We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest and most comfortable pet friendly hotel we have ever stayed at and we travel a lot.”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Sandcastle Inn was a very pleasant surprise for a pet friendly hotel. The room was quite clean, decorated nicely, did not smell at all like other hotels' "dog" rooms, was nice and fresh, and the staff and service were wonderful. There was even a dog water bowl and a bag of dog treats to welcome our two little well-traveled dogs in our room upon our arrival. The breakfast was great too. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonFromLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,166)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,166 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Sandcastle many times over the course of 7 years (more than 10) and each stay has been outstanding!! The hotel staff are always courteous, down to earth and very accommodating. Roger (the manager) is very engaged with ensuring all guests receive world-class service and will even provide local wines (Edna Valley Paragon Chardonnay...MMMMMM!!) prior to arrival.

I must say that this property is quite pricey compared to others in the area but the good things in life are usually worth it! Don't skimp.......get one of the oceanfront rooms! You simply can't beat waking up to the sound of the waves crashing outside your private balcony/lanai and that fresh, cool ocean air.

Did I mention, free delicious breakfast with freshly made waffles, delicious pastries and fresh fruit. Local gourmet coffees too!
Clean rooms, impeccable service and free warm cookies every evening.

Without a doubt, the Sandcastle is the best property on the Central Coast of California!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTODOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed 2 nights in September and had agreat stay. Unbeleivable location best in town. Lovely sea view from room, car park, wi-fi, adequate breakfast all included. Would reccomend and stay again

Room Tip: get a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audiman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Not what I expected-bit said okay we'll manage. Bed soft, old, lumpy and uncomfortable. Breakfast: all carb -- looked liked others were enjoying it. Front Desk agents: crabby don't like being there. Left the room at 7:30 am .. You would expect the room to be done by 2:30 pm-- but it wasn't. Had to call agent made an excuse and 2 hours later still waiting - I will not be staying here again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveledKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Wonderful location right on the beach. Rooms are clean, bed is comfortable, both feather and foam pillows. Staff (especially Terri) are friendly and especially welcoming to dogs, even gave a map to dog-friendly restaurants in town. Continental breakfast is the usual yogurt, breads, make your own waffles, nothing special but coffee was great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Options for pet-friendly-ocean-front-lodging in the Pismo Beach area proved scarce, so we were quite pleasantly surpised with the Sandcastle. In town for a wedding, Pismo proved to be quaint and quite charming. The hotel design and rooms are nice, but by no means opulent. However, the overall atmosphere of the venue is quite upscale, owing primarily to the excellent location & marvelous staff. They proved helpful throughout our stay and their restaurant recommendations were detailed and spot on. The Sandcastle's dining area is lovely - nothing like breakfast in front of a fire overlooking the Pacific! I especially enjoyed walking on the beach and hiking the sand dunes to the south of the Sandcastle. We offered such rave reviews about the Sandcastle at the wedding reception that my husband's aunt packed her bags and relocated to the Sandcastle for the remainder of her stay!

Room Tip: Beachfront room was heavenly...well worth the additional cost.
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyTheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked a room at this hotel with only 2 days notice for 1 night stay during the week. I had never stayed in an oceanroom view before and requested that my room be upgraded if available. To my surprise, upon my arrival, I was greeted at the front desk by Terri, a friendly associate who informed me that she had upgraded my room to a full oceanview room. This was such a happy surprise! Thank you Sandcastle in for accomodating such a request. The room was perfect, peaceful and beautiful. Enjoyed complimentary breakfast with an oceanfront view :=)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busymommy559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £123 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing