We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Apart from the sea view (that's if you are lucky enough to get one of the rooms with a balcony overlooking the sea) this motel style inn has little to recommend it other than being conveniently near the highway. First impressions were poor the outside looked run down as was the reception area and the receptionist was not smartly turned out. The rooms were old fashioned, decorated with a brown colour palette which with heavy furnishings made the rooms dark and uninviting. Everything looked past it's best. The place is in dire need of a complete refurbishment and if done out in a clean bright palette of nautical colours with modern furnishings could be very attractive. The evening meal in the restaurant was probably the worst of our entire trip although the stunning sea view from the outside deck was some compensation. Breakfast was OK although the service was a bit slow. All in all I would not go back, pity as the place could be attractive if given the right makeover.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ojelliven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our staff apologizes for not meeting your expectations. Please contact me directly so that we can discuss your stay together and I can resolve any concerns you may have to your full satisfaction. Thank you Jason Gentry 805-773-4855

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a repeat visit for us. We were here a few years ago and came back. It is a great hotel right near the water. Our room was comfortable. There is no a/c but you really don't need it. We opened the sliding glass doors, where we could see the ocean and used the floor fan to pull in the cooler air. It was delightful and very quiet. There is a fridge under the counter, which is very convenient. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms with full-on views of the ocean are more expensive, but we had a view for less money and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us again, Lisa. We, too, find that the cool ocean air does make it relaxing and, of course, you cannot beat the view. We really appreciate that you chose to return to the Spyglass Inn. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Spyglass for two nights with our 5 year old and 2 year old children. The room is pretty basic but clean and everything you need for brief stay. We had a sea view which is definitely worth the extra as we sat on the balcony while children asleep! The restaurant is good and there is a great deli next door to petrol garage where you can pick up breakfast or wine!
Pool is small but fine. Very close to San Luis Obispo town which is about 5 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room. The ground floor rooms would allow more space if you have children as they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Muzzalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Our staff is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Spyglass Inn. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guests. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the drive down the coast from San Francisco. The first thing to stay is that only about a third of the rooms overlook the sea. For the rest it's just like staying in any other motel in America. The rooms as average and could do with an upgrade. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was average but the views over the ocean were stunning (we sat outside). Had it not been for the view I would probably not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Spyglass Inn. My staff and I are happy that you enjoyed the view from our ocean front restaurant. We are also pleased to report that our Design Team is planning a full remodel of our hotel in the near future. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I really do not enjoy writing a bad review, but I have to say that this experience simply did not meet expectations. I am sure that if you book a room facing the ocean, many of the issues simply would not seem so bad. We still paid over $200 (including tax) per night, for a mediocre motel experience. The check in was efficient but certainly not personal or friendly, our room smelled musty and unpleasant, with a vague aroma of vomit. I asked to change rooms and was informed there were not other rooms available - instead personal delivery of a room freshener spray. Second night certainly smelled better, but the carpets need a really thorough clean - they are dirty. Upon check out I was hoping for "how was your stay?" but this did not happen.I also requested a change of room for the second night, but that was not possible either. The decor is pleasant, and the Philosophy products are a nice touch, and had I paid $120 a night my review may be slightly better, but honestly over $200 for this is simply too much. A little more customer service would also go a long way.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review about our property. We clearly failed to meet your expectations during your stay. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay so I may resolve it to your complete satisfaction. Jason Gentry 805-773-4855.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were travelling from SF to San Diego and this hotel seemed to be the perfect place on the water front. But our room was on the 101 front, with nothing special. Could have been anywhere ... Very disapointing. Good breakfast, in the restaurant where this time we could enjoy the see view ...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stopped off here for one night as we travel down from Monterrey to LA as part of our tour of California. This is definitely the lower end of the hotels we stayed out of the 10 so we used whilst we were in the US. Though you should not take this as meaning it is a bad hotel, it's not. It met our expectations as a motel with a fantastic location to suit those of us doing the pacific highway. We chose before we came out to go for the slightly cheaper option here as it was a pit-stop.

We had a room at the back of the car park with a small balcony overlooking the adjacent hotel. This wasn't great with no AC. We had to have the balcony door open during the night to allow some air into the room and we got woken very early in the morning with the hotel next door having is bins emptied.

We ate in the restaurant on the evening we arrived... What a view!!! A massive plus for the hotel. The staff were incredibly friendly and polite though we did feel that this was partly been put onto make up what was actually quite poor service in that they clearly didn't have enough staff on or were having problems in the kitchen even though the restaurant was quite quiet. That said we really enjoyed our meal and we were in no rush, when we could watch the sunset over the ocean. The waiter did also recommend some very good beer as well which is always another plus for me.

Positives for the hotel; good parking, good location to the highway, for those of you lucky enough to get a room facing the ocean I'm sure that is a massive bonus too.

Negatives, no A/C, has an impersonal motel type feel.

Reading the other reviews on here I really don't get the people saying it's really poor like wise I also don't understand the people are saying is the best. For me it does what it says on the tin, and met our expectations with the exception of air conditioning.

I would recommend this hotel to those of you doing this Pacific Coast Highway and I would stay at this hotel again if I was in the area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,103 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,204 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £78 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing