We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Going Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Ranked #2 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I've never posted before, but I must. The owners were so nice, the food excellent, the view most memorable for its location that affords a view that must have been seen by the gold miners themselves from 1848, when gold was discovered there a stone's throw away in the American River which the B & B overlooks, by James Marshall himself within the confines and protection of the CA State Parks, "James Marshall Coloma Gold Discovery Site" located a half a mile from this easy to reach but secluded B & B property. Remodeled rooms on a classic California property evoke the state at every corner and afford families or couples both rest and relaxation in these lore-filled foothills of California's "Strike It Rich" counties.

Room Tip: Tbe rooms facing the American River are lovely and provide a quiet, reflective opportunity to ponder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were given a gift card for one night stay and we added a second night. We were so glad we did. We were greeted by the owner, Kathleen. She was truly there to make our stay wonderful. We stayed in the Bella Vista room. It was spacious and lavish. The bed was very comfortable. We hope we can go back in late spring. That is when it is the most beautiful in the area. We enjoyed the local wine tasting, history and restaurants. We liked that the Inn was a out in the country. We needed to get away badly. However it is not too far from Placerville, CA , which has a charm of its own. This would be a lovely wedding and reception site. If you are planning to whitewater raft on the American River this would make your experience fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was a too-brief overnight stay that should have lasted at least another night. The Inn is above the small valley around Coloma and the pool is a great place to spend a warm afternoon. Stately, nicely-appointed rooms. A great place to stay and only a few miles outside of Placerville, yet a world away. You'll feel like you really traveled far to get here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast during our trip to gold country. We loved the beach and pool and could have easily stayed poolside for 1/2 a day! The view is also outstanding. This is a great accommodation in Coloma - likely the best- and a convenient stopping point after whitewater rafting.

That said, we were not left with many details about how to check out, were there pool towels, who to contact in an emergency, etc. A welcome letter or a binder in the room with the details would have been most helpful.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFromCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2012

So glad you enjoyed our property and pool. We do actually have an amenities book that is currently being updated and will be available again soon. We do keep the pool towels on the Innkeepers side but will locate them closer to the pool from now on. The emergency contact # will be in the updated amenities book along with other important information. Thank you so much for your feedback as we`re always striving to better serve you here at Bella Vista !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed just one night last week the night before a white water rafting trip. We regretted that we had not booked the room for 2 nights, as we fell in love with the area. We had a wonderful stay. The property and view was amazing. We had an upstairs queen room with our own private balcony overlooking the pretty pool and hot tub. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet. There was a window air cond unit, which we needed as it was quite warm that day. We had a continental breakfast in place of the typical hot breakfast due to having to check out so early the next day. Our only complaint was not being offered any coffee or anything else upon check-in, and the bathroom lacked soap for the shower. The only soap available was a hand pump soap by the sink. Neither of these were deal breakers and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekwcoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Thank you for all of the positive feedback about Bella Vista we feel so priviledged to live here. So sorry about the soap and the refreshments ! We`ll be checking on this as we ( innkeepers) were away for a few days and left B&B in the care of an Innsitter. Thank you for choosing us and hope to see you again soon !

Very Sincerely,

Bob and Kathleen Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Let me start by saying that if I could live here, I would. We stayed for a weekend and I felt like a queen. The Bella Vista is a charming B&B with beautiful accommodations. My family and I stayed in the Rio Vista room downstairs with a lovely living area and mini kitchen and two luxuriously decorated room adorned with vintage touches. Their pool area was re-done recently and offers a rock waterfall and a built-in rock waterslide. The kids had a blast. We all enjoyed hanging out by the pool to watch the stunning sunset as the Sierra Foothills and the American River took on a golden glow. When we awoke in the morning, Kathleen, the innkeeper, prepared THE most delicious stuffed french toast with raspberry drizzle, fresh berries and bacon on the side. I will stay here every chance I can and continue to rave about it to my friends. If you've got a chance to stay here for a romantic get-a-way...this is truly the place for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Kathleen, who was charming and sweet, greeted us at the door. She showed us our room and offered us a glass of wine with cheese, which we had on our private deck overlooking the breath taking view of the hill top. She suggested some close places for dinner, showing us menus. Kathleen, wasting no time,called for a reservation for us as soon as we decided on a place. After settling into our room and enjoying a glass of wine, we took a walk around the grounds. The Bella Vista is one of the most beautiful bed and breakfast we have stayed in. The ponds, waterfalls, and features where perfectly placed around the spectacular grounds. they had harbors and benches tucked in quiet little spaces through the property. After our walk, we headed out to dinner. We enjoyed a fine dining experience within a few miles at the Café Mahjaic. “All food, sauces and breads made from scratch using naturally raised organic meats and grains, fresh fish from the ocean. Organic produce when available.” We highly recommend Café Mahjaic for its atmosphere, delicious food, service and an overall memorable dining experience. We headed back to our home for the next two nights. When we pulled in through the gate and drove up the drive way to the Bella Vista, we were mesmerized by the beauty. The soft night lighting around the grounds and the home, made it look even more magnificent.
The view of the hills, lit up by the night sky and twinkling lights below, was breath taking. We even enjoy the view from the large heart shaped Jacuzzi tub in our bath room. The Bella Visa as a whole is tastefully decorated in a beautiful European style, very elegant and comfortable. Our room was no exception; the bed engulfed us like a cloud from heaven. The large bay windows in our room provided us a view of the night sky as we fell asleep.

In the morning we woke to the smell of fresh coffee and breakfast cooking. This was the only way I would be enticed out of that bed. I had my coffee, in bed and Kathleen served a hot delicious breakfast to our room, which we enjoyed at a lovely table in front of the bay window. The plates were so pretty with the fresh fruit, blueberry scones, and rosemary on the side. The entire breakfast was delicious.
Kathleen gave us some good suggestions on things to do in the area and places for lunch and dinner. We had a relaxed fun day exploring the area and a good dinner close by. We came back early to enjoy our last evening at the Bella Vista. Sadly, the next morning we had to leave early, Kathleen, so kindly packed us up a bag of goodies to take with us, not realizing we left it behind. It was hard to leave this beautiful place but we will have wonderful memories of our time spent at the Bella Vista and the Coloma area.
My husband and I have enjoyed staying in bed and breakfast styled accommodations, when traveling, in the US and Europe. The beautiful Bella Vista, reminded us of our trip, "from Paris to Rome." This is one of the top 3 on our list of bed and breakfast we have had the pleasure to stay in. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: The Bella Vista room was perfect for size, view and comfort. Large heart shaped jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 321lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
6.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
278 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
271 reviews
6.2 mi away
GlenMorey Country House
GlenMorey Country House
#3 of 7 in Placerville
72 reviews
7.3 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.

Address: 581 Cold Springs Rd, Placerville, CA 95667-9381
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range: £156 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista is a luxurious hillside estate with views overlooking the Coloma Valley and the American River. We are close to several wineries and White Water Rafting. We offer a resort-like stay for guests of all occasions, and make the perfect venue for a dream wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing