We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Funky but nice place to stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The rooms are clean & comfy beds. We stayed in the king suite which had a separate room with tv refrigerator & sofa sleeper. The manager reception was quaint & food was cooked on a BBQ outside the bar-cook made great tacos. Breakfast was nice portions a bit small though. I would definitely stay here again - good value.

Room Tip: Far south end on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillybean55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    398
    168
    37
    38
See reviews for
578
444
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way up the coast. The lobby area was very nice and I say impressive but the rest of the hotel did not live up to it. We took the suite since we were traveling with our older kids. The room was clean and good size but the bathroom was very small. There is no elevator so if you are traveling with heavy luggage be prepared to carry them upstairs. They have unimpressive snacks available in the late afternoon consisting of chips, salsa, salad, and soup. Also, for adults they have complimentary beer or wine. The bartender was generous with the wine and she was very friendly. Breakfast is included and it was good for the price of the stay, it included scrambled eggs that were dry, sausage, bacon, pancakes, hash browns, cereal, oatmeal, and assortment of hot and cold drinks. Pool and hot tub area was clean and the staff was very attentive. Not a bad stay for the price and adjacent to outlet mall. Great for a brief stay and when traveling with children.

Room Tip: If traveling with lots of luggage ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtravelerLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We have vacationed at pismo for years and always wanted to stay here however we were so disappointed. The staff was so rude. They said appetizers and drinks in the lounge and it was soup and salad. the salad was wilted and nasty. The girl at the bar was so busy flirting with the men in the room that she told us that the soda was flat and she wasnt going to change it yet. She rolled her eyes when we said we didnt drink alcohol. That happened all three days. When we got to our room we pulled out the sofa sleeper and it didnt have sheets or a blanket and there were rat turds on it. It took an hr to get another mattress in our room. The breakfast is not a buffet but it was so nasty i dont know why anyone would want seconds anyways. In a nutshell...dont waste ur money on this overpriced motel 6. Stay at the premier inn instead. Its cheaper and u can go to dennys for $2.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellodudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Warm pool, relaxing hot tub and sauna room. The employees are friendly and extremely helpful. Only negative was the hot breakfast....eggs were rubbery and dry hash browns. Filled up on cereal and bagels. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLQuiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Usually if we head to the beach we stay at an ocean front property. This trip was just a quick one night stopover, however, so we chose Oxford Suites. Because it does not have an ocean view, it's much less expensive.

A plus for this place is that the beds are very comfy, and I am very particular about bed comfort. My husband and I slept very well. They are also a very family friendly location. There's a splash pool as well as the regular swimming pool. The pool area was filled with kids, but no adults were swimming. There's a grassy courtyard where some families were playing frisbee. In another courtyard it looked like they had a dog run. In the evening they offer drinks and appetizers. The appetizers during our stay were salad, chips and salsa, and soup. The morning breakfast is ample, though not particularly tasty. The kids loved the pancakes, though. There is also a Denny's next door if you prefer. All of the staff we encountered in the lobby, at breakfast, and around the grounds greeted us with a friendly smile and a "hello."

Some problems we noticed- our second story room had a sliding patio door but no child safety lock on it, just the regular flip up and down latch. For someplace that is so kid-friendly I would have thought they'd have something safer in place.

Also, housekeeping should take a quick peek at the balconies when they clean the rooms. Our non-smoking room had a cup of water filled with cigarette butts on the balcony. Yuck! The room in general was fairly clean, but I can't say it was immaculate.

Overall this was an o.k. stay. If I ever needed to do another quick overnight at the beach and didn't care about ocean view I'd consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator, so if you get second floor you'll be using the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotfurio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Hotel was clean, comfy and the staff great! The Breakfast however was terrible- so much so (pre-packaged scrambled egges, has browns that tasted like cardboard) that we ate at Denny's next door instead for a really good breakfast (even though we had to pay).

Hotel Property is nice and well kept- although not anywhere near a beach.

These two reasons are why we would NOT book here again

Room Tip: Good room, clean, comfy and well appointed with small fridge, microwave and coffe-maker (although a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Booked in by a very friendly helpful and professional staff member (sorry I don't remember his name younger baldish guy with a lovely happy manner) Nice room, nice grounds, handy to the outlet mall. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#12 of 29 in Pismo Beach
827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing