We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a wonderful place to stay - we really enjoy it.”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We stay in an ocean view room which is just lovely and very comfortable. The hotel location is a plus because it's possible to walk everywhere, including the pier, shops and restaurants. Every staff member is friendly and helpful. I cannot think of anything that should be improved, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustCelebrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

The rooms were very clean and well decorated, with a swell spa. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. That's were I'll stay at the coast next time I need to escape the Fresno heat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitebobFresnoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Clean room. Located right on the beach. Hotel team very helpful. Taught us about tri-tip and their restaurant recommendations were very good. An excellent choice overall. On site parking and no additional charge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveLoveEatWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at Sandcastle Inn in June of 2009. This hotel is right on the beach. It has incredible views and is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. There is a yogurt place where you can build your own creation...yum!!! The staff here are very friendly and helpful and the cookies were to die for. This hotel was not for us. We moved after one night. Most reviews say the room was clean but I didn't feel that way. It smelled musty from the get go and it was hot due to no ac. We did have a sliding glass door and the view was gorgeous but it was not worth the 200+ per night to stay just for the view. We had a room right next to the outdoor deck and the maids began moving chairs at 7 a.m. and it was LOUD. The breakfast was well laid out and had a good selection. Parking was kind of cramped. We moved up the road to SLO and drove down to the beach and to eat each day. We loved the town of Pismo Beach, it was very small and relaxing. We didn't bring our laptop but I heard they had high speed internet. They didn't however have a computer on property for us to access.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nmnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Great location right on the oceanfront. You are steps away from the sand, a gorgeous fishing pier, restaurants and local shops. Check in was a breeze and we were even offered fresh baked cookies before taking our luggage to our room. We booked the full oceanview room with fireplace and king bed. Everything in the room was very clean and in working condition. The view was wonderful. It was a little stuffy with no A/C during the day (but we are from the east coast with 100% humidity and spent most of the day on the beach anyway), but at night we left the balcony sliding glass doors open and it cooled right off. Breakfast in the morning was great It is self serve with a variety of fruits, cereal, muffins and breads. The only thing we missed was bacon and sausage. The lobby and dining are were clean and laid back. with beautiful lower and upper level balconies over looking the oceanfront and pier. The staff were very helpful and accomodating and the general manager even offered suggestions and helped us find fourwheeling rentals, horseback riding and other activities. The town over all is very laid back and a cute beach town. I would recommend this hotel for a couple trying to get away from the hussle and bussle and want a relaxing, laid back atmosphere with plenty of small town shops and resteraunts.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bchblnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We've been coming here for over 10 years now and love it! Pet friendly! The beach is only a few steps away and our Beauty loves it!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Been going there for years, and thats before living in CA! This place is right on the beach... great access to downtown (walking). For us the area appears safe and clean. Never an issue. During the off season drop in and make a bargin! Walk-ins are a great way for a nice surprise on value! For the first time, just stayed with a new pet we purchased (Pet friendly)... I never would have known that it was a PF hotel since the design has the animals on the outer edge rooms (Great!) and even staying in those rooms this last time was very good. What brings me back? The location, the value, the staff, the fun! Billards in town is a blast, adn the new mexican food place up there is great!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craknzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,761 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
857 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £126 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing