We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“California vacation”
Review of The Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rose Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pleasanton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is so nice, it is located in downtown Pleasanton, close to all the little shops. The staff was amazing, so friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful with a bed to die for. A fresh rose every morning. The continental breakfast was more than abundant with fresh Salmon every day. If you want a memorable experience this is the place to go. We would definitely return to this place again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Happy to be a part of a family vacation. Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a great hotel, very charming and the service is excellent. Right in the middle of the charming little downtown of Pleasanton. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. The regular rooms are nice but the suites are absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rfannin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

A good summary of the experience. Thank you. Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We find ourselves in Pleasanton 2-3 times annually and no longer spend time considering where we might stay. The Rose Hotel is a place we always look forward to visiting and we have yet to be disappointed by the hospitality, cleanliness and comfort offered therein. The decor is rich and inviting, complimented by the equally warm and friendly staff. A "continental breakfast" is offered each morning, which far exceeds expectations. Fresh-baked bagels and pastries are brought in each day and are nearly impossible to resist once you've sampled them! Plenty of fare available for the health-conscious as well, including fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, greek yoghurt, and oatmeal. If you like to maintain your exercise regime while on the road, the hotel offers a great mirrored workout room equipped with treadmill, elliptical trainer, free weights, exercise balls, towels, refrigerated water bottles, flat screens, and sanitizing wipes to ensure germ-free surfaces. You might also want to lace-up and enjoy a run or walk through lovely downtown Pleasanton!
Our kids look forward to returning to the hotel each night to find the beds turned down and delicious gourmet chocolates nestled on their pillows...which reminds me, the beds are amazing! I could go on and on describing the forethought and attention to detail that are evidenced throughout this beautiful bed and breakfast. I'll just finish by saying that you'll want for nothing, and you'll hesitate at leaving, wondering if maybe you could stay one more night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDTMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you, "you've said it all" ! Please hurry back. Tom Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My family is scattered throughout California, so for the past few years, we've been migrating to this amazing hotel for Thanksgiving. It is hands down the most beautiful and comfortable hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are enormous, quite and tranquil, while the lobby and breakfast area is the perfect gathering place for my family to meet in the morning to plan our day. Everyone that works at the hotel is always so nice and will smile, say "hi", regardless of what they're doing at the moment. You get turn down service at night, and chocolate on your pillow! Who does that anymore! You really feel taken care of when staying here and the attention to detail goes along way.

If you actually decide to leave the hotel -Main St. - where the hotel is located - has so many great restaurants and the surrounding Pleasanton area has tons of amazing parks/playgrounds (perfect for our kids to run around).

Love this place! See ya next year!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJTDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your observations...they include two key points, i.e. the feel of the decor is more residential than commercial, and the downtown location mitigates the need for a car. We'll look for you in 2014. Regards, Tom Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had 30 guests stay at the Rose for our wedding and had the worst experience imaginable. Poor service and we were significantly overcharged. The hotel manager, Tom Walker, has been unresponsive to numerous voicemails and emails. Vishakha [--], the front desk manager, is flat out rude and has been extremely unhelpful.

Trust me (especially for group reservations) this hotel will try to rip you off, and when they do, they will be unresponsive or downright rude. Hey Tom, how about a call back?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank munizmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

We regret that you had an unfavorable experience. Our staff tries very hard to meet or exceed our guests expectations so it is disappointing to read your comments. We tried to answer your questions on numerous occasions to no avail. Hope you have a pleasant holiday season. Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Rose Hotel is such a lovely place to stay. They add nice small touches that really make you feel at home. Our room was big and so quiet. It had a candle in the bathroom, a hot water kettle in the bedroom with a nice coffee and tea selection. The walls are thick and we didn't hear our neighbors. They also have snacks scattered around the hotel in case you get hungry.
The breakfast was fantastic, the best continental breakfast that I have ever had, with oatmeal, fruit, protein, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for the review. Our pantry chef will be happy to hear that you enjoyed her oatmeal which she added to the menu as the outside air temps decreased. Please stop by for a Hot Toddy over the Holidays. Tom Walker, Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

After a great day of golfing at Wente decided to stay in Pleasanton. Went for the night on the town package and had dinner at a local steakhouse (which was also awesome!). Rooms are very romantic - so many little extra touches.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom w, Director of Sales at The Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Sounds like you hit the trifecta of hospitality...golf at The Course at Wente Vineyards, dinner on Main Street and a good (almost) night's rest at The Rose Hotel. Hope you will do it again soon. Tom Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pleasanton
2.3 mi away
Hyatt House Pleasanton
Hyatt House Pleasanton
#2 of 14 in Pleasanton
399 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pleasanton at the Club
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Pleasanton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pleasanton Marriott
Pleasanton Marriott
#4 of 14 in Pleasanton
332 reviews
3.0 mi away
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
Larkspur Landing Pleasanton
#9 of 14 in Pleasanton
194 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Livermore
Hampton Inn Livermore
#1 of 16 in Livermore
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose Hotel

Address: 807 Main St, Pleasanton, CA 94566-6070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Tri-Valley > Pleasanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pleasanton
#1 Business Hotel in Pleasanton
#2 Family Hotel in Pleasanton
Price Range: £214 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rose Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Hotel Pleasanton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing