We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel&resturant review”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2012

had a good view of ocean from our room #216.the bed was good t.v good room needed some repairs broken lamp with short in it.lamp on night stand didn't work.sliding closet doors needed new rollers very hard to open and close doors.fan blades needed cleaned or painted maybe both.on top of t.v. cabinet people left empty bottles and half empty ones maid just left them there.i pulled down and put in trash.the restaurant that is there needs some help food not that good and service very slow coffee served cold.tables needed cleaned up instead of leaving dishes and food there for long periods of time.maybe short of help or need bus boys.prices were high on food.we ordered steak and got cube steak not that good.

Room Tip: #216 if they have fixed things i told them about.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigchez11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (873)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 873 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

After a long journey we arrived at the Spyglass inn and were a bit disappointed on the first viewing. It didn't look anything like in the travel agents brochure. Once we were given our rooms things did not improve, our 'bay view' was actually a view of the car park and the adjacent building! After complaining we were moved to better rooms but quickly realised that the only rooms worth having were the ocean view rooms. (All of which were already occupied). All the rest of the rooms might as well be anywhere with a view of a car park and/or road. The pool was also disappointing, a small fenced in area in the middle of the car park. No A/C in the rooms also made for an uncomfortably warm evening. Some good points were that the rooms were spacious with fridges in the rooms. There was also free wi-fi which the kids appreciated and on-demand movies. Very disappointed with this hotel after high expectations as it looked so nice in the brochure!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We ate here on October 14, 2012. If you are headed down the California coast this place is worth stopping for. The food was very good as was the service. I would definitely eat here again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at the Spyglass Inn for 3 nights and had a very enjoyable time. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful ocean view and a sliding door that opened up to a nice outdoor sitting area. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the room was equipped with frig, coffee maker, fireplace, TV and nice bath products. The beach access was a short walk away and we enjoyed strolling on the beach and walking toward San Luis Bay. The Spyglass Inn restaurant offered delicious hearty breakfasts (not complimentary). The Dolphin Bay Resort and Cliff's Resort were located right next door for over twice the cost, and offered the same beautiful ocean view (there were weddings at Dolphin Bay during both days we were there). The Spyglass Inn was definitely showing some wear, and we had problems with doors - the closet sliding door did not slide, the screen was torn on the sliding door to the outside, and the main room door was stuck and had to be closed with much force. The floors were creaky and we could hear noise from the guests above. We were attending Parent Weekend at Cal Poly, so we received a 15% discount on the room rate, which made for a reasonably priced visit to Pismo Beach. Spyglass Inn is definitely not a luxury hotel, but if you're looking for an affordable ocean front property with great views, walking trails, convenient restaurant, and is dog friendly, I would recommend Spyglass Inn.

Room Tip: Highly recommend an ocean-facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KikoSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This property is at best a two star motel. Walls are thin - you can hear everything from other rooms next to you plus what's going on outside. If you have a need for an extra bed - they charge you $10 a night extra and it's a blow up mattress that you have to blow up yourself and put the sheets down too. No A/C, so when it got a little hot, you are stuck. Bed itself is pretty comfortable and the room does not seem dirty. Overall it would have been OK if they charged half of what they did.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictoriaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

We are disappointed that your stay was not more enjoyable. Hopefully during your next visit to Pismo Beach you can enjoy our beautiful remodeled ocean view garden and spectacular restaurant deck. We look forward to being your hospitality provider again here in Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent three days here and will definitely return. The king room was comfortable and clean, and the view is spectacular! Plus, they are dog-friendly -- we have two large dogs. We enjoyed the ocean view, first floor patio, and well-maintained grounds. There's also a good restaurant. The staff are friendly. Amenities include a fireplace and a small refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Well, Maggie was a dream, the entire time; riding in the car for five hours each way, in the room, no barking, no messes, just a Sweetheart. Even at meals that we took at the Spyglass Inn Restaurant, on an outdoor balcony, she sat or lay quietly, no ruckus at all. The other very pleasant surprise, the bed, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home. I made the mistake of specifying a "handicap friendly room" so we did not get one of the rooms we always have before, overlooking the Ocean. We were there at the beginning of October, simultaneously with a heat wave and our room had no A/C. A fan made it somewhat comfortable though. We will go back next March (our thirty-first) Wedding Anniversary as we normally do but missed this year.

Room Tip: Get a room on the West side, the view is the Sea and you can step out through the sliding glass door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,101 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,265 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,203 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £78 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing