time to avoid any confusion.

Room Tip: If you have children over 12, book thru the hotel website to be sure you get the correct rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksloan1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Checked in with a buddy of mine and they didn't have any double bed rooms available. Was given a room with a King and a sofa sleeper. WOW, what a crappy bed those sofa sleepers are. The mattress is about 1/2 an inch thick and was gross. The springs were right out of the 1970s and made you sink into a big hole in the middle such that you woke up at 5 am sore and cursing your horrible night's sleep.

The rest of the hotel is ok, in desperate need of a makeover, but still ok.

Whatever you do, don't let them put you into a sofa bed though!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Michiggander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Oxford Suites Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

Thanks for taking the time to comment. Our staff prides themselves in maintaining the property at the 3 diamond level we have been awarded by AAA, and are continually making improvements or adjustments to improve our guests' stay. We appreciate your candid thoughts on the sofa bed and we'll see what we can do to improve the sleep quality. Thanks again for commenting and if you visit Pismo Beach again, please consider another stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

This hotel is great for pet owners. Stayed here for a couple of nights when the temperature in Fresno was 107. Pismo's temperature was a cool 69. Felt bad for leaving the dog (boxer) at home, so had to find a hotel that allowed pets.

This is a nice 2 room suite. It has a nice living room area which has a flat screen tv, microwave, and refrigerator (that actually keeps things cool). Spacious for a family of 4 and 1 boxer.

The nice part of this hotel is that it has little dog run area where people take thier dogs to "do their business". The pet owners are good at picking up after their animals, because we didn't see any dog poop in the common areas. Free hot breakfast was a nice touch each morning. The pool area is small, but clean. The have free coffee and tea in the lobby all day. Also free drinks and appetizers in the evening. Wifi and parking are also free.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonG20t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night in June. I was on my way up the coast to San Francisco and needed a place to stay for the night. The front desk was very friendly and extremely pleasant.

The room was clean and comfortable. It was a perfect place to relax for the evening. The full service breakfast was very good but the dining area was extremely crowded. We took out breakfast back to the room to eat which was easy.

Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I visit Pismo Beach. The hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,304 reviews
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,126 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
921 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing