We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not given room booked, inappropriate service/value for cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Upon arriving in our room, we realized that we were placed in a regular room instead of the family suite we booked. When called, the desk staff said we made a change to the room one month prior (we did not; when I returned home, I re-checked all correspondence with the hotel to be sure). They had no suites left and did not offer anything. Further, they insisted the mistake was ours when we pressed. The staff person talked over my wife multiple times during the conversation though she was polite and tried to calmly request what we wanted and convey our disappointment.

Like other reviews stated, the location is beautiful and the back patio/pool area is nice. However, a number of other hotels exist along the coast and we will seek those out next time.

Finally, the room (409) was dated. The bath tub was chipped, the heater/air conditioner is not central air (straight out of the 70s), the room front door and back sliding doors were difficult to close (needed to forcefully pull both closed). Additionally, the pillows were not comfortable.

We are significantly disappointed and will not stay here again. We would have moved to a different hotel immediately but could not find a larger room available nearby. We regularly stay at both nice and high-end hotels (Hyatt, Hilton, Ritz-Carlton, Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons, etc) and have an idea of what to expect for great, good and decent service. This service experience was not any of those - we expect a lot more for the amount of money we paid. The room was also underwhelming for the money we paid - we expect a lot more for that amount of money.

Room Tip: Nothing useful to share as we did not get the room we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeaCrestTeam, Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

On behalf of the management and staff of the SeaCrest, we are always disturbed whenever a guest experiences anything less than complete satisfaction, obviously the case during your recent stay. We do subscribe to the old adage “the customer is always right!” Therefore, where the room type mix-up occurred should not have mattered. It was our responsibility to fix it.
However, that became impossible, since the hotel suites were completely booked during your stay dates, with no chance to place you in a family suite or any similar accommodation. Please accept our sincere apology for the way you and your family were handled.

The SeaCrest is distinctly not a “cookie-cutter” Hilton or Hyatt and in fact prides itself on its individuality and “retro-chic” décor, in keeping with its city, Pismo Beach’s, “Classic California” slogan. I direct your attention to the over 800 pictures of our view, grounds and room interiors, guests have posted on TripAdvisor. Our guest survey service scores however, do rival the high-end national hotel brands anywhere in the country.

Please give us another chance to satisfy your vacation desires. Contact the General Manager directly and we will do everything within our power to provide you the exceptional experience we demand of our hotel and its staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,062 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

Where do I start? How about "BORIS" the young man greeted me at the entrance and promptly helped direct me to the check in. What a sweetheart he was, so friendly and smiling, immediately engaged me in a fun conversation about my Mercedes and his. The FIRST person you meet when you check in can make or break the experience and he made it for me. I then checked in promptly they found my reservation and I parked the car and took the dogs into the room first off. Then I went back and again BORIS helped me unload the entire trunk including the HUGE metal dog crate I travel with. Totally an asset to this property he is! Once I got settled in I could admire the phenomenal ocean views from my room and the room itself which was so MODERN, clean and appealing in every way. Quite small but it worked for us. I travel with blankets and cover all the chairs and bedding to protect it regardless of being pet friendly. This hotel caters to dogs. Looking out the sliding glass doors to my own little patio and chairs I saw dogs being walked and that made me smile. The supplied dog dishes and a dog bed and that was so special! Ok now the property, HUGE well kept and maintained, and OCEAN front with steps leading down to it. That was why I wanted to bring my dogs here while I was travelling. Loved the bed, the bedding, very comfortable and quiet peaceful place to stay. Unfortunately NO restaurant on site.. No bar or social scene at all. I would change that so people could sit out by the pool and order a drink and small appetizer perhaps. They don't allow you to leave your dogs in the room by themselves which made it impossible for me to go anywhere so that also was unfortunate and not the normal rule in most pet friendly hotels.I had emailed them prior to arriving asking if there was a doggy daycare or something like that available but got no reply yet on my checkout when I mentioned no being able to see many attractions nearby because of my dogs the girl THEN said they had a dog-sitter available.. :( wished I had known that before but she apologised profusely even though I am sure it was not her fault .Wine tours and Hearst Castle are nearby so there are many things to do as well as just enjoy this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoliB818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just stayed here for 5 days for our Granddaughters wedding. it was perfect. The customer service was over the top. All the employees could not have been any nicer. All the way from the office help to the maintenance and maids.. Big High five to the Sea Crest!!!
Lamont you were without a doubt the biggest blessing!! All my friends could not get over how helpful and caring you were. Aylisa at the front desk, you always had a smile and were always ready to help. You are top notch. Martin and Borg, you are always helpful and always friendly. Loved Loved Loved our stay. We will be back again. We have been staying here for 40 years and you always step it up another notch.. Thank you for making this special day so special. Big Hugs!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Room 310 has a wonderful ocean view and lots of room. We enjoyed our stay. Easy access
to the beach and a short walk to the Pismo Beach Pier. For a hotel right on the beach, at the price we paid it was a very good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyZeppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We really loved this hotel. The property is beautiful, very clean, modern and doggie friendly. They actually provide a doggie bed and bowls as well as an area for you to walk the dogs. The staff was wonderful. We will definitely go back, it was such a pleasure staying there. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moombachaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stopped here for 1 night on way down route 1 from San Francisco - Los Angeles and a very nice break indeed.

Right on the beach .. the rooms were clean and well presented.

Didn't eat here except for the free continental breakfast which if anything is the only poor thing about it .. but as its free then cant really complain too much.
They had fruit, toast, Danish etc.. the tea/coffee/water was not hot only warm ..

We didn't have a seaview room - maybe worth the $20 extra for one

Only marked sleep as average .. our room was at end of corridor next to ice machine and you could hear it .. also at 3am loud noises (bins collected ??) and then more noises that sounded like electrical things from outside ..

Room Tip: ask for a sea view as the non views all you see is a wall ENSURE you are NOT by the elevator or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perky88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On my way back from visiting a friend in Northern California, I was riding my Motorcycle down the Coast enjoying the super warm weather and incredible views. After a few hours I decided to stop for the night, Looking around I saw the SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel. It turned out to be not only a nice place to rest up from my adventure but a lovely stay. A beautiful view of the Pismo Beach Ocean and a quiet comfortable stay was just what I needed, And that's just what this place delivered. A warm welcome from the "Most helpful front desk person" and I was soon enjoying the splendor of relaxing with an incredible view and nice amenities. The place just has a warm and infectious feel about it and the staff are most helpful. If your passing by on your travels you might want to give it a try, Affordable and accommodating, You really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PB-Drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,189 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Address: 2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £108 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 5-acre oceanfront bluff top our iconic hotel features direct access to the beach, outdoor heated pool and three hot-tubs. Guestrooms have Free WiFi, iPod docking stations, flat-panel HDTVs with DirecTV, complimentary Continental Breakfast and meeting and event space including our roof top terrace with spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Pismo Beach
Seacrest Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Motel Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Sea Crest
Sea Crest Resort Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing