We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short trip for a good time”
Review of Red Hawk Casino

Red Hawk Casino
Ranked #3 of 49 things to do in Placerville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Hawk Casino offers a variety of gaming options. We're proud to offer a world-class gaming experience, with something for everyone.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short trip for a good time”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Out in Sac staying with friends, decided to take an evening and hit the casino. The recommendation was Red Hawk, about an hour away. When we got there, we decided to find our individual game and meet back in 90 minutes. I headed for the poker room - on the no smoking floor, thank God. Signed in and was at a table in 10 minutes - my friend wasn't so lucky. She was called after 50 minutes - not enough time to play. She did do well at the penny slots though. We both made enough money to treat our friends to fine dinning at Henry's Steakhouse.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    82
    57
    15
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stay Away!! Far Away!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stay away from this dump!!! you do not win at all..they give you back just a few buks but take it away just as easy...no one was winning. my friends refuse to go here any more since they take take take but never let you win. they you those stupid free gifts as if its like a major big deal,,trust me its no big deal,,,a flash light for a free gift big deal. this place sucks,,the food sucks ,,things are so spicy you cant even eat it.the mashed potatoes are the worst. its the same food at the buffet day in and day out. the slots are so tight the birds talk about the,,cheap cheap cheap. i cant understand why people still go to this place,,,i for one will not go back!!!! trust me go else where..try gold coutry casino in oeoville at least there you win. go to reno evn but not i repeat not to redhawk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank owllady60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun for a few hours”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Took bus up from Bay Area to Red Hawk. It's a well kept up property with lots of slots. Actually they are rather loose - at least when we were there. Lots of smokers but you can go downstairs to nonsmoking area. Plenty of dining options - should have gone to buffet but instead had some rather insipid Chinese food. If you take the bus up in January, it's free plus you go $20 credit for players club. Lots of parking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dmlandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Fun and Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Great layout in casino and had a great meal at the buffet on New Years. Looking forward to our next visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tuleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just like most of the others”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

nothing special about gambling at the red hawk - although the food is pretty good. most of the gamblers smoke and efforts to get rid of the smoke are ineffective.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Hawk Casino also viewed

 

Been to Red Hawk Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing