We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Cary House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I love the location of the Cary House Hotel. It is right on Main Street and when you walk out the door you are in the heart of Placerville. The front desk staff were very helpful. Aside from location and staff - I felt the hotel was a real let down.

We stayed in a king bed, junior suite. The bed was very soft and uncomfortable. There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom and on the wall by the bathtub. The toilet would run continuously unless we took steps to fix it. There was also dust on the lamps in our rooms. Also, the free wi-fi signal was not strong enough to work in our room. You are paying for a lot in comparison to what you get room wise.

With more attention to detail this place could be a real charmer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dwoods1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at the Cary House as we were in town for a friend's family gathering in the area.

In this hotel you are staying for the experience and the sense of history that it engenders. From a mods and cons perspective it doesn't really have many of those. It does have the oldest lift car in the west of the USA (or soemthing like that). However. it is in general a very comfortable experience and we found that we slept very soundly for the few nights we were staying.

The property is right on the main street of Placerville, which in itself is a great little town to explore the main street on foot. Things look and feel like a step back in time, and it adds to the experience of choosing the hotel as well.

We didn't eat at the property as we didn't organise ourselves well enough, although with all of the options at the doorstep this does not present a challenge for the guest.

If you are tossing up the bland brand vs. the experiential hotel, choose this one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

There is so much history around this hotel you could spends an hour in the lobby. We had a pleasant stay in the Yellow Jacket room. It was decorated charming. The hotel location is great. It is so easy to walk up the street to a variety of restaurants. The best place however is the wine tasting next door at Synapse.

Room Tip: Don't forget to read the description of your room. Each floor has a different theme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbrb97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here and since there were two couples, they put us in a suite to save us money. Since the building is very old the layout was not ideal (having to go through one bedroom to get to the bathroom) but they have done the best they can with the space there is. The day we stayed they had lost electricity for several afternoon hours and it was one of the hottest days of the summer. We were unable to use the elevator to get to our third floor room. When we came to the room after turning on the air conditioning prior to going out to dinner, the third floor room never cooled down. The manager brought us two fans which helped immensely but the sound of those fans caused a really bad night's sleep. The room never cooled down yet no concessions were offered to us for the inability of the cooling system and our inconveniences.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We were in a front room on the 4th floor. Very difficult to get luggage there since only two people or one person and luggage can ride in the elevator at a time. There is no one on duty at the desk after 8, and we had an issue with a hotel guest wondering the halls in his boxers looking for his room. Our phone in our room didn't work and finally had to use a cell phone to call after hours assistance. Our room was very loud from street noise. Avoid a room facing the busy Main Street at all cost. We were awake. At about 3am with the trash truck picking up the dumpster. Even with windows closed it was extremely difficult to sleep. Breakfast was very limited. Not sure we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We love historic hotels, and stay at them throughout the American West. We are usually inclined to give them a break when it comes to judging modern amenities or fixtures. But I'm afraid the Cary House needs a wake-up call of its own. For the price (we paid $175 for two people in a king bed room), this is what one gets (the good and the bad):
- Very friendly and helpful staff
- Beautiful and historic lobby and fixtures
- Old carpeting throughout the upper floors that is very musty and stretched out 70s stuff
- Small rooms (not a problem except cramped with too-big furniture)
- Cheap (not historic or antique) furniture well past its prime
- Very saggy old beds and tatty sheets and spreads (ours had holes)
- Nice bath, very modern but tasteful — unfortunately dirty (mold around faucet in tub, dirt around cabinets)
- Towels of a vintage and condition I would use to clean my car

Come on Cary House! It does not take a lot to fix these problems. The Weatherford in Flagstaff, Arizona, is far less expensive and far, far nicer and cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roseann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I grew up in the town of Placerville and was looking forward to visiting as a guest at the Cary house, but due to a family emergency could not make it. Pay attention to the ridiculous 72 hour in advance cancellation policy. Although I did call nearly that far in advance, technically I missed the deadline and the front desk person was completely unsympathetic and not at all helpful. The foreign Expedia customer service representative demonstrated more social skills than her. Finally, when I got the manager on the line, she offered me a whopping $25 discount for my "next" visit. I reminded her that with the county fair happening, I was certain she could fill the room and afford to refund my reservation in full. No Cigar. She blamed Expedia. Expedia told me it was up to the hotel. I will not stay there, and given the reviews combined with a lack of customer service, I will not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Biogirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Placerville Inn
2.4 mi away
Mother Lode Motel
Mother Lode Motel
#4 of 5 in Placerville
78 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Historic American River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Folsom
10.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 2 in Cameron Park
86 reviews
7.4 mi away
Eden Vale Inn
Eden Vale Inn
#1 of 7 in Placerville
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Cary House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Cary House Hotel

Address: 300 Main St, Placerville, CA 95667-5606
Region: United States > California > Placerville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Cary House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Historic Cary House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lexington Historic Cary Hotel
Lexington Historic Cary Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing