We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic ocean view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Romantic ocean view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Beautiful ocean view from a bluff overlooking the ocean. Fireplace and access to the beach. Nice place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billyd43ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    270
    123
    37
    26
See reviews for
209
378
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The least relaxing experience I had on my three week trip in the U.S. Dirty bed, floor and headbord. It was a door between our room and the room next door - felt like we were sharing the room with stangers as it was so loud and we could hear everything they were saying. Unsanitary, damp bathroom that had a certain distinct smell. The rooom had a kitchen/ hairdryer (!). Our room was located by an gas station - not a green tree or a beach in sight. (The beach is near by, you just couldn't see it from our room or the parking lot). Confused youngsters working behing in the hotel reception. And all this would have been FINE for a one night stayover, if the PRICE hadn't been this STEEP. We were shocked. And haven't felt like talking about it since.

Room Tip: Get a room by the bach at one of those discount offers. Or just don't go at all....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDoughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We at the Spyglass Inn pride ourselves on being able to provide excellent customer service and clean rooms. We understand that your stay may not have been as pleasurable as you would have liked. Our customer service has always been very important to our staff and we strive every day to do our best. All of our rooms are treated with the upmost care as you can read from all of our positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The Spyglass Inn was an excellent value for my wife and I. The scenery is majestic, service outstanding and price was a bargain. The bed was very comfortable. Central location to Central Coast. We plan to go back again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vossroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here on our trip along Highway 1. Parking was easy and we were able to park right outside our hotel room which made bringing the cases in and out really easy. Our room was available on arrival and we found it modern and clean. There was a fridge and coffee maker in the room and we had our own little terrace area although it looked out onto a fence so no view. This also meant that the room was quite dark.
The location is beautiful and the hotel has lovely grounds and gardens with a path you can take down to the beach. We walked along here after breakfast and were lucky enough to see a group of dolphins in the ocean jumping around!
There is a restaurant on site, which we had breakfast in the next morning. This isn't included in the price but you can get a special deal by staying at the hotel.
For dinner, we just wanted a snack and we found a lovely deli shop a couple of minutes walk which sold sandwiches and salads and we would highly recommend.
I would definately recommend this hotel as it is so close to Highway 1 and in a lovely quite location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Em_J4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel three times on our getaways to the Central Coast. The staff is helpful and the rooms are very nice with free wifi. It is centrally located to visit other areas. The restaurant has good food and wonderful ocean views. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Whenever we travel the route from San Francisco to Los Angeles, we plan to stay at the Spyglass Inn. It's about half way, so it's convenient, right off the freeway. But more importantly, we feel at home there. Its appearance attracted us first ... its face is unique -- not that of a typical hotel. Then there was the friendly, helpful greeting at the desk and the warm atmosphere of the lobby. The rooms are clean and neat. Great shower, heated spa and pool are very relaxing. What a view, beautiful walking path and access to the beach! We also had dinner outside at the Spyglass Restaurant to the sounds of the surf. Such a treat. This is a special place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

A double double room with an amazing view of the Pacific. Plenty of space in the room, good bathroom, plenty of closet space. Fantastic restaurant, lovely walk down to the sea for a swim and/or dolphin spotting. A great overnight break between LA and San Francisco, but you must pay the extra to secure a sea view which is really worth it. As this was a stopover for us I cannot advise what the rest of the hotel/service was like, but this really hit the spot after a long but exhilarating day on Highway 1.

Room Tip: Get a sea view or regret not doing so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing