We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIY Waffles!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“DIY Waffles!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Only spent a single night at Cottage Inn, but it was a good time. Very well presented hotel, friendly staff and clean room. Our room was a strange, nearly triangular shape, which made it feel a little small, but it wasn't really that dissimilar to other rooms of this type.

The breakfast room was a little busy, and it was a little confusion over how things should be done and how some of the facilities worked. That said, they did have a waffle maker which turned out to be quite a hit for those using it, and those watching people trying to use it.

Would definitely use this hotel if we happened to be in the area again. Great location, easy to find and easy access to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusTheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Nigel J,

Thank you for your review. The waffles are popular with kids and adults alike. We hope you can make it for another visit in the future.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    354
    116
    45
    18
See reviews for
359
550
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great place to stay in Pismo Beach. The rooms are clean and decorated very nicely. With fireplaces and the roar of the ocean it makes for a very soothing experience. The staff are always very cordial. Really good value.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean facing room, it's worth the few extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here over the holiday weekend and loved it!!! It's adorable!! It doesn't look like a typical hotel. We called it the Hobbit Shire :) Rooms are huge with high ceilings. Beds are sooo comfortable. The fireplaces are nice but really really heat up the room. We couldn't keep ours on very long. The free breakfast is good. They have a little garden area with chairs that over look the ocean and steps that lead down to the beach. I would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the ocean and garden are nice but just know there will always be people in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDgirl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed here one night. Great value, the rooms were large, comfy and had fireplaces to warm up next to. Located on top of a bluff overlooking the ocean. Neat little garden area to hang out and relax in. About a mile from downtown Pismo Beach - close enough to walk to but far enough away so that its a bit more secluded. Great service, only complaint is that our room wasn't super clean. There was a tiny bit of trash and a loose light bulb on the floor. Also there was some traffic noise from the 101, but I live in LA so I'm used to it and it didn't bother me. Average breakfast. Wish I could have stayed longer. Would recommend/ stay here again. They offer AAA discounts.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed only one night. If we had known that this was such a great place we would have planned to stay a few more days in the area. Friendly and nice staff, rooms spacious and clean great price. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlainRoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night on the way down to LA. Wish I could've stayed longer to enjoy it more. I had a room on the ground floor that had a fantastic gas fire place. The rooms were massive. Bathroom is a bit tired but overall wonderful. Best thing is the view of the beach. I got up early had the lovely breakfast which is included and watched the beach for a while. Recommend statying here. They are also pet friendly which I noticed so that is a nice touch!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, CA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here in early January. This has been my fourth stay at the Cottage by the Sea. It is a really great property. Great location, great rooms, great prices. The winter rates were the best rates we have received! The room is so cozy and fireplace is a must for winter nights. A wonderful four nights at a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,672 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing