We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Country Villa meets Zen Retreat”
Review of Eden Vale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eden Vale Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Placerville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walnut Creek
1 review
“Italian Country Villa meets Zen Retreat”
Reviewed 27 July 2009

I found Eden Vale's website online while searching for a B & B to stay in near Red Hawk Casino (near Placerville, Ca.). The website is so attractive and the photos of the grounds made it out to be so beautiful and lush, I decided to book it. It turned out to be the highlight of our trip. Eden Vale is nestled back in the gold country about a ten minute ride from the Casino. It is lovely old barn that has been converted to a very high-end B & B. The owners were just fabulous, attending to our every wish (even complimentary wine and a generous cheese plate delivered to our room the night we arrived). Even resident dog Pepper and cat 'The Bushwhacker' were happy to see us.The grounds are a glorious thing to behold, with little secret gardens, meandering pathways and fountains, all combining to create a marvelously calm feeling. There's even a trout pond you can admire and feed the trout if you so desire. The breakfast consisted of homemade scones, biscotti, spinach quiche, sausage, fruit and yogurt, a good selection of cereals, and of course tea, coffee and juice all whipped up by the very sweet staff member Kirsten, and was just delicious! You can eat inside in the lovely dining room, or try any of several outdoor areas. We stayed in the Cottonwood room, which was very comfortable, the best part was the huge outdoor brick patio accessed through french doors from the room. Surrounding the patio are lush plantings, beautiful trees, and fountains. In the morning and evening the birdsong is enchanting. I could go on and on, so I'll close by saying you will feel relaxed and renewed from your stay. Don't miss this hidden jewel tucked away in El Dorado County!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
195
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Mark and Gayle are great hosts. Our room was quiet, very attractively designed and quite comfortable. We loved having our private hot bath just outside our back door. We came back from dinner and had a soak before falling soundly asleep.

We had great fun swimming in the pond behind the house. Perfect temperature and the trout didn't even seem to mind(!)

We'll definitely be back, and we recommend this resource to anyone who's NOT looking to stay in a "grandma's house" Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandKSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco,ca
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Beautifully designed B&B. Smallest of details were thought of to make ones stay that much more enjoyable. Sit by the pond, or one of the many hidden areas in the garden.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Unique rooms with very comfortable beds, cozy fireplace and elegant bathrooms. Sitting by the main room two story fireplace or outdoors by the pond is wonderful. Easy access to lots of wine tasting, fishing, hiking, rafting and the gold country. It's an incredible property and the bed and breakfast is somethuing to see in itself. You feel far away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBEEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Our July 4th weekend at Eden Vale Inn B & B exceeded our already high expectations. This converted barn in the California Gold Country/Sierra Nevada foothills, set in a lush garden and filled with a remarkable collection of art objects, is close to historic sites, High Sierra lakes, and whitewater stretches of the American River. Our hosts provided first-rate service combining a personal touch with complete professionalism. It's hard to say what I liked best. The breakfasts were extensive, per our request, delicious, and very fresh--scones just out of the oven, crepes that we watched being made in the open kitchen, fresh fruit and juice. Our room, with state-of-the-art lighting, a large bathroom and a Japanese soaking tub on a private deck, was completely quiet. The garden is a magic getaway in itself, and an encyclopedia for plant lovers, its various rooms presided over by a big, grand Ganesh sitting under his own arch.If I had to choose, I'd say that the best aspect of Eden Vale Inn is that all of the experience is entirely comfortable; its cool quiet beauty surrounds you but is never intrusive.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is truly a relaxing place with rustic yet elegant style and outstanding personal touch service. We came and had a great family retreat together. Everyone enjoyed the stay. We highly recommend to others and we will come back too.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpringSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
7.4 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
241 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
9.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
3.7 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Vale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Vale Inn

Property: Eden Vale Inn
Address: 1780 Springvale Rd., Placerville, CA 95667-8950
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eden Vale Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eden Vale Inn is an unbeatable romantic getaway in northern California, situated in the heart of Gold Country, right outside of Placerville. Our luxury bed and breakfast offers seven unique and comfortable rooms, decorated with modern appointments, gas fireplaces with cozy seating areas, spa-like bathrooms, private outdoor spa tubs, serene views and garden or deck access. The swimming pond and extensive grounds include gardens that invite wandering, sitting, reflection and reading, an outdoor fire pit, guest kitchen and scenic wedding area. Gourmet breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed outside, overlooking our gorgeous wine country setting. Many local attractions and activities are available in the area: fine dining, shopping in Old Town Placerville, over 100 Sierra Foothill wineries within an hour's drive, white water rafting on the American River, and California history at the nearby Marshall Gold Discovery Park. We can accommodate pets - call for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eden Vale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Vale Hotel Placerville
Eden Vale Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing