We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, retro, friendly”
Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This was a 3-day Gold Country getaway. I wanted to revisit Placerville, Gold Bug Park, Coloma, and other nearby historic areas. I've stayed in Placerville before and decided this time to try the east edge of town where it's quieter and less busy. There is a string of 1950s motels, all with great old neon signs: this one (the Mother Lode), the Gold Trail Inn, and the Hangtown Motel.

I was fortunate to walk in and find vacancies, since it was the annual Wagon Train historic re-enactment weekend with lots of people in town, the main historic district lined with food, craft, and art vendors, and entertainment and food along Broadway almost the entire length of town. I was not aware of this until I arrived. The desk clerk (might have been the manager, or might even have been the owner because he always seemed to be around) was cordial and welcoming, and was always congenial when I saw him around the property.

I got the room at the far end from the office, where it was quiet and I could hang out or walk outside and enjoy the trees that surround the motel on all sides. The room was small but adequate. I had to borrow a chair from an outside sitting area because the room had none, and it served me for both indoor and outdoor seating during my stay.

The pool area is large and pleasant, with lounges, chairs and tables. The landscaping made it a great spot to relax, whether to swim or just enjoy the sun. There is a lawn that could be used as an additional seating or picnic area, but it had no furniture and no lighting at night.

If you get snack attacks, this isn't the best location and you should bring food. The continental breakfast consists of packaged pastries, and the motel is not within a short walk of restaurants. It is a couple of miles to some of the strip malls east of the historic area, and another couple miles to historic downtown "Hangtown." Highway 50 is close enough that traffic can sometimes be heard, but I didn't find it distracting. This was a good spot for Gold Country activities or a quick getaway from the Bay Area. During the weekend, it did fill up, and most people seemed to be enjoying themselves. I think I'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frisco_Roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here 2 years ago, also on 4th of July weekend--two night stay each time.
First time took day trip to S Lake Tahoe. This time went to Sly Park with our kayaks.

Easy access off highway, parking in front of room. Meets our needs
Simple accommodations: clean; updated bathrooms; refrigerator, microwave, coffee in room. Wi-fi worked just fine at all times and so did the TV and a/c.
We sleep with windows closed so didn't hear any noise; double pane windows.
Need car to drive to Old Town - good selection of eateries available.
Basketball goal in parking lot - forgot our ball though.

Room Tip: Nice size swimming pool. Water a little cool for us but very refreshing on hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Activeseniorjuly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We and our friends stayed at the Old Well Inn and ate at the Old Well restaurant.
The rooms were clean the beds were comfortable and the rates were great. The restaurant serves the best biscuits & gravy, great omletes and pancakes. No cell service & no phones in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

This a nice family owned and pet-friendly motel in a small town in the Sierras. Cleand rooms and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stay at this motel often because we are always treated so well when we stay. They always seem so pleased to welcome us back. The owners are very accomodating and flexible. The rates are the best in Placerville and a great value for what you get. Rooms are comfortable and the location is great.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thejunipers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We were traveling on a budget and had stayed at some real flea pits on our trip. The Mother Lode motel was like a breath of fresh air. The room was lovely, clean, spacious and recently updated. The pool was beautifully maintained. The service was impeccable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tprice42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Very comfortable place with reasonable rates. Owners are friendly, respectful and helpful.
Pool is clean and well maintained; local businesses within one mile.
The rooms with kings and 2 double beds are the most roomy; 1 double bed rooms are smaller.
Friendly cleaning staff; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrekMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
278 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
20 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
Gold Trail Motor Lodge
#7 of 7 in Placerville
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: £47 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing