We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time and a Winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Time and a Winner”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent hotel. The staff was very helpful with reservations and gave us an exceptional waterfront room. The room was very clean and comfortable. Beds and bedding were heavenly. There were even robes provided. The grounds were immaculate. They provided a daily breakfast. There is also a Marie Callendars close enough to walk to for any meals you might want it also has a water view. Will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review of your first experience at our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    358
    117
    46
    18
See reviews for
365
555
28
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Best partial ocean view ever, especially for the price. Spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We decided to eat in after a trip to a very good grocery store. The grounds and breakfast were also excellent. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Room 624 offers a very good partial ocean view and is spacious. Great room for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam101645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review. The grocery store you mentioned must be the California Fresh Market that is only 2 miles from our hotel. We also provide a fridge and microwave in the room for leftovers. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Cottage Inn in December for the second time this year (first trip was in the Spring). We absolutely love this hotel. The view from the cliff is incredible. Be sure to catch the sunset! Pismo is a great beach city with lots to do, and staying at the Cottage you will be close to everything.
The rooms themselves are very nice and come with a fireplace. Really nice setting for a couple looking to get away. We told them it was our anniversary and there was a bottle of champagne awaiting us when we opened up the door - nice touch. We sprung for the ocean front room this time and it made our stay even more awesome than the first.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a spectacular view over the cliffs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrew3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Congratulations on your Anniversary! We are very glad your first experience was so positive that you came back for that momentous occasion. We hope to see again, twice, in 2014.

Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed with the excellent folks at the Cottage Inn by the Sea on Dec. the 29 of 2013. I must say, this property is truly one of the best! The grounds were clean and well kept. The rooms were spacious, clean, free of any chemical smells we sometimes notice in other hotels. Our room had a great fireplace which kept the room very nice and cozy! The next morning, we were very pleasantly surprised to find an elegant little garden over looking the beach which provided a view that was extraordinary. From check-in to check-out, property staff were friendly and very kind. Prices were very reasonable and all things considered, I recommend anyone to stay at the Cottage Inn by the Sea.

DMC

Room Tip: No tip needed. All the rooms were excellent. My Daughter and her Husband stayed in a room with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corpusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent location; for the price this place is a deal; I paid for this one for myself and my guests. Big huge rooms, cutely decorated. Great breakfast for a hotel. They had containers of yogurt, homemade waffles, hardboiled eggs, etc. a really rounded out choice. This breakfast room is also open all day for coffee, tea and hot water and for a piece of fruit if you want it. They make cookies in the late afternoon. The outside looks new and unique, the inside is a little aged; but I'm not complaining about the price for that location. A little outlet/electrical work needs to be done. Right next door is the SeaCrest which my family has gone to for decades. We used their stair case to the beach as this hotels staircase is down right now; it's nice of the SeaCrest to permit that. I think next time I will phone the hotel and specify a room choice if possible; even though they are huge and mine had a partial ocean view I want both rooms to have one next time. It was a nice surprise; hadn't been there before; loved the towels shaped like Swans; little things like that make a big difference. Fireplace generates lots of heat but I didn't need it; the cental coast was hot at the end of December for some reason.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReview216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We are very glad you enjoyed the size and décor of the guest rooms. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The room was nice but needed a little updating. The bathroom sink handle fell off and the paint on the ceiling was discolored. The weather was great so we had the windows open all night and could hear the crashing of the waves. Breakfast is very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jflo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This place has very good service and nice rooms. The swimming pool is not big but it is very nicely situated. It was also easy topark our car outside our room. The beach is very beautiful and just a short walk down from the inn. It was very interesting to walk on the pier with many rather tame pelicans. A short distance we also found good fish restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,975 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,407 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing