We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
milan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here one night only. We booked an ocean view room and it was worth it! It was January, we spent our evening with the window open to hear the waves and with the fireplace on. The atmosphere was very relaxing, sunset unbelievable. We enjoyed the hot tub as well. Unfortunately the stairs leading down to the beach were closed.
Dinner was a bit sad, we drove in Pismo beach were there is not much really. Few places open and they all offered the same kind of food...average to say at least. So be prepared for that especially if you spend more than one night in Pismo.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank You for taking the time to post a review about your stay. While we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our Inn, we are disappointed that the restaurants in Pismo Beach did not meet your expectations. There are quite a few highly-recommended restaurants in town and some are hidden gems. Our front desk is always available to help find something that suits your taste. We hope to see you on your next trip.
Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    352
    116
    45
    18
See reviews for
359
549
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rural Virginian
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My mom and I were looking for a place near Pismo Beach for a long weekend. This fit the bill perfectly.

We had a big room with a fireplace, cleaning staff that left cute towel-animals, and friendly desk staff that really knew the area and was happy to help customers.

The beds were comfy with plenty of pillow choices. Bathroom was clean and towels were plentiful. I liked having our pools/beach towels in the room for us rather than going to a desk or to the pool to get them. The pool and hot tub are small but sufficient. Beach access is down a walkway since the hotel overlooks a cliff.

They are pet friendly, so while we didn't have a pet we had fun seeing the ones others had. And we didn't experience any excessive noise from pets or anything.

The included breakfast got a little busy (the hotel was full while we were there) and the staff couldn't quite keep up with keeping everything replenished. We therefore changed our schedule to eat earlier and that worked out fine.

We rented beach cruisers at the next hotel down in order to ride to the Monarch Grove and around town.

This hotel is not right in Pismo Beach. I considered it an easy walk to town; my mom did not. But no worries because it is easy to order food delivery from local restaurants. In fact, when the delivery service we used Sunday was not operating on Monday, the desk clerk was able to recommend a different service. So we had dinners on the table in our room with the fireplace on--lovely.

I was also pleased to get a quick and friendly reply to my pre-trip email about transportation.

Room Tip: Room 726 is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schlegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We have staff here 24 hours per day to assist you with recommendations, reservations, and anything else you may need during your stay. We hope you will stay us again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I'll start out by saying the ocean side second story room we stayed in twice was exactly as pictured in the web site. A large, comfortable and clean room. It was chilly and fifteen minutes of the gas fireplace and the room was toasty. Nice are by the windows to enjoy the ocean view. Brekfast was the more typical fare, well presented and ample. We will defiantely stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor ocean side has a small outside patio by the room. We did not choose it as i was fearful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowa539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the upstairs Ocean Front room. All our ocean front rooms do have great views. Insiders tip: We also offer large rooms with very nice partial views of the beach and ocean as well. We look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I always enjoy staying here. The rooms are very nice and the views are gorgeous. The fireplace is a nice touch. Rebecca in the kitchen is awesome and makes you feel welcomed. I will definitely be coming back on our next trip there.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saucie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We've stayed there annually in February for over 8 years, and have never regretted any of those years. We do our annual wineries/adventure tour from there with other members of our Central Coast British Car Club. The service is very good and staff are very accommodating to our needs. Rooms are always clean and tidy. If we had anything to complain about, it would be the blinds witch are heavy roll down bamboo or other material, that is not convenient to operate. Otherwise, this hotel is one that we'd recommend to anyone visiting Pismo Beach area.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a cozy, English type manor - complete with a simulated thatched roof with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your car club’s 8 years, and counting, patronage at the Cottage Inn by the Sea. Your British cars are always a treat to be seen in our parking lot. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We chose this hotel for our 45th wedding anniversary celebration. The pictures online look awesome and it advertises it has beach access. Well the rooms are VERY dated and small. There is no beach access and even tho we had requested a "no pet room" due to allergies...my husband had an allergy attack all three nights we were there. The view is great but a LONG walk to the pier. All the rooms had screens on the windows but the room we were in so got very hot in the afternoon and evening even tho it was January. We will stay on the sand next time and hopefully the pictures of the rooms will be accurate. The hotel staff was nice but their cleaning people certainly had difficulties getting our requests right even when leaving a $10 tip per day. We only chose this hotel because of the high ratings it had on tripadvisor...so go figure. Not any place I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel for your special occasion. I would like to sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay. I would welcome the opportunity to personally discuss your experience with you as I guarantee the full satisfaction of our guests. At your convenience please contact me directly.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
805-773-4617
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

When I arrived I was greeted by Lauren at the front desk. She welcomed me and provided me with my room key. Once in the room, I realized how wonderful my stay was going to be (the view was spectacular), so I phoned Lauren and asked if I could stay an additional night. She was able to accommodate my request. Wonderful breakfast - wonderful room - wonderful view. I would recommend this cozy get away without reservation. I will be back...

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at the Cottage Inn by the Sea. We really appreciate that you took note of Lauren’s exceptional customer service. She has been providing professional service at our hotel for over 5 years. We look forward to your return visit with us.

Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing