We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shared the experience with friends”
Review of Voodoo Kitchen - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Voodoo Kitchen
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
california
Level Contributor
158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Shared the experience with friends”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The first time we tried the place, my husband & I really liked the food. Last Sunday I brought my friends to Voodoo's to introduce them to the place. Disregard the ambience since it would be too expensive to renovate the place to give it the "Cajun" look but enjoy the food. We tried the Seafood boil ($25) and it was really good. The shrimp boil goes for $11 and this is really good too. The Jambalaya pasta was also good, you can skip the garlic fries though. We were 4 and we still had leftovers. Give it a try and you might keep on coming back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Expensive, salty, and served on paper plates”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were not impressed. In fact, after eating clams and shrimp, we left to get something good to eat elsewhere.

The food comes out in plastic bags, likely because they boil everything in the same pot. I have to wonder what delightful things the hot plastic imparts into the food. The sauce they boil things in is extremely salty as well.

They give you paper plates to eat off of. That's amazing considering a meal at this place could cost you as much as a nice meal at a downtown restaurant where you actually get decent food, decent service, and real plates and wine glasses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamaica_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
304 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“CAJUN EXPERIENCE IS A HIT”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

First of all, when you walk in, it looks like a IN & OUT or some other fast food place. Get over that...it used to be a hamburger joint, so the benches are hard, and the place lacks the pizzaz of "real" restaurants. But it is spotlessly clean and a very controlled, almost sterile environment.
At first glance, you think you have to order at the counter, but no, Shyla will come to your table to talk about the menu...and she will take very good care of you from beginning to end.
We ordered a cup of gumbo with rice, jambalaya served over rice instead of pasta, and the BBQ shrimp stir fried in butter and their special voodoo sauce. (this could have used a side of rice.)
Everything was delicious...we shared it all and waddled out carrying a box with leftovers.
It is refreshing to have a Cajun restaurant in our midst...and it is a 5 star restaurant for its category.
We enjoyed our very casual dining experience, and we will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cajun cuisine”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We enjoyed our dinner here. The Shrimp Po-boy was good, the batter was light and the sandwich came on a toasted french roll. We also had the seafood boil, with shrimp, sausage and corn. The portions were good and we ended up taking some of the boil home. The Cajun fries were spicy and were served with ranch dressing which cooled them down. We will go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjnishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Off day for Voodoo Kitchen”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

After trying Voodoo Kitchen on my own I brought my wife. To start the waitress looked like she just got out of rehab when the normal waitresses are very friendly and helpful. The food was cold and bland. In the past I enjoyed the gumbo and jambalaya, this time was very disappointing. Great location across from our normal grocery store, but so many better choices in Pleasanton.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Voodoo Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing