We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a small town!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Cary House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stay in a small town!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two night stay at the Historic Cary House Hotel in Placerville, CA. I have to say that I was very impressed by this small, historic hotel. Upon arrival the only thing on my mind was getting to bed, but as soon as I stepped into the lobby of the hotel I was greeted by beautiful woodwork and beautiful stained glass windows which only made me want to discover more. I right away knew I had made a great choice in where I was staying and would definitely come back.

The rooms themselves are very clean!! The bathroom is a nice size (not too small, not too big) and the shower was great! I had read previous reviews before my arrival that had stated there was not any hot water in the morning, which made me a little nervous, but I did not experience this once. The bed itself is large and comfortable with very warm blankets for those cold nights. We had a great view of the main street outside of our window and the noise wasn't an issue at all. The only drawback to staying in an older hotel is the minor noises within the hotel itself. The walls aren't very thick and you can hear people outside of the room in the morning. Other than that the Cary House is a great place to stay in a very charming town!

Room Tip: I suggest getting a room on the upper levels with a view of the main street. It's a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveireland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    80
    28
    22
    14
See reviews for
53
103
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

We try to stay only in historic hotels, at least once in every town we visit. We've returned now to Cary House a couple of times.

It's getting a wee bit tired, but the history and beautiful lobby are still lovely.

On 11/21/12 we stayed in ROOM 200, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Management was more than just "attentive" - they were spectacular in every way except that the water was not HOT in the morning - it was warm, so no harm done, and when we mentioned this to staff, they immediately offered a credit. We accepted a tiny portion of the credit, because we had enjoyed every other aspect of our stay.

Manager recommended a restaurant, told us some interesting history about the hotel, and was all-in-all more than accommodating.

Although the rooms and halls are getting a little tired, we will stay again and will report back next time we do. Ownership/management does try to fix things up on a regular basis, and I feel that we have to give them a break in this economy which causes suffering of businesses and individuals alike.

I highly recommend this unless you are ultra-picky.

Room Tip: Room 200 is inhabited by a very friendly spirit who will ensure a restful night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Over 40 room nights used for a family reunion ( 11/20-26/2012 ) cold water showers were the norm every day even at 5:45 AM .... had to wake the night manager at 7:40 AM to open the very small breakfast area and unlock the front door.... dated rooms from the 1970's ( not period to the turn of the century )... hotel has had several owners in the past 10 years and it shows total neglect .... staff should wear period clothes, not rumbled slept in clothes.... bring your own toiletries ... the items provides are not adequate for 2 people and the house keeping staff does not always replaced used items! Street noise every night and on our last night a parking lot sweeper/vac started at 2:00 AM. Rest your head somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

If you love history, beautiful woodwork, and fine, vintage things, then this is the place for you. The staff were all friendly and most helpful. The rooms were VERY clean, the atmosphere is wonderful. The breakfast was serve yourself in a cute room in the back of the lobby, which consisted of waffles, English muffins, yogurt, cold cereal and fruit. The vintage stove in the serving room was beautiful. You can walk to all the shops on Main Street and the great restaurants are all nearby, so you can leave your car in the parking lot and enjoy the old architecture and cute shops within walking distance of the Cary House Hotel. We LOVED it!!

A BIG THANK YO to Hope at the front desk for her wonderful room selection for my son and I. You were so correct and kind and we LOVED it.

Room Tip: We loved overlooking Main Street and watching the people and traffic go past in the evening from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We're fans of historic hotels--creaks and quirks are part of the charm, but this one was pretty quiet. Staff was attentive, and the history's fun. Great location in on Placerville's main drag--check out the candy store!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malibu,ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Came up with three couples for our annual Apple Hill Weekend and enjoyed every moment. We have been coming to Placerville and to the Cary House Hotel for ten years. We love the location on main street and location to Apple Hill (10 minutes). We had a great dinner at Hey Days across the street and drinks at the Liars Bench across the street from the hotel.

The hotel is historic and old and yes is not for everyone. We love it. We each had a king bed suite and slept very well. The staff is very friendly and lobby is inviting and comfortable. Does it need some upgrades yes but it still doesn't take away from the charm of the 1850's. Our room was lacking a few things but nothing to fuss about. We had breakfast as Mels and enjoyed a day at Apple Hill.

Room Tip: King Suite was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We travel quite a buit to gold country in California and we have stayed in lots of different types of places. We have stayed in several historic hotels as well. The Cary House DOES NOT compare to the National Hotel in Jamestown, The Holbrooke in Grass Valley, Murphy's Hotel in Murphy, Hotel Leger in Mokelummne Hill, etc. These other hotels have tried to maintain some level of service and amenities despite hard economic times. The Cary House has not and their attitude when you call reflects that. Placerville is a wonderful gold town with great attractions, aklthiough some are an hour away or so. Apple Hill is great this time of year (15 min. from Placerville)!
The lobby of the Cary House is neat and kept up well. That is not the story with the room we stayed in (king suite). Room was way too expensive for what you get. But, it seems as if they just don't care. Not many places to stay in Placerville (some B &Bs).
As an aside, The national Hotel in Jackson, CA has just been completely remodeled and is now a 4-5 star property. We toured it and it is gorgeous!! Here is where the higher prices might be worth it. Also, LOTS to see in and around Jackson, CA. Hopefully, this restored treasure will help Jackson revitalize its touristy downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancediva99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Placerville Inn
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
10.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gold Country Inn
Gold Country Inn
#5 of 5 in Placerville
2.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
15.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express El Dorado Hills Hotel
1.6 mi away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#3 of 5 in Placerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Property: Historic Cary House Hotel
Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing