We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt I was part of the morning's surf school”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Felt I was part of the morning's surf school”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Right on the beach. Perfect balcony location to watch the sunset...or just to watch the goings-on on the beach. Only drawback was the first floor location which opened right onto the boardwalk & passers-by....so felt like everything needed to be securely locked up (2nd floor or 3rd floor would probably be better). Room was a good size with 2 queen beds. Bathroom a bit small & a bit dated - we were there only for 1 night so a longer stay with 4 people in the room would have really tested the bathroom's capacity, especially given the amount of sand that comes in every time the kids comes back from the beach.
But this is the good thing about this hotel - the fact that it IS right on the beach. You step out right onto the sand. Spending an afternoon & morning walking on the sand, swimming the cold waters & enjoying the pier & everything it had to offer made us feel so refreshed & re-energised it felt like we had stayed longer!
The check-in was extremely fast & efficient. The staff were anticipating our arrival & offered suggestions for dinner etc which we took them up on & weren't disappointed. Breakfast left us somewhat lacking - there is a fair amount on offer but the number of people there & the self service aspect makes it very downmarket. Nonetheless, it was some food to get you going.
We woke up with the surf school/lifesaving school going through their training right outside our balcony which was awesome to watch upclose. Good hotel, great location. We'd recommend AND stay again.

Room Tip: Ocean Front - second or third floor of main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40fusDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    297
    108
    30
    18
See reviews for
380
494
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We found the Sandcastle Inn to be a great place to stay on our short vacation to Pismo Beach. The room was spacious, clean, and everything worked. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

The location of the Sandcastle Inn is very convenient too. It's right on the beach and only a short walk to the main pier, shopping, and restaurants.

We will definitely be staying there again when we visit Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in a partial view room, which is on the south side of the complex. However, I would advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLWebDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had an oceanfront suite, 3rd floor, main building. I agree with reviewer below, some mildly annoying quirks here that would be very annoying if it wasn't on the beach. First of all, by suite i mean just a big room. No a/c and none of the windows open so you have no choice but to sleep with balcony slider open. Even so, room was very stuffy, we ended up propping open the room door until bedtime for cross ventilation. Also weird, our room was the only one on the floor where it's outside, so you need a room key to get ice. Room was basically clean, but could have used more attention to detail given the >$350/night rate. At least parking & breakfast were included. Tiny, slow elevator means you will keep in shape running up & down stairs. It's really about location here, we certainly enjoyed whale watching and sunset from the balcony. Front desk staff were efficient. Very comfy bed, very uncomfy sofabed for daughter. Would return at a time when rates are lower, otherwise would be more into checking out other beachfront hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exNYfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Sandcastle Inn from the service, the location of the hotel and the location of our room. We were given a room on the 3rd floor with two queen sized beds and a "partial view", but even with the partial view we could see the ocean and pier from our bed. The hotel even arranged for us to have perfect weather, coming from 108 degrees to the seventies at the beach. The breakfast was good and sufficient. I do agree that the room where you make the waffles was a bit crowded, but it worked out. The hotel also provided you with daily apples and cookies and a newspaper. Please note that there is no A/C, but the fan they provided you with was sufficient. The service staff was wonderful, keeping our room clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There is an observation deck on the 3rd floor where you can sit on beautiful couches and look at the ocean or at night hear the waves. All and all we hope to definitely go back.

Room Tip: I would recommend that you stay on the 3rd floor with at least a "partial view" and you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glo074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We absolutely loved the location of the Sandcastle Inn, right on the beach and walking distance from the pier and everything cool right in downtown Pismo. Our room was in the Annex building but we still had an ocean view which our family loves.

Rooms were clean and functional with a great balcony.

The quirks: Our balcony was shared with the unit next door and was far less than private. While this is not a huge deal our neighbors spent, literally, ten minutes trying to lock their balcony's screen door as if we were going to just hop the small partition and welcome ourselves in. The sad part is the screen doors don't lock because the lock hardware was installed backwards. It's sad because the outside temp is perfect and it would be nice to be able to leave the slider open wile gone.

The Annex building had this weird temperamental elevator that required your room key to operate. Sometimes you'd get in hit the floor (in our case, 3), the doors would close and then nothing would happen. Once it even left a family of four stranded on the third floor with the luggage cart full of their stuff and they had to hand carry their luggage down abandoning the cart up there. We reported it but they claimed it was user error. Not cool.

My son does not want to share a bed with me (I don't blame him) so we tried to get him a roll-away. They didn't have any and they gave him an Aero bed the first night. Unfortunately it was almost flat by morning. The next night they gave him another blow up bed which also went flat. Oddly they didn't take away the Aero bed so we had this extra thing in our room which was a pain. They finally had a roll-away and delivered, however it sagged so much int he middle that his back hurt int he morning.

The breakfast area was great. Often there isn't enough seating especially when the staff hoses all the outside tables and chairs off during breakfast time leaving half of the available seating wet and unusable.

Hopefully we will stay here again becasue I love the area and the fact that it's right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Located steps from the sand, this is the place you want to stay! Breakfast is included as well as a fantastic view from the breakfast area and observation deck. Nice soft, clean linens and large towels to spoil you. Walking distance to shopping and eatting. We enjoyed whale watching as we ate breakfast too! No air conditioning in our room, however ocean breeze did the job. Very comfortable, safe place to stay. Staff members are helpful if you need something.

Room Tip: I would ask for ocean view with a balcony. You pay a little more but well worth the privacy and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mydragonfly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I wish I could have stayed longer, but my recent 2 night stay featured a large and clean room, good customer service when I lost my key, an abundant free breakfast (but I didn't like the coffee!) AND the location is awesome. Literally, on the beach, yet also just a block from the charming shops and restaurants of Pismo. For a Thur/Fri night in high season August, the price was also quite fair. Thanks Sandcastle Inn - I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OaksSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing