We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Worth the Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mother Lode Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mother Lode Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Almost Worth the Price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The motel looks like an old motor inn but I was told the rooms were recently updated. Although the location is a bit out of the main bustle of town it was near a soup kitchen with many homeless people roaming around. The room seemed spare although it did have a small refrigerator and microwave. The toilet was not clean but the rest of bathroom was clean. I was hesitant to put my bags on the floor even though it looked tidy. The pool was sparkling even though it was a bit too cold outside to take a dip. We were surprised to hear a dog barking in the next room and not surprised to hear couples arguing late at night. The heater in the room worked but when it kicked on the smell of stale cigarette smoke wafted through the room even though there are no smoking signs posted in the room. It may have been remodeled, but they forgot to decorate. There was not even a picture on the wall. The people who run the motel are very nice and seem to be trying to improve the place and since we only planned to stay one night, it was ok. At least the towels were soft!

Room Tip: Try to get one that is not next to someone with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SgtWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    29
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
19
26
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a nice little motel in GoldCountry. Please do not confuse it with a Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn. This offers basic needs for a very reasonable price. It was quiet, convenient, clean and comfy. The Cable TV selections were fine. Wifi was not the worlds fastest but allowed for basic usasge. If you are looking for a resort-this isnt it-it is a great value if all you are looking for is a nice place to sleep for 8-10 hours. My GPS on my iPhone found this place easily and if I were to return to the Placerville area I would efinately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckeyeDDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

"Kind of alright in a limited way for an off night". The price was right, and the lady running the place was very nice. Bathroom was redone and nice hot shower, rest of room was older motel "101". Bed was older and could use better and newer linens. But really, a one night stop at a great price, and was quiet and secure. It's on the edge of town so away from the strip which is good unless you want to be closer in. If you want a reasonable priced road stop I think this is a good spot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is an OK motel for a single night, but did not suit me for multiple nights.

First, there is a need for a visible road sign near the entrance. Coming from the east, I drove by the hotel without seeing it. The only sign was high on the hill way above the motel and not visible coming from the east. The heat/AC worked but the adjustment knob was loose and hard to adjust. The readout on the microwave was out and the clock did not work and was unplugged. The fridge was set too low so that all of my fruit froze during the first night, which did not make me very happy. The WIFI worked fine the first night but I couldn't connect the next night. There was no plastic liner bag for the ice bucket which was somewhat unhygenic. The drain in the bathtub didn't work very well but that was repaired after I mentioned it to the handyman. There seemed to be a general casualness about maintenance as well, as there were huge potholes in the parking lot. I won't be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raguido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

In town for a Wedding. Owners were nice. It is not a fancy, but an inexpensive place. Close to where we needed to be. Rooms were clean, bed was good. Water in shower nice and hot. Enough towels for the two of us ladies. Ice machine stopped working, so the owner gave us ice.. Only suggestion: Plastic bags for the Ice bucket. One of the two rooms was not cleaned but was soon rectified. Quiet and off the road, pretty place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AuntieJello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very friendly staff (=owners); nice, clean rooms; inexpensive, too - nothing fancy, but nobody says it is: It is the perfect place for everybody looking for a motel while you're on a roadtrip. Take a dip in the pool, perfect start for your day. Like!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Pulled in late, was beyond tired. Owner met me at the open desk, no plastic, no outside window. She was VERY pleasant, cordial, soothing. She said she had two different price schedules, for different size rooms and beds. I opted for the full-size, for $44 before tax, very reasonable, in an area in which Motel 6 charges much more. Paid for the room and was off to see it.

When I walked in, I was more than pleasantly surprised. A small room, yes, but clean and with none of the fabled drawbacks plaguing these types of venues. It was a no smoking room and the bedding and floors were devoid of any burn marks. Fresh paint was evident. The bathroom was clean, with two soaps and shampoos each. The heat was very good, as was the WiFi signal. I could see by other vehicles that this was a destination for out of state contractors working locally.

My only complaint, really the only one, was that there was a small coffee machine, with sugars, creamers, etc. But no coffee! Oh, well...

I stayed in the room, post-shower, until nearly 11:00 am, working. At checkout, the owner was as pleasant as the night before, inviting me back. And I shall go back if I ever find myself in that area again.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure availability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Abie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Placerville
2.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
12.9 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Lode Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Lode Motel

Property: Mother Lode Motel
Address: 1940 Broadway, Placerville, CA 95667-9001
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mother Lode Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mother Lode Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mother Lode Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing