We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine tasting and lunch”
Review of Villa Toscano

Villa Toscano
Ranked #6 of 41 things to do in Plymouth
Attraction details
San Mateo CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great wine tasting and lunch”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Wine tasting was delightful, including barrel tasting. Bistro has yummy pizza and sandwiches to eat in amazing gardens, which felt just like being in Tuscany, Italy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucas177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    7
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Save your time and money!”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful place, but after that your not missing much--excepts the your money and a bunch of rude people. They get their wine tasting fee up front, something you experience in Napa. The wines are small pours and way over priced. Do yourself a favor and go to any of the other wineries in the area. . . I love to be ignored!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashlin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herald, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good place for a lunch break”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Villa Toscano is located in the heart of the Amador wine country. One of the more touristy wineries in this area, it is an attractive cluster of two buildings separated by a pretty outdoor patio and garden. The patio has umbrella tables where you can enjoy some wine or lunch purchased at the on-site bistro. The bistro specialty is several varieties of pizza, large enough for two or three people, and also offers sandwiches, salads, and soft drinks. You order at the counter and take your food outside to to a table. We had the chicken toscano pizza, which we thought was delicious. The tasting room has a $5 per person fee, waived if you purchase a bottle, along with a limited selection of gift items.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california-east bay
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wines are very dry-pizza was soggy- This place is all show and no go.”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Spent the day driving up the Shenandoah Road and stopped in at the Villa Toscano as we were getting hungery and the sign on the road said it has a bistro. They charge $5.00 per person for wine tasting so we paid not only the $10 but then they charge tax as well.?!.. another 80 cents. This was a first. NEVER have we ever had to pay a tax for wine tasting... NEVER in Napa, Sonoma, Livermore Valley-- anywhere. So we used our credit to buy a bottle of wine-- the only good one was a sweeter white but then they only credited us $5.00 whith the logic being one bottle for one person I guess.

Most of the wines were very dry and not to our liking but we bought one to go with the pizza we order. The Chicken pizza had little if any chicken on it and way too much cheese and was soggy. We will not be back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Pricey Wine Tasting”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Villa Toscano is supposed to be a classy winery - the grounds are beautiful and it used to be a great experience for my friends and I.

But recently the winery started charging a fee to taste their wines which I think is tacky. I believe it discourages individuals who are not members to stop going to that winery. Their wines are expensive to begin with and if a non-member wishes to purchase a bottle, it can run $20 - $30. So why charge non-members to taste? Besides how much can one person taste - maybe all together a glassful?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Toscano also viewed

Plymouth, Amador County
Plymouth, Amador County
 
Plymouth, Amador County
 

Been to Villa Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing