We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country go!”
Review of High Hill Ranch

High Hill Ranch
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rides galore, and plenty of apple and wine based activities.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
329 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice country go!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

If you're a city dweller nice getaway. It's very touristy but fun. Go early in fall or early winter.
Try and find the backroads. Real food a tad scarce. Eat in placerville.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lewis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fun Fall Adventure!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

While visiting Placerville, CA we spent an afternoon at High Hill Ranch. Just off Hwy. 50, turn onto Carson Rd., then follow the signs. It is a beautiful setting among the evergreen trees, with many craft booths to browse. You can watch the apple cider being made, as well as the apple pies. Every imaginable product made from apples can be found here! It is open 7 days a week from the beginning of Sept till Dec. 24. Fun for kids and adults, this is a great fall activity!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, California, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Autumn tradition...visit High Hill Ranch”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been going to High Hill Ranch every fall since I was little. Their food is delicious (Dutch Apple Pie w/ice cream is my favorite) and the little shops are so fun to look in. It's always bustling so make sure if you are driving up on the weekend to go EARLY or else you will be parking way out in the orchard. Being this busy just shows you how popular this Apple Hill is. Now that I have my own family and 1 year old girl we have continued the tradition of visiting High Hill Ranch and look forward to many, many years ahead.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our Family's Favorite Attraction at Apple Hill!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We make a point of visiting High Hill Ranch every time we come to Apple Hill--mostly because of the fishing pond (and Al, the dear soul who oversees the fishing there!). The Apple Shakes and any food that has chicken that they make are excellent and a great deal for the price, too! We've gone both in low and high seasons to High Hill Ranch, and while it is expectably easier to get around there during low season, there's a nice family atmosphere there during high season (again, esp. around the fishing pond =)). Our own experience there has been that the apple stand and warm food staff have been great--friendly and helpful. Small note that there are less expensive prices for Barsotti's at other places. Nice apple walnut donuts, though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This place is a must visit while at Apple Hill, huge grounds and just a beautiful place. I liked how they made the parking lot between the trees rather than cutting them down. As you make your way through the 'parking lot' you'll pass a lot of vendors and you can easily spend an hour going from stall to stall. Once you pass the vendors your nose will direct you to where the apple donuts are, you can smell them from a distance.

The ground is huge and so many things to do, there is a big picnic area, a place for kids to run around freely without running into other families, a pond for trout fishing. There is fresh kettle popcorn, a fudge factory, fresh apple smoothies stand. If you're going with family make this your first stop and you won't regret it, easily spend half of your day here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ash0902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Hill Ranch also viewed

 

Been to High Hill Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing