We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views, Good Location, Nice Rooms & One Rude Deskclerk”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Clemente
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Views, Good Location, Nice Rooms & One Rude Deskclerk”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

A bunch of us were meeting in the Central Coast Area for a special 3-day family occasion and checked with the Spyglass Inn for availability on 6 or 7 rooms. I had stayed there a couple of times before and had enjoyed my stay. They had the rooms available and offered us a special rate so we committed. Four of us arrived for two of the rooms and found that one of the rooms was a King, but we needed a room with 2 separate beds.

We were working with a desk clerk (Levi) to correct the error when another desk clerk (John) approached the desk and overheard our conversation. He immediately interrupted and asked if we were with the `special rate' party. I replied that we were and he shouts out that they were to do no favors for guests at that rate. It was a slightly embarrassing situation and we didn't want to make waves in fear of spoiling it for our other friends as they arrived so we accepted the room (figuring we would check again the next day hoping rude John wouldn't be around). When we got back to the car, we explained to my 83 year old mother that she would be in a room on the other side of the motel grounds and would have to share a bed with our friend. We told her we would try to change the situation the next morning and she took it in stride, being happy to just spend some time with the family on this special occasion.

We were able to get adjoining rooms the following morning and did enjoy time with the family, but will remember John's rude and demeaning attitude, thinking twice about Spyglass In ofor our next stay on the Central Coast.

BTW... Not only did our group utilize 7 (possibly unsold) rooms, our group and our local living friends and family ate breakfasts and dinner at their restaurant and patronized the bar.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalifBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2011
Our staff at the Spyglass Inn is dissapointed to hear of a bad experience with one of our staff members. Our guest service staff is one of our most complimented features of our establishment. We hope to be able to provide improved hospitality in the future. Every comment helps up improve on a day to day basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    276
    125
    37
    27
See reviews for
220
384
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
massagemaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

great location, great room, super clean...friendly staff..no problems at all.. get an oceanview room.. its worth it

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank massagemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Good room, nice service great jacuzzi, helpful at the lobby, and surprising calm for a full weekend. Everyone must be out enjoying the town and beaches, and butterflies! Good price benefit ratio. On the negative side we had no warm water the last morning. Nevertheless we are coming back!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SchweizYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2010

We had a very lovely stay at the Spyglass Inn. Jennifer at the front desk was most professional, friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheesha62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, 26 December 2010
We are so glad you discovered the Spyglass Inn. I'm also so glad to hear our friendly staff was able to accommodate your every need; that is what we are here for!
We look forward to hosting your stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Great location, friendly staff, reasonable price, clean room.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I planned this for my husbands birthday. He was so surprised. The stay was just wonderful, right down to the staff evryone was very courteous, and attentive to our needs. location of the spa and pool just across from the rooms, also provided very nice robes to walk around in. During the evening we walked outside the room and looked up at the stars (so beautiful). We were just on cloud 9. Beds confortable, had a fireplace in the room. No words can describe how romantic this was for the both of us. Also right near the freeway. very accessible.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelors097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

This was a perfect place to stay for 3 nights, the location is perfect close to the university but down by the water. The fancy hotels are all around you but this price was the best value! The walk by the Inn is spectacular. You can walk down to the beach! The sunset's so amazing! I would return! And the restaurant was lovely for brunch too! Oh and I thought the rooms were clean and very charming! And the staff very friendly! it's right off the highway but it certainly was not noisy.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing