We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1st stop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great 1st stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We drove from LA to San Francisco and this was our first night's stop. We loved it. We didn't have the warmest weather and this was very warm, clean and cosy. Great location by the beach which was wonderful and must be amazing when the sun is out. Good value - we paid nearly as much for a Travelodge which wasn't anywhere near as nice. Good "motel" breakfast". Only minor complaint (although this applies to just about everywhere we stay) if there are 3 people in the room could we please have 3 cups and 3 tea-bags!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyC6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    330
    112
    44
    18
See reviews for
334
522
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

We have stayed at Cottage Inn a few times now and we are never disappointed. The rooms are clean and comfortable, our favorite is the Ocean View King with patio. We love falling asleep to the sound of waves with the crackling fire going on a chilly night. We also love the outdoor area on the bluff. Best place to have your morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening. The staff are always friendly and helpful, especially the GM Brett. He's been extremely helpful in setting up a block for our wedding too. The warm, genuine service is what keeps us coming back time and time again. This has truly become our home away from home in Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: Spend a couple more bucks and go for the ocean view. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Attention is given to the details in this hotel. More towels than you could ever use, all sculptured in various shapes, even the toiletpaper rolls are decorated. Lots of counter space,(newly remodeled), overhead fans, fair breakfast included, and access to the beach. Not a lovers retreat as the walls are thin, but no less than many of the properties on the cliffs of Pismo, as all are older.

Room Tip: If you dont "have to have" a view, the interior rooms are under $100 per night, best I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avila Beach, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I along with our 10 month old son stayed here for 2 weeks for a business trip. We got a good feel for the place and overall this is a pretty nice hotel.

LOCATION:
The location of this hotel is key to the success. It's a beautiful view of the ocean from some balcony rooms and the pool and the garden area. The grounds are well kept and very cute. It's right off 101 and a great location to see any of the local attractions and beaches.

ROOMS:
The rooms, on the other hand, are in need of a facelift. On a glance they look ok, but then you start to really notice the wear and tear that has been done to the rooms. For example, the peep hole in our front door was taken out (?) and someone put a BANDAID on the inside of the door over the hole. I mean, really? The bathroom was one of the main areas that needs some refinishing. If that doesn't bother you, than you'd probably like this place.

The bed was super comfortable. Lots of fluffy pillows.

Love the microwave and fridge in the rooms. This was really nice since we brought our 10 month old and he needs bottles heated up. Cute fire place in each room.

BREAKFAST:
The breakfast was pretty good and the coffee was excellent. I would've like more fruit other than bananas and apples. But they have an assortment of cereals (hot and cold), hard boiled eggs, yogurt, pastries, toast + bagels, cottage cheese (?) and DIY waffles which EVERYONE wants so sometimes you have to wait a while for them.

WIFI:
Great sometimes, but it seems to lose signal A LOT during the day - sometimes for a long time. It's pretty horrible.

SERVICE:
Excellent. Everyone was very accommodating and friendly at the front desk. My husband and I wanted to see what the cost would be to get a room looking at the ocean and the girl helping us really tried to make it happen for us and crunch the numbers. We asked for a wine opener one night and they had one to give us. We asked for change for laundry - no problems.

HOUSEKEEPING:
They did a good job of getting the room cleaned in a timely manner once we put the sign on the door that we needed the room cleaned. Little things were overlooked and still dirty (mirrored closet doors, floors, the paneling on the doors, corners of the bathroom sink etc.) Although the rooms get a daily cleaning, they are in need of some deeper cleaning.

The maids were also a little pushy with cleaning the room. They'd knock on the door at 9am. "When can I clean?" So if you don't want to be bothered, make sure to put the "do not disturb" sign on the door. A few times I forgot, and they woke up my son from his nap. Grrrrrr.

EXTRAS:
- Pet friendly! Love places that accept fury friends.
- Fresh cookies after 4pm and coffee + tea available in the lobby every day.
- Beach access down some stairs but not too far away!
- Coin laundry on site - $5 to wash/dry and soap.
- $10 discount at A Vital Massage in Shell Beach.
- Free pack-in-play to borrow. I hate to complain since it was free, but this thing was on it's last leg and absolutely filthy.

All in all this was an ok hotel. There are so many hotels in the area and in my opinion this one looked on the older side and not as modern or new.

Room Tip: Ground room ocean views are the only rooms that have a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
ChicagoErin20,

We appreciate the feedback as well as having you as a guest for two weeks. I have addressed the concerns you pointed out with our team. I am happy to hear that we were successful from the service aspect. We were experiencing some technical difficulties with our WiFi during your stay, but it was fixed within 24 hours. We would be delighted to have you back and should you decide to return, please feel free to contact me directly.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at the Cottage Inn in Pismo Beach for 3 nights. We had an ocean view room on the ground floor that opened onto the gardens on the cliffs above the ocean. It was a tranquil, beautiful view and we could hear the ocean all night.

The room was a nice-sized room with comfortable beds and pillows. We were right next to the small pool and jacuzzi, but didn't mind the light noise we could hear. The walk out our back door led to trails and stairs down to the beach. And we could walk down the beach and into the heart of downtown Pismo - what a treat not to drive!

The breakfast they offer is modest, but I am not a big breakfast person. If you want a special treat, try the Cinnamon Roll place down the street from the hotel (ask for directions). They were the best cinnamon rolls we have EVER had.

Rooms did not have AC or heat. Heat came from the gas fireplace which was quite adequate.

Enjoyed our stay and would go back again. There's plenty to do.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view on the gardens next to the pool. You can ask to be away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherylmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was very comfortable, room placement was closest to the street but noise was not a factor. the fireplace in the room made it very cozy along with the robes. The bathroom is older but very clean, the hot tub was not, and the walk to the ocean was perfect. We got there in time for sunset whcih they have nice chairs right at the end of the cliff to watch it your not inclined to take the stairs down to the beach. I would definately stay there again, the breakfast had enough choices to make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: you kind of get what you get, the closer to the back is favorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wryeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Only spent a single night at Cottage Inn, but it was a good time. Very well presented hotel, friendly staff and clean room. Our room was a strange, nearly triangular shape, which made it feel a little small, but it wasn't really that dissimilar to other rooms of this type.

The breakfast room was a little busy, and it was a little confusion over how things should be done and how some of the facilities worked. That said, they did have a waffle maker which turned out to be quite a hit for those using it, and those watching people trying to use it.

Would definitely use this hotel if we happened to be in the area again. Great location, easy to find and easy access to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GusTheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Nigel J,

Thank you for your review. The waffles are popular with kids and adults alike. We hope you can make it for another visit in the future.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing