We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother Lode Motel- a delightful place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mother Lode Motel- a delightful place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

As a UK resident travelling in the US I tend to opt for brand names which have proven themselves in the past. This was not an option in Placerville and on our dates most accommodation was booked. The Mother Lode does appear in the AAA handbook, but with only one diamond, which at least usually ensures cleanliness. I booked by telephone.
My wife and I were trvelling with two US friends and spent two nights here. On registration we were immediately struck by the friendly demeanour of the owner.
The rooms were large, well decorated and very pleasantly furnished, well above one diamond level. The bathroom/shower was very roomy and well appointed. Everything was spotlessly clean. It was very convenient to have micro-wave, fridge and coffee making facilities. Our friends, after several disappointments in other establishments, were pleased that the advertised free Wi-fi connection actually worked.
The motel is situated by a quiet road which leads up from Placerville. We were not aware of any intrusive noise from the Highway. Mature evergreen trees surround the motel and the immediate grounds have recently been landscaped and are well cared for. The retro, but probably genuine iluminated sign on the hill above the motel adds an interesting touch.
The pool too looked as though it had been renovated and was a very pleasant place to relax beside, read and have a light picnic supper, which several guests did as the light gradually faded.
The owner and his wife, who also cleaned the rooms, went out of their way to be as helpful and pleasant as they could.
This is one place I would really like to return to.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthEastRailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    28
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
18
26
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
minnie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2007

This is a great little place. It is right off the freeway. It was clean and everybody was very nice. I always stay in name brand hotels and have not stayed in a motel for years. We had a group of people and reservered 5 rooms. We meet at the pool and the kids had a great time. It was nice for once not to worry about the kids taking an elevator to the pool. Also we had a picinic at the pool. Downtown was a great place for breakfast and walking around the shops.

  • Liked — it was fun with a lot of people. Puts you back 20 years
  • Disliked — well it's not a 4 star if that is what your looking for.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minnie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

We live up here in "Apple Hill", and my in-laws needed a place to stay while we are remodeling. We've been watching this old time motor lodge, and its transformation during its own remodeling, with amazement. The pool has been reconditioned, the landscaping is absolutely amazing, and the interior of each room has its own unique sponge painting and color. This motel is a throw back to the old era of motor lodges, not unlike the ones on the original route 66. The exception is that this one is being taken care of, it's not run down, and your stay will be pleasant.

The rooms are all newly textured, painted, carpeted, and tiled. The bathrooms are extremely clean, because they're all new! This motel is just of Hwy 50, but not too close that you hear the traffic. Its 5 minutes from El Dorado Counties famous Apple Hill, and all its wineries.

To get there, you'll drive through the lights of Placerville, on Hwy 50 going east, and turn right at Point View Drive. The motel is on your left. Take note of the original neon sign that boast "all electric heat!" This place is a real slice of Americana; you'll enjoy your stay. My inlaws really enjoyed their stay in their King sized bed, and they said that the great deal made it even better.

For some reason, their phone number is not listed on this site, so I'll give it to you, it's [--]. You have to make your reservations the old fashioned way, they're not "online" yet.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, convienience, nice staff
  • Disliked — Couldn't book online
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stayingcurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

Every other place in Placerville was booked the weekend we were to attend a wedding. The Mother Lode motel didn't have access on line either so I had to call for reservations. I reserved a room with a queen bed and a room with a king bed. The motel is located up the hill in a lovely area. I wasn't sure when we arrived as the outside of the motel and the parking lot need some work. The owner has obviously put the money into rennovating the rooms and baths first. Both rooms were newly rennovated and clean. The bathrooms had new tile in the shower and the shower heads were high (we are tall and notice this). One room hadn't been entirely rennovated as the floor in the bath was still linoleum and the door frame for the bathroom door had just been installed. The rooms were nice, though decorated differently (pleasant change). The baths were roomy. The pool also looked newly rennovated and was sparkling clean. Having the mini-fridge, microwave, and coffee service in each room was handy. I will stay here again, but will bring my own pillows. The pillows were hard and flat, to me the clean roomy bath is more important.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Seein'_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2006

If you are looking to stay at a quiet motel, do not stay at this one. My husband and I stayed here for a few days and I have to say this was the noisiest motel I have ever stayed at. My husband complained to the manager/owner regarding a child bouncing a basketball in the parking lot. It turned out it was the owners child, so nothing was done. I should have known to stay away when I saw the basketball hoop in the parking lot (right next to the rooms). On the weekend the kid was out there at 7:30 a.m. bouncing the damn basketball. My husband and I were livid. Called the front desk to complain, NOTHING was done! As far as the rooms, they were fine. A bit nicer than a motel 6 and clean. If it weren't for the noise, I would recommend this as a nice place to stay. I would never stay there again. If you're like me, when you stay at a motel you want QUIET! The managers/owners could care less if you complain about noise because they will do NOTHING!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Placerville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
8.3 mi away
Westhaven Inn
Westhaven Inn
#2 of 2 in Pollock Pines
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Property: Mother Lode Motel
Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing