We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great value, excellent location on the beach. Motel style rooms were comfortable with fireplace and great amenities. Free breakfast had good choice and staff were friendly. Free fast Wifi and good toiletries. Minor quibble water extremely hot in faucet but hardly a reason to avoid. Would recommend to anyone in the area. Nice pool but we didn't go in!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank chin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    360
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
365
558
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel was a lucky find, and you can't tell when you drive up just how lucky you are to be staying there. Not only were the staff really friendly and welcoming, but the room was GORGEOUS. We had a beautiful ocean view, an incredibly comfortable bed (complete with towels folded into different animals), and a wonderful gas fireplace. There was some maintenance going on with the pool, so it was not usable & the path to the beach was a little bit soggy, but still a lovely walk in the morning with our coffee. Can't wait to go back, and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ocean view! Worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Lovely hotel with character right on sea front. Allocated as part of a tour and wished we could have stayed longer. The real bonus was a free breakfast with a variety of choices. Large room with large comfort bed and tea making facilities. Bathroom was dirty but when complained it was cleaned immediately. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Such a lovely hotel, beautiful spot overlooking the Pacific. Rooms clean and finished off with cute swan 'towel origami' placed on beds and in bathroom, complete with Philosophy bath products. Lovely big room with large log fire, refrigerator and tea & coffee making facility. Breakfast was brilliant, a Continental buffet style with an American twist. Plenty of choices making it difficulty to know what to have! I decided on making my own waffles with fresh fruit.....delicious. Also available were bagels, croissants, cereals & yogurts and a choice of fruit juices along with hot drinks. Wish I could have stayed longer to enjoy the area as well as the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The rooms in this hotel are certainly worthy of a WOW! This was my favourite hotel on our tour of the west coast of America. The rooms are big and have a wonderful log fire in them. Only sorry it wasn't cold enough to use it. Breakfast was given at this hotel, it was very much a help yourself to croissants, bagels and fruit etc. there was no rush everyone got a seat, the cereals, bagels were constantly being re stocked. It was run so well. A BIG thankful to
KELSI who was kind enough to help me with my computer. Thanks you so much you were so patient. Also worth adding Internet was free in this hotel. It is situated on a cliff above a beach. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Would I stay here again definitely. Loved it.

Room Tip: Good restaurant just next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 401traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Being your favorite hotel on the entire West Coast is really something our team is proud of. Please come back soon to see what is new at The Cottage Inn.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location- it's just a few minuets from the downtown area of Pismo Beach, and in the other direction, it's just a short 5-10 min drive to Availa Beach. The rooms are fantastic! Very large and spacious with plenty of room for luggage without feeling cramped. There are areas where the rooms could be improved- touch up paint, updated bathrooms, etc., but I would highly recommend this hotel to someone in the area. I had a room without a view, but if possible, I'd recommend one with a water view. This hotel sits on a cliff (of sorts) that gives you great ocean views. Also, from the outdoor courtyard you get great views of the sunset.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Regarding your comments about the bathrooms we will be remodeling them in the very near future. We hope to see you on your next visit to the States.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Cliff top location with hot tub overlooking Pacific Ocean and breakfast included for $115? How can you go wrong! Yes the oceanview rooms are great but IMO not worth the extra $60. The pool, hot tub and seating area give you plenty of great views. Yes the rooms are a bit rustic but the name is Cottage by the Sea after all! Awesome.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay. The seating in the gardens with ocean views are so popular we will be adding more in the future. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,986 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,413 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing