We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
186
21
3
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
21
3
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown pleasanton turn down service french press boutique hotel main street jacuzzi tub large shower continental breakfast hotel experiences covered parking beautiful hotel wine country every amenity mini bar livermore valley rooms are huge bagels
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Large rooms with nice amenities, spacious bathrooms, good breakfast. Recommend this hotel for business as well as for visit to nearby wineries, nice alternative to major chain hotels. Covered parking garage and walking distance from many restaurants in quaint downtown village.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Techtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Your observations pretty well sum up the major criteria for the design of The Rose, i.e. downtown location with spacious rooms suitable for business and leisure travelers. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have family that lives in Pleasanton, so we stay here when we come to visit. It has become like our second home. The staff is warm and friendly. We like the never-empty cookie jar and bowls of candy around the lobby. The breakfast room/lobby/sitting room is inviting and serves as a bar in the evenings that is even open to the public. It is furnished like a beautiful living room with a fireplace. The guest rooms are large, each room is entered through a foyer, and the soft green decor is very soothing. Rooms are delightfully decorated with every amenity provided, Peete's coffee (our fav) is available for brewing in the room. There are fresh roses everywhere, including a single one spotlighted in every room. The marbled bathrooms are large with jacuzzi tub plus an over-sized shower. Main street beacons just outside the front door and is a delightful place to wander. Great restaurants abound.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerri777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

It is music to our ears to hear our property described as a "second home". It pretty well sums up what we try to offer our guests here at The Rose. Thank you for taking the time to note why you enjoy your time here. It will be helpful to other guests looking for something out of the ordinary. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This wonderfully managed hotel is an oasis when working away from home. Fresh flowers around lobby daily, fruit, cookies and snacks 24x7, complimentary bottled water in rooms, 15+ restaurants in neighborhood, bar in lobby catering to guests and business locals all contribute to this being a superb property..... Stay here if you can afford five star accommodations.

Date of stay: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thank you for your positive comments which seem to affirm our pricing policy, i.e. bundle all of the services into one price. Thus in addition to an extra large, luxuriously furnished room, the rate includes an extensive continental breakfast, WiFi throughut the property, covered/lighted parking, fresh roses and snacks 24/7, bottled water, and passes to a local full-service athletic club. Hopefully this meets the criteria for good value and that you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We have always wanted to stay at the Rose Hotel when visiting family. This last trip we found a room available and booked it. The lobby is very inviting with easy off street parking. The room was large but they put the entertainment cabinet in front of the windows which seemed odd. Looking out the window which was still accessible may have explained their decision, it looked into a parking lot and wasn't much of a view. Also it was close to a railroad crossing and I could hear the train whistles as they approached. Bed was nice and otherwise room was well appointed with large bathroom.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to post a review which we believe is informative for both our guests and our staff. It would appear that the major culprit was also a major benefit, i.e. a downtown location. Having decided that downtown Pleasanton could benefit from a boutique style hotel, the owners selected the only available location which borders the adjacent parking lot and is close to the railroad tracks (side note - the route through Pleasanton is historic in that it was the final link in the transcontinental railroad). Hopefully the benefits outweigh the disadvantages and that you will stay with us on your next visit to Pleasanton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

For years my husband and I have stayed at the Rose Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year we did again, and were happy with the beautiful room. The room and hotel, for that matter, haven't changed a bit since our very first visit years ago. The hotel is beginning to show a little aging but we still enjoy it very much. I don't know if because I'm older now I noticed it more than previously, but it seemed louder than I remember but our window faced the busy, downtown streets. There was also a very loud dog barking a lot of the night from somewhere in the neighboring homes but that's beyond the hotel's control. My only complaint is the very uncomfortable, small, squishy pillows. If I had a more comfy pillow, my night's rest wouldn't have been so restless due to the noise. The beautiful marble bathroom with it's large jacuzzi tub and shower was like a dream. The free breakfast the following morning was well appointed with smoked salmon, yogurts, danish, an abundance of fresh fruit, oatmeals, yummy coffee, etc. The best hotel breakfast provided to guests free of charge that I've seen.

Overall, I think you would love your stay. It's the perfect location for a night out with your special person! Just bring your own pillow because the large bed is very comfortable.

Room tip: To help with the street noise, request a room facing the parking lot. However, you won't be able to sit by the window and people watch which is part of the fun. It's a trade-off, you could just bring your own pillow (since there's are uncomfortable) if you face the street and enjoy the large comfortable bed and enjoy the wonderful street noises.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T From Cali f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review and share your thoughts with other guests and our staff. I would like to address your specific comments as follows.

Hotel showing a little aging...patina?? We agree and a minor renovation program is in process, i.e. reupholstering the overstuffed chairs and new pillows in the guest rooms, painting in the public areas, replacing bathrooms sink drain stoppers, etc. In addition, our maintenance and housekeeping staffs repair minor damage on a daily basis.

Noise level...should be about the same except for the barking dog...guess that is a trade off for the absence of freeway noise, just kidding. On your next visit request a room overlooking the parking lot next door. Then, to do your people watching, go out on the second floor balcony which overlooks Main Street. It is set up with a table and chairs so you could relax with a drink and watch the crowd go by.

Pillows...the newly replaced pillows are down filled with four per bed. Larger, foam filled pillows are available on request to the front desk.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews