We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super charming, beautiful view, would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Super charming hotel in Pismo Beach with an amazing view. Stayed here with my young children (aged 5 & 10) for a weekend getaway. Paid upper rate for first floor, ocean view room and it was worth it. Amazing location & views; easy walk down the cliff path to the beach. Cold breakfast bar was convenient, but no hot food. Remodeled room was clean, comfortable, and well attended by housekeeping staff each day. Pool is modest but who needs it with the beach and killer view? Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
There are newer reviews for Cottage Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

835 - 841 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Staff were extremely helpful, the view was amazing, and the room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace in the room was nice on cool mornings and evenings. The location is great and easy to get off and on the freeway. Yes, the furnishings are a little dated, but overall a good deal. The pool is very small but it was not a priority for us. There are several small wine shops in the downtown area that had music and good wine (walking distance). Yes, would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursejan0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

I read the reviews before booking and was impressed so I was surprised when we walked into the room. The location is the only thing good about this hotel. The furnishings are old, the carpets dirty, there was a hole in the wall in the bathroom where the hairdryer was supposed to be, we heard the water running through the pipes from the bathroom upstairs. Our room was next to the neighboring hotel and the walls were paper thin, lots of noise. NO air conditioning in room. As the previous reviewer mentioned, over $300 for a disgusting room is totally ridiculous.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andovertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations. I and my staff always strive to provide friendly service and clean and comfortable accommodations. If you decide to come back to the area, please feel free to call me directly. I promise that you will not be disappointed on your next visit.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The view is amazing, although there are 3-5 hotels that share the same view and maybe for less money. We stayed on a busy weekend and paid more $300/night. For a queen bed, tight room and small pool I thought it was way overpriced. The pools at the other nearby hotels are better. Some of the other hotels also have grills you can use.

The hotel is certainly quaint and the seating area outside (on the cliff overlooking the ocean) is nice. The breakfast is decent (think Holiday Inn style breakfast bar with make your own waffles and yoghurt).

The rooms could stand a serious update. Little tips- like painting the doors, offering shampoo and conditioner of a brand name, etc., would go a long way to make this hotel more desirable.

If you don't pay a lot, you won't be disappointed- it is a great location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoppertoneButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

After having a great experience at the Pacifica Suites in Goleta/Santa Barbara with my small dog, I was surprised at how badly the pet-friendly room at the Cottage Inn by the Sea smelled. If I hadn't arrived so late in the evening, I would have tried for another room or hotel. A previous stay a few years ago, without a pet, was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

If I were going to stay in the Pismo Beach area again, I would probably opt to stay up the road in Avila Beach instead just because I like the surroundings there better. However, the Cottage Inn is right on the cliffs, just off the street, so the view is spectacular and there is access to the beautiful beach below. There is a very nice breakfast room with a cold buffet. Our duvet cover was dirty, so that left me a little put off, but it was changed immediately without question. Don't stay here for the pool because it was small and not too clean (maybe because it was windy). Very buggy on our little patio, probably because the beach below is buggy, too. Also, downtown Pismo is not quite what I expected...it's worn out. The delicious Ventana Grill is within walking distance of this hotel and Giuseppe's is a quick drive downtown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent one night here as part of a 10 year wedding anniversary trip along the Central Coast.How we wish we could have spent more time here! The front desk had a lovely welcome sign for us and the room had a handwritten card with sparkling cider. This was the only hotel of 4 on our trip that really added such nice welcoming gestures for our anniversary. Our first floor room led out to a beautiful path overlooking the ocean as well as chairs to enjoy a glass of wine while watching the waves. The beach below had fantastic places to explore for our 5 year old. The towels shaped into swans and fireplace were lovely touches to an already charming room and location. Would return here in a hearbeat on future stays for the location, the staff and value.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the ocean - so very well worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pukster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,012 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: £109 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing