We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

This resort at pismo beach is really worth the visit. Good atmosphere, very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, well maintained and safe. Breakfast included and good. Kids love to make their own waffles.
The view from the resort over the ocean is spectacular. Easy access to the beach by stairs. Swimming pool and hot tub are nice, though a bit small. Many restaurants at walking distance. We just stayed one night, but should have stayed a few more nights.
Only limitation is that resort does not have a bar or restaurant that opens in the evening. Would have been nice to enjoy some drinks during the evening.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    330
    112
    44
    18
See reviews for
334
522
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

A great place to get away from the SF Bay Area. Handicapped room(no view) was great. Extra room for wheelchair and roll-in shower well done. We have had a view room before, also handicapped. We called day before and happened to have room available (mid-week). The grounds overlooking the ocean could use a few more chairs, but stunning views. Have stayed there three times. Never disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 22trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late at night, past midnight, after driving from San Francisco and were welcomed by a lovely lady on reception who wasn't fazed by our extremely late check in time. Room was narrow but due to the location, this felt cosy and the bricked fire in the room was a cute touch. The pool was small and we never quite got the chance to use it. Breakfast was good, we made our own pancakes in the machine and took them to the outside garden on the cliff... Favourite memory of that leg of the tour. Foggy mornings, quite nippy early mornings. Lots of families staying here, ample parking space.
Downside (if being extremely picky) is that due to the extensive car park and layout (and located alongside the motorway) it could be classed as a motel??? But being british, we felt it was a taste of American seaside.... ? Go to brads for clam chowder

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xuxa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed one night and had pleasant experience. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We were tired from long drive but were greeted with cookies and friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The price was good....it is a family destination..pool adequate... great views of beach..

Room Tip: ocean view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Fresh baked cookies and hot coffee--the perfect remedy for the “Long Drive Blues!”

Best Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This place has all you need to stop halfway San Francisco and Los Angeles on the Pacific Coast Highway. Spacious rooms, great bed, good bathroom. An easy drive from the highway. Pismo Beach itself is nothing special, but who cares after a day's driving?

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank EppoDied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We agree that Pismo Beach is a perfect location to stay over when travelling from between San Francisco and Los Angeles. We also hope that you will have more time on your next visit to discover the hidden attractions and scenic beauty of our area. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed here for one night. Location is great. Walking distance to restaurants. Driving distance to excursions and attractions. Opt for the oceanfront room. Wish we had, the view is great and you might get more of the ocean breeze. Our room had no a/c and was a little warm during the day. The free breakfast was good. Waffles, toast, etc, with added outdoor seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ale32931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed the location of The Cottage Inn in Pismo Beach. We highly recommend our oceanfront rooms and we encourage you to reserve in advanced for the best selection.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed in june. My wife and mother in law with me. It was a saturday night. The property is nice. Great views of the ocean and pismo beach. However the property is wide open and people pass thru all the time and run past your room which can make u upset late at night. Especially when u just paid close to 400 for the night. The room was niceand the fireplace was cool. But our brand new car received a large dent in the door from the cramped crowded parking lot. Anyway it was ok except for that. Oh the breakfast was so crowded with families with lots of kids that i had to slip in grab a yogurt and run. Well worth about 200 a night but 400 is pushing it.

Room Tip: Pick something away from where everyone walks thru which is the rooms with the good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hydrostaticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the mishap with regards to your car door. Please contact me at your convenience so that I may personally discuss your concerns with you.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
805-773-4617
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#12 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing