We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not meet expectations”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I really do not enjoy writing a bad review, but I have to say that this experience simply did not meet expectations. I am sure that if you book a room facing the ocean, many of the issues simply would not seem so bad. We still paid over $200 (including tax) per night, for a mediocre motel experience. The check in was efficient but certainly not personal or friendly, our room smelled musty and unpleasant, with a vague aroma of vomit. I asked to change rooms and was informed there were not other rooms available - instead personal delivery of a room freshener spray. Second night certainly smelled better, but the carpets need a really thorough clean - they are dirty. Upon check out I was hoping for "how was your stay?" but this did not happen.I also requested a change of room for the second night, but that was not possible either. The decor is pleasant, and the Philosophy products are a nice touch, and had I paid $120 a night my review may be slightly better, but honestly over $200 for this is simply too much. A little more customer service would also go a long way.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review about our property. We clearly failed to meet your expectations during your stay. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay so I may resolve it to your complete satisfaction. Jason Gentry 805-773-4855.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were travelling from SF to San Diego and this hotel seemed to be the perfect place on the water front. But our room was on the 101 front, with nothing special. Could have been anywhere ... Very disapointing. Good breakfast, in the restaurant where this time we could enjoy the see view ...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here for one night as we travel down from Monterrey to LA as part of our tour of California. This is definitely the lower end of the hotels we stayed out of the 10 so we used whilst we were in the US. Though you should not take this as meaning it is a bad hotel, it's not. It met our expectations as a motel with a fantastic location to suit those of us doing the pacific highway. We chose before we came out to go for the slightly cheaper option here as it was a pit-stop.

We had a room at the back of the car park with a small balcony overlooking the adjacent hotel. This wasn't great with no AC. We had to have the balcony door open during the night to allow some air into the room and we got woken very early in the morning with the hotel next door having is bins emptied.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening we arrived... What a view!!! A massive plus for the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and polite though we did feel that this was partly been put onto make up what was actually quite poor service in that they clearly didn't have enough staff on or were having problems in the kitchen even though the restaurant was quite quiet. That said we really enjoyed our meal and we were in no rush, when we could watch the sunset over the ocean. The waiter did also recommend some very good beer as well which is always another plus for me.

Positives for the hotel; good parking, good location to the highway, for those of you lucky enough to get a room facing the ocean I'm sure that is a massive bonus too.

Negatives, no A/C, has an impersonal motel type feel.

Reading the other reviews on here I really don't get the people saying it's really poor like wise I also don't understand the people are saying is the best. For me it does what it says on the tin, and met our expectations with the exception of air conditioning.

I would recommend this hotel to those of you doing this Pacific Coast Highway and I would stay at this hotel again if I was in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed here on our way from San Francisco to San Diego. Reading other reviews, some of the gripes seem a little unnecessary, we travelled around the states, and stayed in 12 different hotels, and this one was great. We had a room facing the ocean, with a small patio outside, and the view was great. We needed the ceiling can to keep the room cool, but that was sufficient. We were able to walk down onto the beach from our room, and enjoyed the pol,and jacuzzi at the hotel. For dinner, we drove a short distance down the road to a local pub where we had a great meal. In the morning, we took advantage of the breakfast deal, and it was well worth the money. Especially good for me was he toiletries, I love philosophy products, so was delighted with these!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SJBTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Spyglass Inn at Pismo Beach for one night and we were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful full ocean. The room was very clean overall and the beds were very comfortable. The staff however proved to be somewhat helpful but in our opinion they could have a been a little more friendly. Breakfast wise?...... Not impressed at all, they lacked in both variety and piece range frankly! But their private walk near the beach was breathtaking and the fresh air was just what we needed to complete our stay. Overall, we would definitely stay again but our advice is to eat at a better breakfast place in Pismo!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Pismo was a one night stop for us between SF and LA, but I was so pleased with our stay at The Spyglass Inn! We arrived later than expected, yet still greeted with a very welcoming gentleman who even took the courtesy of offering us cookies and was very helpful with dinner options. The rooms were very spacious and homely, with stunning views of the ocean. We even spotted a few whales! If Pismo wasn't so far from home I would love to spend more time with this hotel to relax. The breakfast at Spyglass Restaurant was also very tasty with breathtaking views by the beach.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank shw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In fairness, it's a very busy time of year in Pismo. We ended up in a double queen end unit close to the highway. We got a room with a balcony, and the way the hotel is situated we could also see a peek of the ocean so were happy. The bad news is we quickly realized their was no AC. Opening the windows barely helped and in doing so we could hear every bit of roadnoise imaginable. The toilet also leaked all night so the next morning we asked the front desk about moving and paid to upgrade to ocean front hoping that would help. The views are beautiful, but ironically there is no ocean breeze to cool your room unless you also open the room door. Even that doesn't cool the room. We slept with slider open and one night there was pot smoking on the balcony below us, 2 nights we heard people on the adjacent balcony talking at 12:45 am. And you can't close the slider without it getting really stuffy (high in PB was 79 during our stay, so it wasn't even very hot and hard to cool down the room)

On the plus side they have nice philosophy product and waffle robes. Housekeeping was very nice.

On the minus side there are no in-room safes, laundry bags or AC - normal hotel amenities. The pool was in an odd place compared with the SeaCrest or Best Western and was very cloudy so we didn't use, but did use the very hot jacuzzi.

The breakfast for $5.95 includes applewood bacon, 2 eggs and pancakes. Such a bummer that you can't substitute their awesome sourdough toast, you have to pay $2 extra. Apparently all the bread is made there and it's a highlight.

We normally stay at the SeaCrest Hotel and have also had a very good experience at the Best Western Cliffs and would definitely stay at either of those places over this one. It's not that it's not trying to be nice, it just falls short.

Room Tip: Ocean front is the only way to avoid 101 road noise. There are only 2 levels in that building, so g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfromthebayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £88 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing