We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Residence Inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Placentia
Near Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay at The Residence Inn.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at the Residence Inn for 2 nights while in Anaheim to watch some hockey.
From check-in to check-out the front desk staff were very attentive.
The pool area was very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 06GoMango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    63
    23
    10
    10
See reviews for
87
19
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here for five nights on business, selecting the Residence Inn brand as I am familiar with this from other locations. I had requested a quiet room and was located in a block near the centre of the complex (the hotel consists of blocks / buildings each contain a small number of rooms / studios. On entering the room the aircon was very noisy so I turned it off. Turning off the noisy fridge followed. But I could hear machinery noise from an adjacent room. I called reception and was given another room, 121. This was fine with the aircon off (although it was getting up to near 30°C during the day the room was fine without aircon) and with the fridge off. I'll write about the room and then come back to the noise issues which followed.

The room was a reasonable size. It was open-plan with the well-appointed kitchen, desk for working and a good-sized bed. There was a sofa, a chair and a good-sized TV. There were two cupboards, a large chest of drawers, bedside units, etc.. The sink was in an annex and there was a separate bathroom with toilet and bath. I found the room fine and it was always cleaned to a high standard.

Wifi is free up to about 1Mbs and there is an enhanced Wifi for $5 per day. I tried this and downloads were faster although VOIP calls were still not perfect.

Breakfast was the typical Residence Inn experience in the friendly "front room" and all staff were pleasant and friendly.

So, why will I probably not stay here again? Noise! The hotel is located next to the Freeway. This generates a reasonable amount of background noise although the location of my room made this bearable. Nevertheless, the thin sliding window in the room did not seal well and noise came through the gaps, making the traffic noise louder than it need be. Then there were the trains - the real problem. There's a railway line and some sort of yard nearby and the trains run all night. There are crossings and I guess this is why they hoot. That loud, drowning hoot. It followed the same pattern, something like, hoot - hoot hoot - hoot - hoooooooot. I was woken every night at various times because of the trains, nothing else. And with jetlag playing a big part, being woken in the early hours meant I did not get back to sleep. It was a shame and spoiled the location.

There are no restaurants immediately within the vicinity of the hotel but plenty nearby and a short drive away. For example, the Brea Mall and surrounding area is about 10 minutes' drive away.

So, hotel's great but the noise is a problem. I have also seen this in other reports and should have been forewarned. And if I had been running aircon and the fridge, oh dear!

Room Tip: Away from the freeway, but also away from the trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve A, General Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your response. I truly appreciate the detailed feedback as it will help us to improve in the future. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. There has been some additional noise issues recently due to some CalTrans roadwork in the area and we do our best to insulate our guests as best we can. I'd like to speak to you personally about your experience and can be reached at 714-996-0555 ext. 7200.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is an older property that is close to a railway crossing with fairly loud trains. Also you have to drive a bit to get on the highway. This is probably reflected in the lower pricing compared to other Residence Inns. On the positive side the staff is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights this past July and the location was a pretty good 'base' for travelling around LA and Anaheim. The room was clean and quiet and while breakfast can be quite busy the staff were great with keeping up to the crowd. The grounds were well kept and there where upgrades to the rooms being made. Overall a very solid family hotel providing a good value in the Anaheim area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLtrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The room suited our needs perfectly. The full kitchen and extra space was perfect. It was our first weekend away from home with our 4 month old twins. There was ample space for 2 pack and plays for the babies to sleep in. The room didn't feel crowded at all. We had a king sized bed and lots of cushy, comfy pillows!!

The only slight con was that our room was facing the 57. The freeway noise didn't really bother us but we would have preferred not to be so close to it.

All in all, we would definitely stay there again. The room was clean. The staff was very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was average and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama city, florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is located close to many businesses in the center of the southern LA basin. This hotel is well maintained and clean. The breakfast is a cut above with a few healthy choices, and the evening reception is too, although they only serve it Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings. The room I reserved was the room I received. Be sure NOT to leave anything in your car at night. Several cars were broken into.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pitstop53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAGALIA
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Compared with other Residence Inns I can only give this one a "poor" rating. We are Marriott Gold Members and made our reservation for a Two Bedroom Suite far ahead, because we intended to stay here with our family for ten days and make sure that we get a specific room type. We also called the front desk the day before our arrival to verify when the room would be ready. They told us 3 pm or earlier. We pointed out that we would arrive from overseas after an 11 hour flight, most likely tired and worn out. When we arrived the next day at 3:15 the room was not cleaned yet. The receptionist told us it would not be ready until 4 pm. We came back at 4 pm. No luck. Now it should be 5 pm. But even at 5 pm they could only offer us a different suite in an awful location directly facing the freeway. We rejected that room and could finally move into the originally reserved suite at around 5:30 pm. If this happens to Gold Members who stay in Marriott hotels more than 50 times per year, I do not want to imagine how they treat other costumers. The suite we finally got was the ordinary Two Bedroom Suite we knew from other older Residence Inns (the new ones are much nicer): one bedroom downstairs, the other one upstairs as a loft. It turned out the ceiling was so thin that everybody downstairs woke up as soon as somebody walked around in the loft. Maid service was prompt but not very thorough. Hardly ever the suite was 100 percent clean after the maid left. Breakfast was less desirable than in other Residence Inns. The pool is small and the overall location of the property neither attractive (right at a freeway crossing in a commercial neighborhood) nor close to good restaurants or to Disneyland. I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placentia
1.1 mi away
Fullerton Marriott at California State University
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Placentia - Anaheim
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Anaheim Orange County Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim - Fullerton
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Fullerton
The Hotel Fullerton
#1 of 11 in Fullerton
473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton
Address: 700 W Kimberly Ave, Placentia, CA 92870-6329
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Placentia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Placentia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all of the comforts of home with the conveniences of an extended-stay hotel at our newly renovated Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton. Our Fullerton, CA, hotel is near many top attractions including the Anaheim Convention Center, Angel Stadium, Disneyland, Nixon Library and California State University Fullerton. Start every day off right by enjoying a free, hot breakfast buffet and end with our Residence Inn Mix, a fun and relaxing way to unwind, socialize and connect. Our renovated pet-friendly suites in Placentia provide separate living and sleeping areas with plenty of space to work, relax and entertain in style and comfort. The new Fullerton suites also include fully equipped kitchens and complimentary grocery shopping services. Business travelers at our extended-stay hotel in Placentia, CA, will appreciate added amenities including large well-lit desks and complimentary high-speed Internet access. No matter your reason for travel, you'll enjoy the charm and convenience of our Placentia, CA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Placentia/Fullerton Hotel Placentia
Residence Inn Placentia
Placentia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing