We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,278)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveller rating
634
398
162
51
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
634
398
162
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean view on site restaurant avila beach walking path tide pools parking lot beach access fire pit balcony door great view first floor central coast the cliff watch the sunset coffee maker bed was very comfortable great room
Filter
Updating list...
776 - 781 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This was a repeat visit for us. We were here a few years ago and came back. It is a great hotel right near the water. Our room was comfortable. There is no a/c but you really don't need it. We opened the sliding glass doors, where we could see the ocean and used the floor fan to pull in the cooler air. It was delightful and very quiet. There is a fridge under the counter, which is very convenient. The rooms are a little dated but comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms with full-on views of the ocean are more expensive, but we had a view for less money and for one night it was perfect.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us again, Lisa. We, too, find that the cool ocean air does make it relaxing and, of course, you cannot beat the view. We really appreciate that you chose to return to the Spyglass Inn. We will look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Spyglass for two nights with our 5 year old and 2 year old children. The room is pretty basic but clean and everything you need for brief stay. We had a sea view which is definitely worth the extra as we sat on the balcony while children asleep! The restaurant is good and there is a great deli next door to petrol garage where you can pick up breakfast or wine!
Pool is small but fine. Very close to San Luis Obispo town which is about 5 minutes drive away.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room. The ground floor rooms would allow more space if you have children as they can play outside.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Muzzalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Our staff is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Spyglass Inn. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms for all of our guests. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the drive down the coast from San Francisco. The first thing to stay is that only about a third of the rooms overlook the sea. For the rest it's just like staying in any other motel in America. The rooms as average and could do with an upgrade. We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was average but the views over the ocean were stunning (we sat outside). Had it not been for the view I would probably not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Worthmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your review of the Spyglass Inn. My staff and I are happy that you enjoyed the view from our ocean front restaurant. We are also pleased to report that our Design Team is planning a full remodel of our hotel in the near future. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I really do not enjoy writing a bad review, but I have to say that this experience simply did not meet expectations. I am sure that if you book a room facing the ocean, many of the issues simply would not seem so bad. We still paid over $200 (including tax) per night, for a mediocre motel experience. The check in was efficient but certainly not personal or friendly, our room smelled musty and unpleasant, with a vague aroma of vomit. I asked to change rooms and was informed there were not other rooms available - instead personal delivery of a room freshener spray. Second night certainly smelled better, but the carpets need a really thorough clean - they are dirty. Upon check out I was hoping for "how was your stay?" but this did not happen.I also requested a change of room for the second night, but that was not possible either. The decor is pleasant, and the Philosophy products are a nice touch, and had I paid $120 a night my review may be slightly better, but honestly over $200 for this is simply too much. A little more customer service would also go a long way.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is the way to go
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Abbe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review about our property. We clearly failed to meet your expectations during your stay. Please contact me directly to discuss your stay so I may resolve it to your complete satisfaction. Jason Gentry 805-773-4855.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were travelling from SF to San Diego and this hotel seemed to be the perfect place on the water front. But our room was on the 101 front, with nothing special. Could have been anywhere ... Very disapointing. Good breakfast, in the restaurant where this time we could enjoy the see view ...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews