We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scottish charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GlenMorey Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
GlenMorey Country House
Ranked #5 of 9 Placerville B&B and Inns
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Scottish charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Just returned from a getaway.Innkeepers very kind,had warm cookies waiting for us.Very comfy bed in Edinburough room. Nice and quiet but a quick 5 minute walk to downtown.Fabulous breakfast of eggs Benedict with sides.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

This B&B is an absolute gem! To begin with, it's amazing to find a B&B that welcomes children with so much grace and warmth. The hosts made our 3yr old feel right at home, and he's still talking about "visiting my new friends" again sometime. One of the features that makes this B&B so family friendly is that none of the rooms share a common wall, so we weren't as worried about disturbing anyone when our little guy woke up at 6am.

Our room had a large bed plus a twin bed with a trundle, and was very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing - apple french toast, eggs, sausage, and fresh fruit. Tea and cookies were always out, and the common room was a very comfortable place to spend the evening playing Chutes and Ladders as a family.

It's not just a family B&B, though - there was a young couple enjoying a romantic weekend who said it was an absolutely perfect place for their stay as well. The decor and feel of it doesn't scream "family", it's just little things that make it kid-friendly.

Placerville has a very charming main street with a lot of interesting shops and restaurants. A couple of the restaurants were very busy when we went out and we were unable to get in, so you may want to make your dinner plans in advance and call for reservations. There's a nice playground in town, which was helpful for burning off some preschooler energy.

We really loved staying at Glen Morey Country House, and we're already making plans for a future visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccturandot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

When we were kids we used to love visiting the historic gold rush towns along Highway 49. My mom hadn't been back since those days so I thought a "gals’ weekend" would be fun. I found Glen Morey House online and was charmed by their website. I knew we were in the right place the moment Tom met us as we drove up. Mom uses a walker but because the house has very few stairs it was easy for her to get around. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, with lots of fun little details. Its welcoming spirit and the personal dedication of the owners are evident. One of the things I love about B&Bs is the family atmosphere--we met the kids and the cats, had a delicious breakfast with the other guests, and yet had all the privacy and quiet we desired. Mom loved it and so did I--we will return, and get our friends to come too.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDs_roadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at GlenMorey Country House this weekend to have a homebase to visit the wineries and orchards of Apple Hill. We had never stayed at a B&B before, but we were open to the idea. We selected a check in window between 4-7, which was supposed to be staffed check in time. When we arrived at 4:30, there was no one there, but there was a sign on the front door instructing us to locate our room and the keys would be in the door.

We were staying in the Aberdeen room, and I would not select this room again. This room is located off in the back of the house, by the kitchen, and from the looks of it, it used to be a sun porch. Two of the walls were almost entirely windows, which was nice, until we let down all of the curtains. The curtains actually had gaps where the two walls met, and even with my boyfriend trying to use knickknacks to hold them in place, we could not get full coverage in the room. The room seemed to be directly on the path to the house in the back where the proprietors live, and a couple of times, there were people walking past those windows we couldn't seem to cover.

Also, the bathroom situation in this room was clearly an afterthought, and if you stay in this room, please make sure you are completely comfortable with your roommate, because you will not have any privacy at all. The shower is on the smallish side and in the room itself, right next to the door. The water pressure is good, but make sure to bring conditioner, because they only have shampoo. The actual toliet is in a claustrophobic closet with a door that is hard to shut and doesn't lock. The sink and mirror are also directly in the room and next to the shower. Ladies, this is not a good place to get ready for going out to dinner. First, the light over the sink is really harsh and not good for makeup. Turning that off and having the room light on is kind of dark, but a far better option. The sink is a wide bowl pedestal style sink, so nothing was really able to be stored on the sink. There was a very small shelf above the sink, but it was very wobbly, and I was not confident about it's ability to support my makeup bag. After reaching in a couple if times and feeling the whole shelf tip forward as if it were going to fall off had me moving it pretty quickly.

The rest of the room was comfortable, especially the bed, however, beware of leaving the air conditioning unit on overnight. We sleep with a fan for the white noise, so the loudness of the unit was actually welcomed, but clearly, something froze inside overnight. About 6 AM, the noise abruptly stopped, which woke us up somewhat, but we were fully awake once the ice inside started shattering loudly.

We tried to go back to sleep, but our proximity to the kitchen meant that we could hear all of the breakfast preparations. We went out to have breakfast and officially met the innkeeper, Tom, who was very nice. The French toast for breakfast was pretty amazing!

All in all, it was an interesting experience, and I would possibly stay here again if coming back to Placerville, but I would definitely be staying in another room!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenoftheu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

This B&B looked promising, until we arrived. The entrance was difficult to find and somewhat untidy. The Scottish theme is an excuse to fill the bedroom with useless clutter which is a dust-magnet. The bathroom, although spacious lacked usable space and good lighting and taking a shower involved carefully arranging a curtain around the bath - not ideal.
The 9am breakfast time seemed to pose a problem for Tom and I am sure that a more flexible time slot (say 7.30am to 9am) would make it easier to produce hot breakfasts. The food we were served was cold and it was served on cold plates (not very Scottish!)
The location of the B&B was good with its proximity to Main Street and the car parking arrangements worked well but the gardens were a no-go area and we were not tempted to linger among the undergrowth.
Overall this place could be made very attractive with a change of image and menu.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beenthere76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, CA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We were able to book a room at short notice, got a great deal with the special, and had a really wonderful time. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. The claw-foot tub was great for soaking. Tom was a wonderful host and was very eager to meet our special requests. I recommend anyone looking for a bed and breakfast in Placerville to look into the GlenMorey Country House.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HB820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

What a score! Nice large B&B in Placerville. The grounds are great and the hosts are super friendly. The pecan maple French toast in the morning was orgasmic.

The suite we stayed in was lovely. It had two rooms with a king bed in one and two twins in another. There's a large dining room with fresh brownies and a large common room with tables, chairs, and games. A huge number of books are available for your reading pleasure.

They're offering a bunch of specials on their website that make this place a screaming deal. We stayed in the Stirling Suite for two nights with two rooms for only $150 for two adults and two kids for BOTH nights.

Placerville is a charming town with lots of small quaint shops. Come stay the weekend and get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jguillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
0.1 mi away
Historic Cary House Hotel
Historic Cary House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
1.2 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#4 of 5 in Placerville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
6.2 mi away
Bella Vista Bed & Breakfast Inc.
1.7 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GlenMorey Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GlenMorey Country House

Property: GlenMorey Country House
Address: 801 Morey Dr, Placerville, CA 95667-4411
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — GlenMorey Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy warm Scottish hospitality in the historic Henry S. Morey house, built in 1859. It is a gracious, rambling, one-story estate surrounded by 2 acres of wooded glen. Comfortably furnished and decorated with Scottish antiques, GlenMorey House provides a quiet, relaxing retreat for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your GlenMorey Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing