We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inner Quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Templeton, California
1 review
“Inner Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Going through radiation becomes stressful...frightening, facing the unknown. As I passed the Inn every day for my treatments, having lunch at the Spyglass Restaurant sometimes, I decided to treat myself to three nights. The staff was friendly, the room comfy and cozy, and the view of the ocean was so beautiful and calming. I didn't realize how much those three days of quiet beauty would help heal me and ease my way. My husband and I plan to return for a stay once I regain my health; and I am sure we will enjoy our stay even more. Everything you need is right there - lovely room, a view of the sea, access to the beach, a first-class bar and restaurant you can just stroll over to. And you could hear each individual wave as you drifted off to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor, maybe toward the center, for they have the best view from the slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    270
    123
    37
    26
See reviews for
209
378
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent a couple days at the Spyglass Inn in Pismo Beach, Ca., during valentines week 2014. The room was very nice with a balcony that had a view of the ocean to die for. Sitting on the balcony, having a glass of wine with my sweet heart of 30 year, listening to sound of crashing waves under the light of a full moon, life could not be better. The staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful with all our needs. The food at the Spyglass Restaurant was surprising good. I want to give a shout out, on a good job, by our dinner waiter Josh and our breakfast waitress Kelley. They were both very friendly and good at their jobs. We look forward to staying at the Spyglass Inn again very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor with Ocean view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I stayed at Spyglass Inn for over 30--years for business and pleasure. After retiring in 2009 I still make a point to stay at Spyglass when we travel. A great value, excellent customer service & staff. Jim & Jason the hotel managers are always there for your needs and make a point to accomodate you as best as they can. Great place and we can hardly wait to return for a stay!

Room Tip: I recommend the west facing building with ocean views. Down stairs have fireplaces with a patio and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I would venture to say that this is one of the last affordable places to stay in Shell Beach with such an amazing view too! The rooms look like they have been recently updated and they all seem to come with a balcony or deck. Although we weren't promised an ocean view, we had one from our deck. What a pleasant surprise. The restaurant on site had great food. We ate there for every meal. Don't let the cliché, dated décor scare you away! The restaurant also had wonderful ocean views! There service was good too. Overall we had a great experience.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the parkinglot/pool area. I would request a room that looks out to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALC181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, CA, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

When I drive north up California 101, which runs along the Pacific ocean and where I get marvelous ocean views and scenery, I love to stay at the Spyglass Inn in Pismo Beach. I have been going there for years and every room that I have stayed in there has had a marvelous view of the ocean which is only about 100 yards outside your balcony, which lets you hear the waves if you leave the door open. Or, if you want to get closer to the ocean, there is a path to walk, which is just above the sandy beach. I like the restaurant that is also on the grounds where you can eat inside or on the porch. Service in both the motel and the restaurant is very good. I also like that there is a well stocked wine store just a short walk from the motel. The clerks there will guide you to good cheap wine, or if you prefer, very good expensive wine for special occasions. Don't miss staying at the Spyglass Inn if you are going that way. For me and my family staying at the Spyglass Inn at Pismo Beach has become a wonderful tradition full of wonderful memories.

Room Tip: I prefer to stay on the second floor because the rooms are a little quieter and the view is best the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel has amazing views and a great location....However is dirty, dated, and not well cleaned. Check in was a breeze. But after looking around, I was disappointed and grossed out. I found left over hairs in the sheets, a lamp shade that was 1/2 stained w something spilled all over it, tons of dirt and debris underneath the bathroom sink, bedding that's was ripped and torn. If your gonna fork over the cash to stay at a hotel by the beach. .go somewhere else

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TellinDaTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I am so sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. My staff and I reviewed each of your comments and we have taken appropriate action to resolve each issue. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience. Please contact me directly so I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction. Jason Gentry 805-773-4855
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My hubby and I traveled there in November for our first getaway without our kids. It was EXACTLY what we needed. Our room was lovely, and the guest services people were incredibly accommodating. I had asked for an upgraded room when none appeared during booking, and they suggested the perfect room but allowed me to apply a web discount price that should not have been available. Then when I wanted to have wine delivered to my room upon arrival, they gladly walked across the street to buy it for me and had it waiting and perfectly arranged. We went on the wine tasting trip they recommended as well, and it was amazing. We dined in the restaurant for most meals, and the food was delicious and service spectacular. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms ALL have great views at a fraction of the price of the fancy resorts on either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing