We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Grounds and Good Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Grounds and Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

Attractive lobby with seating areas, apples (and sometimes a few cookies), 24-hpur coffee/tea station, free newspapers. Check-in was easy and we were able to get our room immediately, even though it was before noon. We weren’t able to get the location I preferred, as I had booked an accessible room (that was all that was left; last-minute booking). One oddity with the check-in clerk; she made eye contact with and spoke exclusively only to my companion, and not me. This was especially odd because I answered each of her questions, the room was in my name, and I paid for the room.

The room was on the outer edge of the property, backing to a side parking lot. First floor, which makes sense, as it was an accessible room. The suite was pretty big, and this is a true suite; a pocket door divided the living area from the bed area. Living room area had a hardwood floor, which means that upstairs noise travels. Living room had a larger mini-fridge and microwave, DVD player, small table and L-shaped couch. The square coffee table was oddly high. All furniture in the unit needs updating.

The bedroom had a queen size bed that seemed a bit small, and the sink is in the bedroom area (this may be only in accessible rooms; I don’t know). Bedside clock was extremely bright and actually kept me from sleeping well. Bathroom had a tub with a handheld showerhead. There was adequate shelving/drawers in the unit for two people. The unit was pretty dark, even during days of bright sunlight.

Grounds are attractive and serene, despite the proximity to the freeway. Mature trees, landscaping, and several areas of grass. Pool area includes pool kept heated to 85 degrees, a pretty large whirlpool, and a separate 18 inch deep baby pool. Pool seating included lounges and chairs. An area in front of the breakfast room included several umbrella tables.
The workout room was substandard. One elliptical, one exercise bike, and one treadmill. A tv hung in the corner. That’s it. No weights, not even a mat. This was my least favorite feature of the property. You could probably run on the road that leads away from Pismo in front of the hotel, although I don’t know how far that road goes in that direction. A better option would be to just drive the 5 minutes to the beach (there’s plenty of parking) and run on the hard sand at the water’s edge.

Room rates include full buffet breakfast and drinks/light food in the evenings. Guests receive coupons to be redeemed daily. Evening food was soup and salad, chips and salsa. All meh. Not a salad bar, just greens. Beverage coupons could be redeemed for 2 glasses of wine/beer or one well drink. Beer was a small pour. Some other basic cocktails can be purchased. There were places to sit in the small bar, patio tables outside, and an adjacent “library” with some additional seating. Hotel information states that there is no food/beverage service Sunday evenings, but our stay included a Sunday over a holiday weekend, and both drinks and food were available as usual.

Breakfast was pretty substantial, although not as wide a selection as the Oxford Suites in Portland, OR, where I have also stayed. Hot items are kept warm in a steam table, and not made to order, and there is a little variety. One breakfast meat (ham, sausage, bacon), one grain (waffles, pancakes), and a potato of some kind (home fries, hash browns) rotated. There were breakfast burritos one day. Pancakes were surprisingly tasty and light; waffles did not fare well in the steam table. There was also scrambled eggs and oatmeal daily, as well as a large vat of one kind of yogurt, and a few types of fruit. S-l-o-w toasters were available, with white, wheat, and rye bread, as well as English muffins and bagels. No peanut butter or cream cheese, no hard-boiled eggs, no muffins or donuts. Three kinds of cereal (fruit loops, rice krispies, and something else), juice, milk, coffee and a few kinds of tea. For once, there seemed to be enough seating in the breakfast area (two rooms, plus outdoor seating), and employees worked efficiently to clear plates and were kind. There is one tv in each of the two breakfast rooms. On Saturday morning, staff even changed the tv to the football game for me, so that I could watch my (out of state) alma mater play.

This hotel is a solid value, but the needed updating and sub-par workout facilities keep me from giving it the highest rating.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is further from freeway (and quieter), and second-floor rooms quieter, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Token6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    390
    165
    34
    36
See reviews for
561
431
34
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnetka
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

When I saw my room, I checked out immediately. Gave me the creeps.
Worn out furnishings. No elevator and concrete stairs. No carpet in room. TV didn't work. I just couldn't stay there. Went to Hilton.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

the rooms are truly a suite with two separate rooms. you walk into the living room with a large sectional sofa that makes into a queen size bed. large flat screen TV on built in counter with microwave, refrig, sink, coffee maker. you walk (through a slider door) into the bedroom also with a large flat screen TV sitting on a large built in counter with sink and large counter top to spread out all your toiletries. bathroom was just large enough with toilet and shower/tub. breakfast was nice with a good selection, scrambled eggs with meat, french fries, pancakes, hot oatmeal (with all the fixin'), several cold cereal, milk, juices, coffee, hot chocolate, tea. the breakfast room is large and airy and also sitting out on the patio area with heaters. evening reception was a nice surprise with selections of beer, wine, soft drinks or juice. they also have a soup and salad bar (we missed that). didn't use the pool area but it looked nice. they even have a wading pool for your little ones. the price was right and your only about 5 minutes to the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nascardonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Great location with awesome people who all care that you are enjoying your stay. Have stayed in many hotels but never felt so welcome. Close to everything. Food was great and way above the normal hotel.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed during a busy summer weekend. Room was nice. Bed comfortable. Breakfast good. The evening reception was not that great, but we didn't mind.Breakfast was hot with a variety of items. Had dog run.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PamP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We were making our way down the coast and the oxford Suites are very convenient, located right off the 101. The reception area was warm and inviting and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is a small reading room next to reception and a small bar where the hotel provided complimentary appetizers and two drinks per adult.
We stayed in a two room suite ($155 for a Monday night), with a bed in one room and a pull out in the other with a door in between. There was one bathroom and 2 televisions. My kids were pleased to be able to watch the Disney channel after doing some night swimming! The pool was heated and a nice size with tables around the pool and outside of the gate. The bed was a little soft and the pull out had the typical thin mattress but the kids had no trouble.
Breakfast the next day was good with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, various cereals, toast, coffee, tea and juice. Jose made sure the tables were clean and the staff behind the line was friendly and efficient.
Overall a good stay for a family of four.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

Comfortable, quiet place. Majority of guests are seniors. Take a room away from the main street. Close to a quiet town called Arroyo Grande - antique shops galore and the best burger (Old Village Grill) within 200 miles. Definitely will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilbur W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing