We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Luxury!”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Anytime I travel to the East Bay I try to stay at The Rose in downtown Pleasanton. The rooms are beautiful, the bathrooms are awesome complete with a jet bathtub. Breakfast is very nice. They have thought of all the details there. It's very romantic and close to very good restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Your comments are very much appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed some fine dining within walking distance of the hotel. Please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Large rooms with nice amenities, spacious bathrooms, good breakfast. Recommend this hotel for business as well as for visit to nearby wineries, nice alternative to major chain hotels. Covered parking garage and walking distance from many restaurants in quaint downtown village.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Your observations pretty well sum up the major criteria for the design of The Rose, i.e. downtown location with spacious rooms suitable for business and leisure travelers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have family that lives in Pleasanton, so we stay here when we come to visit. It has become like our second home. The staff is warm and friendly. We like the never-empty cookie jar and bowls of candy around the lobby. The breakfast room/lobby/sitting room is inviting and serves as a bar in the evenings that is even open to the public. It is furnished like a beautiful living room with a fireplace. The guest rooms are large, each room is entered through a foyer, and the soft green decor is very soothing. Rooms are delightfully decorated with every amenity provided, Peete's coffee (our fav) is available for brewing in the room. There are fresh roses everywhere, including a single one spotlighted in every room. The marbled bathrooms are large with jacuzzi tub plus an over-sized shower. Main street beacons just outside the front door and is a delightful place to wander. Great restaurants abound.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerri777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

It is music to our ears to hear our property described as a "second home". It pretty well sums up what we try to offer our guests here at The Rose. Thank you for taking the time to note why you enjoy your time here. It will be helpful to other guests looking for something out of the ordinary. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This wonderfully managed hotel is an oasis when working away from home. Fresh flowers around lobby daily, fruit, cookies and snacks 24x7, complimentary bottled water in rooms, 15+ restaurants in neighborhood, bar in lobby catering to guests and business locals all contribute to this being a superb property..... Stay here if you can afford five star accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your positive comments which seem to affirm our pricing policy, i.e. bundle all of the services into one price. Thus in addition to an extra large, luxuriously furnished room, the rate includes an extensive continental breakfast, WiFi throughut the property, covered/lighted parking, fresh roses and snacks 24/7, bottled water, and passes to a local full-service athletic club. Hopefully this meets the criteria for good value and that you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have always wanted to stay at the Rose Hotel when visiting family. This last trip we found a room available and booked it. The lobby is very inviting with easy off street parking. The room was large but they put the entertainment cabinet in front of the windows which seemed odd. Looking out the window which was still accessible may have explained their decision, it looked into a parking lot and wasn't much of a view. Also it was close to a railroad crossing and I could hear the train whistles as they approached. Bed was nice and otherwise room was well appointed with large bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review which we believe is informative for both our guests and our staff. It would appear that the major culprit was also a major benefit, i.e. a downtown location. Having decided that downtown Pleasanton could benefit from a boutique style hotel, the owners selected the only available location which borders the adjacent parking lot and is close to the railroad tracks (side note - the route through Pleasanton is historic in that it was the final link in the transcontinental railroad). Hopefully the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and that you will stay with us on your next visit to Pleasanton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For years my husband and I have stayed at the Rose Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year we did again, and were happy with the beautiful room. The room and hotel, for that matter, haven't changed a bit since our very first visit years ago. The hotel is beginning to show a little aging but we still enjoy it very much. I don't know if because I'm older now I noticed it more than previously, but it seemed louder than I remember but our window faced the busy, downtown streets. There was also a very loud dog barking a lot of the night from somewhere in the neighboring homes but that's beyond the hotel's control. My only complaint is the very uncomfortable, small, squishy pillows. If I had a more comfy pillow, my night's rest wouldn't have been so restless due to the noise. The beautiful marble bathroom with it's large jacuzzi tub and shower was like a dream. The free breakfast the following morning was well appointed with smoked salmon, yogurts, danish, an abundance of fresh fruit, oatmeals, yummy coffee, etc. The best hotel breakfast provided to guests free of charge that I've seen.

Overall, I think you would love your stay. It's the perfect location for a night out with your special person! Just bring your own pillow because the large bed is very comfortable.

Room Tip: To help with the street noise, request a room facing the parking lot. However, you won't be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review and share your thoughts with other guests and our staff. I would like to address your specific comments as follows.

Hotel showing a little aging...patina?? We agree and a minor renovation program is in process, i.e. reupholstering the overstuffed chairs and new pillows in the guest rooms, painting in the public areas, replacing bathrooms sink drain stoppers, etc. In addition, our maintenance and housekeeping staffs repair minor damage on a daily basis.

Noise level...should be about the same except for the barking dog...guess that is a trade off for the absence of freeway noise, just kidding. On your next visit request a room overlooking the parking lot next door. Then, to do your people watching, go out on the second floor balcony which overlooks Main Street. It is set up with a table and chairs so you could relax with a drink and watch the crowd go by.

Pillows...the newly replaced pillows are down filled with four per bed. Larger, foam filled pillows are available on request to the front desk.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This hotel is a pleasure to stay in, it is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed. The rooms are quite and spacious and the beds are comfortable. The only things I didn't care for were the small pillows on a king sized bed and the shower head.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirdouglas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. There are a couple of solutions to the issue of pillow size...extra down fulled pillows are available as well as larger, foam pillows...both are available by calling the front desk. Not too sure about the shower head...it may be mounted too high on the wall as they are a foot above the standard height to suit some of the professional athletes that stay here. We would like to know more about it so it can be fixed. Thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#3 of 14 in Pleasanton
399 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Pleasanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
#9 of 14 in Pleasanton
194 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Tri-Valley > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range: £215 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing