We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting and Lighthouse”

Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Point Arena Lighthouse stands as an iconic figure on the landscape of the American Pacific Coast. No other lighthouse offers such a fully interactive experience in the exchange between history, science and natural beauty. Sometimes brilliantly sunny, other times fog-shrouded and mysterious, always ruggedly beautiful, the lighthouse is a place to find something different, a place where the romance is real and the experience is profound. Surrounded by water on three sides, and shouldered adjacent to the Point Arena/Stornetta Public Lands, the Point Arena Lighthouse is the premiere visitor destination in Mendocino County. It is also one of the best whale watching spots on the North Coast, with the annual Gray Whale migration from late November through May, Humpbacks throughout the year, the occasional pod of transient Killer Whales and even Blue Whales. Watch for the spouts, tails and breaches from the top of the Tower and from the trails and gazebo. With nightly lodging and tours of the lighthouse offered daily, what will you discover on your next visit?
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Eugene, Or
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting and Lighthouse”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Climbing up to the top and viewing the ocean and surrounding area was marvelous. Also seeing the lighthouse lens in the museum was amazing - what an incredible invention that was.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    93
    19
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Lakes Az
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The lodging is NOT what it seems!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Views are spectacular, but if you want elegant accommodations this is NOT the place to stay.

The website pictures seem to imply a luxury cabin's. Ours was NOT.
Our dining room chairs were stained and there were a few holes in the carpet. The dresser in our bedroom was broken. We had to take a drawer out all together as it was broken. It ws very obvious this cabin had not been maintained or cared for.
The ONE PLUS was a wood stove, which was wonderful!

We felt we were misled from the website pictures. It would have been nice to KNOW what we were getting, then we could have made the choice to stay there or go somewhere else..

The light house is wonderful to see and the views are incredible.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 6 Contributor
497 reviews
218 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Gr8 Historic Building and Scenery”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Fabulous day trip to the fascinating site with gr8 views and 30 degrees cooler than the triple digit temps along Hwy 101. Allow extra time for the drive along Hwy 128 which was very curvy to start and again on the turn-off from Boonville to the lighthouse.

The fee is $7.50 for adults/seniors and $1 for kids and was worth it. Tours run constantly and it's seldom more than a 30 minute wait for the next one. There is plenty to see and read about while you are waiting, or peruse the gift shop. Just seeing photos of the erosion from the force of the waves was incredible, plus the repairs to damage after earthquakes. The San Andreas Fault is very close and has caused major damage over the past 130 years.

There are 145 stairs to climb to the top of the tallest lighthouse on the west coast. Once there, the views of the huge waves, seals, sea lions, wildflowers and coastline are majestic. It's easy to see why so many ships ran ashore in this area. The guide gave us the history and answered questions, then allowed us time for photos and to experience the powerful winds if we cared to step outside.

This was a perfect respite to the 99 degree heat forecast for Cloverdale where my RV is parked. We needed a jacket or hoodie on Sunday morning at the end of June.

This is run by a nonprofit, but on CA Coastal Monument land, so bring your National Parks Passport to get a stamp in it. There are also "Keepers Cottages" for rent and it would be wonderful to spend a night there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a site!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The lighthouse and museum had been on our "to do" list for some time. It did not disappoint. The day we attended was "free day" to go up the 140+ stairs in the lighthouse (with a docent). The museum staff was knowledgable and pleasant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accomodations were terrible”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The lighthouse is an interesting place to visit, but stay somewhere else in the area. We stayed for two nights in the Assistant Keeper's House in a building that was built in 1965. The few repairs that have been done have been done poorly. The bathrooms are impossibly small, the carpets are old and torn, the dining room chairs are stained and dirty and the bedroom dresser drawers did not work.The web site pictures did not represent this unit. We were told we had unlimited access to the light house, which is not true. The tour is free for guests, but you must join a guided tour during posted hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum also viewed

Point Arena, Mendocino County
Point Arena, Mendocino County
 

Been to Point Arena Lighthouse & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing