We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, A Nice Place!”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff and nice facility. Room view of ocean spectacular. Room and facility well maintained and very clean. Bed really comfortable. Very quiet stay too. WiFi has great reception. Fridge a little loud. Easy access off Hwy 101. Located in north end of Pismo Beach business area, but close to local hangouts and action. A definite must stay facility.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank rleland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

The hotel is directly set at highway 1.. Disadvantages & advantages in one! It's great having your room right after a long travel, but during the night is the traffic too loud. The rooms are old, dark and it smells strange. And it's very noisy too. The guys from the reception are very nice and help you wherever they can. The restaurant (spyglass restaurant) is poor too! Great food is a good price worth, but how much is bad food worth? The restaurant's service doesn't seem very able and the food is bad.
So the only thing you really can enjoy are great view and the close way to the highway 1 to get away!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominicvolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife and I decided to take a 36 hour "summer vacation" to the beach with our two boys. As you can imagine, booking a room 12 hours before you are scheduled to arrive is not easy, but I got lucky with this place. I read some reviews, and decided to give it a try. I was not dissapointed, as the place was exactly as described. The front desk staff was great, the room was clean and big enough for the limited time that we were in it, and the ocean view and access to a semi-private beach was great!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My wife and I had the distinct pleasure of spending our Wedding Aniversary at the nostalgic and picturesque Spyglass Inn. It is an aging, but well maintained Inn situated upon the bluffs overlooking Shell Beach and San Luis Bay. We enjoyed four days and three nights with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and San Luis Bay along with the breathtaking sunsets from our kingside bed or private balcony.
We took all our meals either in our room or on the deck of the Spyglass Resturant. The view from the Resturant is second to none and the cuisine is to die for. I personally recommend the Spyglass Lox platter for breakfast $9.95, although the $5.95 Pancake Breakfast special was delicious. For dinner I also recommend the Calamari steak, lightly tossed in seasoning, flour & sautéed to a golden brown with fresh garlic capers and white wine & lemon sauce - 19.95 It is the most tender and freshest Calamarai you will ever eat. My wife loves seafood so this Resturant was right up her alley. The steaks are good, it's not Jacko's, but you don't have to wait for 2 hours either. They offer an assortment of sandwichs and I did have the Spyglass burger on the Rustic roll and it was a nice change of pace.
The public beach access (a short stroll down the beautiful landscaped path) takes you down to the tide pools and a lovely, uncrowned, wind protected sandy beach. Shell Beach is the Central California coast in microcosm. There are the ancient bluffs and rocky shoals being eroded away by tide and time, but there is also the sandy beach with driftwood, kelp and seaweed washed ashore.
For me this was a trip down nostalgia lane. Ther is no AC, but you don't need it. The Inn is old, but clean and remodeled and you could try to get a room at the hotel next door with the same views for say $800 to 1,000 a night. My wife checked. I reccomend this Inn to anyone who can appreciate what was the most luxurious Inn in Pismo Beach in the 60's and she has not lost her charm, but has aged gracefully.
Also when you book your reservation for dinner on the deck ask for Josh! He was the most personable, knowledgeable and prompt waiter we've ever had and we stay, when out of the country or in Hawaii at Exclussive Resorts.

Room Tip: Rooms with an full ocean view. There are a few larger corner suites, but we stayed on the third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed one night here on our way to our daughters and loved it. It is an older establishment but very nice. We had a king bed that was faced toward the ocean so we could lay in bed and see the ocean. We had a very nice lunch in the restaurant. The staff were very nice and friendly. We plan on stayin


g here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank TERESAhCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Our staff really appreciates your warm comments about your stay. We thank you for your stay and look forward to seeing you and your family upon your return to Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Not a big deal if your wife is not 8 months pregnant. Upon check in I was assured I could have as many fans as I wanted. Using fans for cooling is appropriate when staying at a seaside cabana. This hotel has all the charm of a motel 6 at 5 times the price I can hear every shower in the building and every foot fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew62463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best hospitality experience of any hotel in Pismo Beach. Please contact me directly so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night heading north to visit some relatives for the 4th of July. I wish we stayed for more nights. The hotel is awesome and on the north end of Pismo. The south end is the main city and where the crowds are. This place is right on the bluff overlooking the beach and has a nice walkway along the bluffs. Public access to the beach was right down the courtyard and the room we got, king with a fireplace and ocean view was will worth the price.

I would have given it a excellent rating except the room was a bit messy (not really bad at all) and the cleaning crew missed the gum some idiot left in the shower (not the cleaning crews or hotels fault). other than that I cannot mark down anything on this place. awesome place for the romantic getaway. There was a pool but that was for the kids and families I guess the ocean was right there. The places around this place were twice as much per night as this one so for the money you cannot beat it.

Room Tip: The hotel has a restaurant which was OK but across the street is a wine/deli/store that had awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plnrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for spending your holiday with us. I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations in every way. Based on your feedback, we have resolved the problem on this particular room. We hope that you will consider returning in the future. If so, please contact me directly so that I may give you my personal guarantee of your full satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,272 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,504 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,202 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,193 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £86 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing