We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly country cooking”

Jims Country Style Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 269 Restaurants in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good friendly country cooking”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

American country cooking... Good service and tasty food. The kind of place where the servers know there customers by name and are interested in how there day is going. Would recommend if you need a place to refuel your belly with hot coffee and a warm smile.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_yoshida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

If you are the person who loves the occasional chicken fried steak, you will love this place.

Great breakfasts!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim_AJ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service and food”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I always make this my first stop in Pleasanton after a 13 hour flight from Sydney. The staff are friendly and it is a great reflection of American breakfast culture. I am working my way through their omelettes and will try other dishes over time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love old time local places”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

I was traveling and used trip advisor to find a place for breakfast not too far from Highway. Ended up at Jims a long time local place. Bernie my server (she) was great. Busy but fast service. Luckily the breakfast special included their homemade sausage pattys. I couldn't believe how good they were. I ate a lot, loved it, took the left overs and had three more breakfasts. I will look forward to returning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The food is just okay and the service is atrocious. I've had good/decent service only once by a friendly waitress with manners. The rest of my visits were well under par. One time, with my two well-mannered teens, one of my sons said, "Thank you." to one of the taller waitresses (the one who is constantly talking about her diabetes within earshot of customers). She heard him, ignored him, and didn't respond so he said it again (thinking she might have a hearing problem). His repetition apparently annoyed her because she started acting like a middle schooler and turning up her chin (to indicate she was either annoyed or ... whatever). I didn't understand what her beef was except that she was raised without any social skills, thinks she is almighty in her cowboy garb carrying around a tablet and pencil. Whatever her issues are, she should not be working around customers. Furthermore, It would help the ambience if the waitresses starting covering their armpits - gross and unshaven pits around hungry customers is just unacceptable. Who owns and/or manages this place??? If you can stomach the bad service and gross appearance of the help, give it a try. Just don't expect thank yous and acknowledgment in this joint. I've received much better service traveling in the South and Midwest. The service is an embarassment to Pleasanton. I won't return - ever.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kudloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jims Country Style Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jims Country Style Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing